Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Cons: Pool reserved for guests only during the day and lower music at night
Very central.. But also Very noisy at night.. Need ear plugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Interesting hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Great shower (difficult to turn on), very comfortable bed, adjustable room temp, light blocking electric screen over window
Cons: bathroom light dim (makeup application hard even with magnifying mirror); bed on platform, easy to trip; weird electricity policy; very small sink
Location: Near Highline, walk to Javit's Center, restaurants and shopping
Interesting hotel with screened front of building, unusual first floor with warren of rooms with walls blocking everything, insertion of weird metal dongle required in elevator to get to floors and in room to get electricity, meaning you can't charge your phone unless you are in the room. Felt tag for room key worn and no longer aesthetically pleasing. Some veneer worn off platform for bed. Strange placement of lights and controls, basically under lit though there are a lot of lights. Bed very very comfortable. Lovely shower once I figured out how to turn on. Bathroom lighting very dim, may have left hotel looking like a kabuki actor as a result. Sink is tiny and spout comes out to middle of bowl so impossible to wash face there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México, D.F.

Instalaciones hotel terribles

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Habitación muy pequeña y totalmente no practico para poder estar en él. El baño nada funcional. No recomendable. Lo único que lo salva es la atención del personal; la cual es muy buena .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Nice but loud!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Noise and restaurant service.
This is a very hip, trendy hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, however it had a very party-like environment. I was woken up several times during the night by drunk people in the hall way. I don't know if that was because it was a Friday night, a special event or if that was normal? The roof-top restaurant was again, very hip, but loud with terrible service. The room itself was a perfect size for a single person, however, if my husband had been there it would have been very crowded. The location is great - in the heart of Chelsea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

BEST EVER IN TOWN!

Posted Jun 13, 2015
thats LUXURY for fair price! perfect located, big rooms, big windows with day light, big soft and clean bed, the shower ist clean and modern... ALL IS SO NICE AN WELCOME! thx for the wonderful 10 days in NYC! I'll come back to the HOTEL AMERICANO! ❤️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Collective a Design Fair

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Overall design & caracter. The restaurant was great! Love the penthouse for drink. Great location. Bathroom finishes & design were very nice.
Cons: The key/elevator probe is really heavy for a guy to carry in his pocket. Lower towel shelf. Put a sheet on the bed & blank in room.
Location: Highline, museums, galleries, restaurants, bars.
Great location. Very difficult to get cabs & not much assistance from bellman, if any. Nicely designed rooms but black finish cabinetry isn't wearing well. I wasn't quite comfortable getting up from the low beds. Would like a top sheet along with a comforter. Not much storage for folded cloths or baggage. Hate that you have to insert probe to turn electricity on. Because of that my devices I left in room were not charged upon my return, very frustrating in the digital world. The towel self in bath was actually a little too high up for me to reach comfortably.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Westport, CT

Hip and Distinct

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Anniversary stay - very hip and trendy atmosphere. Room small but pristine, with excellent shower. Neighborhood is a bit remote, but Hogh Line and other cool bars were easily walkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Francis from West Hollywood

Cheerful and hip right by the Highline

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
This is a surprisingly cheerful and friendly hotel given it's ultra-cool decor and trendy location. My room was average size for NYC (which means small by other city's standards), but very carefully appointed to make the most of its size. I loved the platform bed. Free wi-fi was also a nice touch, as was the iPad that played music in the room with AirPlay. The room service menu was not only reasonably priced ($16-$18) but each meal was a themed bento box. The staff was always friendly and helpful. From helping me with a package I had delivered to the hotel to giving me an extra set of keys so that I could keep the electricity on in my room and charge my new headphones (the keys have a fob that you have to stick into the wall in your room to activate the juice...very European). My one nit pick complaint is that the towel rack was both far from the shower and high which made hanging used towels and hand towels difficult. But that's a very small thing, so I'm still giving the hotel 5 stars.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Warren from Albany CA

Great Hotel but be aware of the Construction Noise

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
The Americano is soooo very hip. So hip that it is nearly nonfunctional for an old geezer like me. On the up side the staff is very thoughtful and helpful. The manager helped me move from the street side of the hotel to the back once I had missed two nights of sleep. Customers should know that there is a major construction project going on right across the street and that trucks start coming in around 5 or 6 AM ( this after revelers were going until 1) and pounding starts at 7.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marty

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels