Ratings based on 1,381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daniel to from Toronto, Canada

Hotel 31 - a gem of location in Manhattan.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Character. Vintage, from another era.
Cons: The rooms were somewhat small but that was fine because we only spent our time in the hotel for sleeping.
Location: Park Ave and 31st, subway very close. Grand Central Station was only one subway stop, transfer locations very well situated.
Hotel 31 was very well situated in Midtown Manhattan allowing you to take subway easily which was about two blocks away. Rooms were clean, shared bathrooms were clean (2 located on the 8th floor) and it was a quiet place to sleep after a long day walking the streets of NYC. Great breakfast restaurant at the corner of 31st and Park Ave. Recommended to the travelers looking for a good central location to check out the sites and sounds NYC without breaking the bank. The hotel had lots of personality, very unique elevator and everything was well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice convenient location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Hotel was very close to subway and near Empire State Building and other attractions in NYC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great Economy Stay In Midtown Manhattan

Posted Apr 11, 2014
I had misgivings about booking a small hotel with a shared bathroom but the locationand the rate made it worth the gamble. I'm glad I did. The place was very clean, including the bathrooms. I never had to wait for the bathroom either, and the sink in the room was very convenient. I habe two small complaints. The alarm clock was iffy. One day it worked, the next day it didn't work and that was a big problem. And the mattress should be upgraded. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either. I was happy enough that it was clean and no bed bugs.
3 out of 5
by e from new york

Not so bad but i never stay there any more

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I do not like the room verey small and the bathroom shred
1 out of 5
by Ted from New York, NY

Inconsiderate staff & terribly old almost broken

Posted Mar 26, 2014
I've stayed here 2 times. The heater in the room is so old it makes the loudess hissing sound ever & TV might as well not be there bc channells almost ALL don't work. The maids will come up to the shared bathroom doors while you're using the bathroom & ask how long you'll be. They'll vacuum in the middlw of the night with no respect to guess trying to sleep. Just horrible beds. Spend extra & go somewhere else or you'll wish you did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Claire from Wolverhampton

Great Location

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, location
Location: Near to subway station, just around the corner from the Empire state Building
I stayed at this hotel for a week with my husband and teenage kids. The room was clean and comfortable. We had fresh towels every day. The room was lovely and warm which was great as it was so cold outside.We were on the 4th floor. The only thing I would say is there was limited wardrobe space especially as there were 4 of us we had to live out of our cases, ok if your just staying for a few days. We couldn't get internet connection from our room, my daughter had to go downstairs to the lobby to get online. The location was great, the nearest subway was just around the corner. The café at the end of the block was great for breakfast, can't remember the name but its the one recommended by the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Make sure to upgrade to a private bathroom if you stay here! We were shocked to have shared washrooms for everyone on the floor. Location is great and easily walkable to times square. Staff are pleasant. Rooms are very tiny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lin from NC

Good Location and Good Ambiance

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Hotel 31 is in walking distance of Korean Way, Times Square, and Manhattan in general. The decor is charming and looks antique yet well-kept. The room was small but that is what we expected for the price and we spent very little time there any way. The shared bathroom was very clean and we didn't have any issues with the other guests. They also have free baggage checking available, which is amazing. The only complaint we had was that the radiator in our room would occasionally emit a high-pitched whistling noise which was impossible to ignore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from England

For a budget hotel the location was brilliant!

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The location, the privacy and the free wifi.
Cons: The shared bathrooms on the 6th floor we blocked during my stay which made using them difficult.
Location: You are a 10 minute walk from times square where you pass the empire state building, 4 miles from lower Manhattan and 15 minute walk from Central Park
The location was perfect, i could look up at the empire state building from my 6th floor window. The staff were helpful and friendly even when i checked in at 1am due to a flight delay. I was expecting a tiny single bed and walked into a double bed which was pleasing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from American Midwest

Good location for the price

Posted Mar 9, 2014
There are better hotels but if you are travelling alone or with one other, this place will work. Location is excellent, close to 33rd st. station and bus routes. Cab is easy to flag down from right outside the door. A family of four or one with small children should stay in another hotel due to restroom being down the hall.