Ratings based on 1,569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty minimal accommodations.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Bed old and saggy. Noisy Sat night! Staff were pleasant and room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OR

Great location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Everything was fine except water pressure & temperature fluctuated
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Great location but disappointing room

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: location
The staff was pleasant and helpful but the room was tiny. The bed was right up against the wall on one side so you couldn't get out on that side. There was no closet or dresser so no place to put clothes. The tub is not level so it's impossible to shower without water running onto the floor. The location is really convenient, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Not the most modern but more than adequate

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: central location helpful staff
Cons: Tea making facilities in the rooms
Location: Very central for many of the attractions , short distance from Empire state building which we could see from our room
We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at Hotel 31 .Not the most modern of Hotels but more than adequate .Staff very helpful and polite .Rooms very clean & comfortable although small , bathrooms cleaned regularly throughout the day .Would be nice if there was a kettle to make tea in guests rooms as no coffee shop on site, but very central with a Deli on the corner and coffee shop/ cafe restaurant on the other end of the street .Very central for many of the attractions , short distance from Empire state building which we could see from our room .Would recommend this Hotel and use it again in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mid-Atlantic Seaboard

More than expected in every way

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Besides the character of the hotel (not a sterile, cookie-cutter, plastic establishment), the hotel was in a superb location for our personal needs
Cons: I do not know.
Location: Hotel 31 is located close to a variety of Asian (Indian, Japanese, Persian) restaurants. It is located wihin easy walking distance to Penn Station
Our experience may be unique, but not only were we allowed to check in early (we had planned to store our luggage until the advertised check-in time), but we receieved an upgrade for our one night stay to a larger room with bath (we had booked a room w/ 2 twin beds w/o a bathroom. The room, like the hotel, was was neat, clean, and in in tip-top shape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to subway

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Was able to check in early at no extra charge and store my bags for two hours after check out until my bus left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Stay

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: very little.
Cons: I've already talked with EXPEDIA customer service abour my stay at Hotel 31.
Location: good
I've already talked with EXPEDIA customer service abour my stay at Hotel 31.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable with comfort and character

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Charming old place with friendly staff and cosy rooms that feel like a step back in time. Close to the subway and the Empire State Building. Great price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great location, close to everything

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Cozy rooms,quiet, and clean. Considering you are sharing two bathrooms with the entire floor there was never a time when it was messy, or dirty. Price
Cons: A coffee pot in the room, and small refrigerator
Location: Empire State Building within walking distance. Subway Station to everywhere else within walking distance. Places to eat everywhere.
First time in New York and didn't know what to expect. This hotel is within walking distance of the Empire State Building and the subway station that will take you wherever you want to go. We felt like we got a true New York experience with the inter active elevator and being in the city. Will definitely stay again if I am ever back in New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San

Felt wonderfully like I was in "Old new York"...

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Old world charm... Quiet... safe and secure..
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing
Location: subway small affordable places to eat
I stayed 3 nights and was glad to find this place with reasonable prices & very close to subway; bathroom down the hall but never caused a problem. Someone seemed to be cleaning it every time it was used. Friendly and helpful staff. BTW.. don't pay any attention to some "years old" reviews that were terrible. None of that is true today! Richard Greene, a fussy architect from San Diego, CA