Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Amazing from start to finish! Friendly staff- Great room- Overall really fantastic experience. Will come again for another "staycation"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ally from Toronto

Amazing Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I didn't want to leave! Like others on the review there were a few fiddly problems - the electrical system is innovative but glitchy and the noise from the rooftop was a tiny bit loud (on Saturday night only) - but they had a maintenance person up to help me immediately with my electrical problem and a pair of earplugs and soon I was sound asleep in my gorgeous, comfortable bed. The room was so well designed and made excellent use of the small space so it actually ended up feeling spacious and comfortable. The staff was supremely helpful with everything I asked for and went out of their way to suggest OTHER ways they could help me (Can I book a car for you? Can I store your bags? Can we make a reservation for you? Can I give you some advice on how to get to Brooklyn by train to save a little money on cabs?). I was a bit intimidated by how high design the hotel was but they made me feel right at home. Brunch in the restaurant was amazing. The rooftop bar was a great place for an early afternoon cocktail before going out on the town. The IPAD music was a fun addition (and also incidentally makes an excellent vanity mirror if you switch it to camera). I have stayed in a ton of 4* + hotels all around the world and this was by far, my favorite hotel experience simply because of the gracious staff and the incredible design of the rooms. And the rate I found online was inexpensive for something of this caliber. I will never stay in another NYC hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sophie from M

Nice hotel next to the skyline

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I read the reviews before booking and was prepared. For example I asked for a room as far from the roof bar as possible. They were very accommodating and put me in a room on the 4th floor, I heard nary a sound from the roof bar, and it was busy as the weather was perfect for cocktails on a rooftop bar. I wasn't interested in swimming so the size of the pool didn't bother me. Someone also pointed out that they should replace the beanbag with a chair. I didn't spend enough time in the room to require me sitting in a chair, guys this is Manhattan, you want to spend as little time in your room as possible inorder to make the most of your stay in this glorious city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything you need for a good New York experience

Posted May 22, 2014
I've never met a nicer hotel staff. Everything was clean and just right, down to the amazing toiletries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Useable

Posted May 4, 2014
This hotel is trying way too hard, but does not actually feel luxurious. I was upgraded to their king-size suite because they had no other rooms left. So many details had not been thought through in terms of how good this would be to USE. The room was crowded with furniture, that was all about knee-height, which made for a lot of bending over. In the bathroom, the shower head - which is not moveable - causes the water to fall straight down, so about half of this beautiful water falls on the slant of the tub, and trying to get under it means trying to stand in a very narrow patch, somewhat up on the side of the tub. ? Everything about the bathroom was more confusing/lame due to its ill-thought out practicality. No space at the sink to put anything- only a three-inch ledge which was crowded with cotton swabs/shampoos. i had to put my toiletries on the tub, and again, bend over. Light switch for bathroom was four feet away from the entrance. It's all fine, but more disorienting than zen, and not worth the price at all. Disorienting can mean an interesting new experience, but this was just trying too hard, and not hard enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Americano is a cool place to stay.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Staff was great, food was good. Nice place to sleep in the city. Small room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christian from Union, NJ

Great hotel with great service but noisy

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Modern look, super friendly staff, and great bed (king size one at least).
Cons: No parking on site, no privacy in the bathroom, and super loud music at night (at least on Saturday).
Location: The hotel is in Chelsea. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby but it's mostly kind of residential or commercial. Kind of far from subway.
Stayed at Hotel Americano this past weekend. I loved the room - very minimalistic, modern and small though - so it may not be for everyone. The hotel's best asset is the employees - the service is just great. Everyone is super friendly and ready to assist. There were three downsides that prevent me from giving it 5 stars: 1. there is no parking; if you are lucky you may be able to park on the street, but otherwise you will need to park a couple of blocks away; 2. there is no privacy in the bathroom - the wall is semi-transparent and the room is so small that you might as well have the toilet in the middle of the room; and 3. this may not be an issue during the week but on Saturday night it was impossible to sleep easily because the music from the club on the top of the hotel was so loud. With all those issues, it's still a really nice hotel. If they could fix those three issues, it would be a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Colin G from NYC

very nice small hotel, perfect experience

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
loved the design aesthetics and the service was awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place! The room was lovely (though some previous reviewers note correctly that the platform bed isn't for everyone, I liked it just fine and found it very comfortable). Saturday night wasn't as nice: drunken yelling and cigarette smoke, coming in through the air-handling system, woke me at 3am and made sleep after that difficult. There may be quieter rooms, worth asking. The restaurant on the ground level is really comfortable, for single travelers as well as groups, and the food is good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014