Ratings based on 1,509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great simple place!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
No-nonsense meticulously clean hotel, tiny well appointed rooms, shared 1-person bathrooms with toilets and showers off the hallway. Highly recommend Hotel 31 as a simple place to stay in Manhattan for an affordable rate. Was full of tourists, I have no complaints at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in lower manhatten

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Old style hotel but clean and quiet. Close to a nice place for dinner and breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Great value, not good for people with allergies

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The room was a bit stuffy, especially if the air conditioning was off. I had to take my Benadryl. I discovered that the mattress had one of those plastic mattress covers so I don't think the cause of my allergies were dust mites. I think it may have been the carpet. The carpet needs replacing in general. It had a feel of slight greasiness and I felt more comfortable with my shoes on. The air had a strange perfume smell that was very noticeable upon entering the room. The common bathroom was very clean all the time. It seemed as if someone cleaned it after every use. Surprisingly, the bathroom was never occupied when I needed it, it was always available. There are two on each floor which seemed like enough. The midtown location was very convenient. It was on the edge of KoreaTown. For the price and location, I was overall satisfied. The elevator is kinda fun, it's one of those old-fashioned ones with the sliding screen doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
near to Subway, Empire State Building, a lot of restaurants closeby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in mid Manhattan

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Hotel 31 is perfect for those wanting to stay in a charming European-style hotel. It's close to the Metro and Grand Central Station. Close proximity to Vezzo (for great pizza) and Penelope's (for breakfast).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Clean, reasonable & in a great central location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Cons: Considering the price, location and overall experience, we found nothing to complain about.
Location: A great central location near blocks from the Empire State building and just a very short walk to the green metro line
Maybe dated or maybe just quaint, but this 20's era hotel is clean, well kept and staffed by friendly helpful folks. The facade, signage and entrance pretty classy for the price. The rooms were - not unexpectedly - small, but for the great central location more than adequate. The one little elevator is like a time machine to another era. While we somewhat apprehensively took advantage of the lowest price room with shared bathrooms, at least on our floor, there were 2 bathrooms shared with only 4 rooms. We found the bathrooms clean and well attended, and we never had any issue or wait (and the room itself had its own sink). The beds (we stay in both twin bed and double bed rooms) were firm and the pillows pretty reasonable (not cheap foam like many inexpensive hotels). Free WiFi was nice, the small LCD TV and channel selection nothing to brag about. Certainly not 5 stars but we would not hesitate to recommend or return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Ia

Comfortable, charming hotel close to subway!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Clean, comfortable, quaint and charming. Friendly staff. Only 2 bl from subway, and walking distance to theatre district, Madison Sq Gardens. Def would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Needed a place and got one yeah nice neighbor hood
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ashland, OR

Hotel 31

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great hotel! Right in the middle of Manhattan with clean facilities and easy walking uptown, or downtown. Definitely a good one to recommend to others!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great location, everything we needed.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, close to everything.
Cons: Small elevator and only one.
I highly recommend hotel 31. The location is fabulous and the price is right!