Ratings based on 1,894 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Recommended!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Good location, clean, nice staff
Cons: Sink in room?
Location: Nice breakfast place at 18th&Third Ave.: Sunburst Espresso Bar. Pancakes!
Really enjoyed my stay, great location and staff was organized, polite. Near Indian food restaurants up Lexington, and 20 minute walk from Penn Station trains; Gramercy Park area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best hotel for the area!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The interior design is just awesome, felt like I was in the 40's :)
Cons: Nothing much to be honest, it's best bang for the buck. Maybe a clear check-out hour, the guy at the reception told us 8 AM and we told him it's 10 AM
Location: The hotel is near Union Square with access to downtown and uptown subways, placed in a nice, quiet area.
The hotel is near Union Square with access to downtown and uptown subways, placed in a nice, quiet area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Older hotel in an attractive neighborhood

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet with a good location.
Cons: double the number of wash basins per floor
Location: Quiet residential neighborhood with many restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Small, clean rooms with bathrooms in the hall. Insufficient basins in the bathrooms. Located in a quiet, residential neighborhood with many restaurants nearby. Convenient to transportation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible smell

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The location of this hotel is good and that is pretty much the only thing good about it. The hotel looks clean and the shared bathroom does not seem to be that bad. However, my room got down graded from one double bed and one single bed to two single beds, with no explanation, no apology and no refund. They did offer an extra bed and insisted that it is the same as what we booked. The front desk always talks to us in a cold voice rand was impatient in explaining anything. Most of all, the hotel has a terrible smell the whole five days we stayed there. I believe they vented all bathrooms to the hallway so it feels like you are living right beside a washroom. Shut the door tight all the time, otherwise it will be terrible. I will never go back...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great location for riding bikes!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The hotel was clean and quiet (except for the AC). The window opened to let in air. The bathrooms were clean and never busy when I needed them. The place was very quiet and we rarely saw anyone in the hall. There is a bike shop very close on 17th and Citibikes, which we loved are all over Union Square. And the Growers' Market in Union Square is 5 days a week! The rooms are small and the elevator slow and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, Price, Cleanliness,
Location: Thompson Square Park Bagels, DiRobertos Patisserie, Union Square Subway,
Private and convenient, All amenities on needs without extravagant extras. Would have been nice to have a communal area/lobby to hang out and meet people and ice on every floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Good access to main sights. 24 hour recpetion andlu=ggage storage facilities weere very useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Reasonably Priced, Unique Spot

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We had a great experience. As everyone knows, the shared bathroom is a bit strange, but wasn't really that big of a deal. We laughed about it. The room was clean, the price was great and the staff was fine. It was a unique place, with beautiful woodwork and if you are in any way unorthodox or eccentric, you will be fine and enjoy it. Have fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good for travelling on the cheap

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Looking for an inexpensive lodging in Manhattan can be difficult, but Hotel 17 did the job. It was a small room, but the plan was to only sleep there, while not doing touristy things. My room had its own pedestal sink, with 2 communal bathrooms just down the hall. It wasn't as bad as one might think. I never had to wait for the bath and toilet, and they were kept as clean as possible, given the circumstances. As I had many problems with my trip and airlines, the front desk staff was more than accomodating, and willing to help me out. No complaints here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A hidden gem

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location - close to Union Square Stn. There's even a Nordstrom Rack and Sephora near by! Cleanliness Level of professionalism shown by the staff
Cons: I would love to have a kettle in the room to boil some water for tea, but this is a custom that is not widely followed in the US.
Location: Within walking distance to Union Square where you can find Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa, Sephora, Nordstrom Rack, etc
If you are looking for an affordable accommodation in New York, you're looking at it now. I had chosen to stay here based on the reviews I read and to be honest, I was rather sceptical at first. But I'm glad I took the chance and stayed here for 4 nights. As I was travelling solo, the room I was in was perfectly suited to my needs. It was a corner room complete with tv, coffee machine, basin, table/cupboard, and single bed. Although you would have to share the bathrooms, the staff kept it clean at all times. This place is also located within minutes from Union Square station (14st Union Sq Stn), and it's 4 stations away from 42st, Time Square! In other words, you are in prime location to explore NYC! The hotel staff are very polite and would gladly help you organise for a shuttle service to take you to the airport. All in all, I had such a fabulous time here and couldn't recommend it enough to anyone travelling to NYC on a budget.