Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Amazing from start to finish! Friendly staff- Great room- Overall really fantastic experience. Will come again for another "staycation"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ally from Toronto

Amazing Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I didn't want to leave! Like others on the review there were a few fiddly problems - the electrical system is innovative but glitchy and the noise from the rooftop was a tiny bit loud (on Saturday night only) - but they had a maintenance person up to help me immediately with my electrical problem and a pair of earplugs and soon I was sound asleep in my gorgeous, comfortable bed. The room was so well designed and made excellent use of the small space so it actually ended up feeling spacious and comfortable. The staff was supremely helpful with everything I asked for and went out of their way to suggest OTHER ways they could help me (Can I book a car for you? Can I store your bags? Can we make a reservation for you? Can I give you some advice on how to get to Brooklyn by train to save a little money on cabs?). I was a bit intimidated by how high design the hotel was but they made me feel right at home. Brunch in the restaurant was amazing. The rooftop bar was a great place for an early afternoon cocktail before going out on the town. The IPAD music was a fun addition (and also incidentally makes an excellent vanity mirror if you switch it to camera). I have stayed in a ton of 4* + hotels all around the world and this was by far, my favorite hotel experience simply because of the gracious staff and the incredible design of the rooms. And the rate I found online was inexpensive for something of this caliber. I will never stay in another NYC hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sophie from M

Nice hotel next to the skyline

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I read the reviews before booking and was prepared. For example I asked for a room as far from the roof bar as possible. They were very accommodating and put me in a room on the 4th floor, I heard nary a sound from the roof bar, and it was busy as the weather was perfect for cocktails on a rooftop bar. I wasn't interested in swimming so the size of the pool didn't bother me. Someone also pointed out that they should replace the beanbag with a chair. I didn't spend enough time in the room to require me sitting in a chair, guys this is Manhattan, you want to spend as little time in your room as possible inorder to make the most of your stay in this glorious city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything you need for a good New York experience

Posted May 22, 2014
I've never met a nicer hotel staff. Everything was clean and just right, down to the amazing toiletries.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again.

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a wonderful business trip mared with a sub-par stay at Hotel Americano. First off I feel i was duped by the staff of your hotel. I advised I was a business traveler staying for one day and only was trying to get some sleep. I was placed in a room adjacent the construction across the street. I had flown in from a red eye, worked all day, and was just trying to get a full nights sleep before getting on a plane and going home. Once I accepted my fate at 7:30 AM I ventured to get food at the Cafe downstairs. The wait staff was not rude but they certainly weren't accommodating. I had to find my own sugar for my cold drip coffee. My breakfast entree was cold and tough. I have stayed at numerous hotels near and around the city and by far this Hotel has been the only let down. I am very glad I made the sound judgment of choosing the Restaurants of Chelsea instead of the one in the Hotel on the roof.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Useable

Posted May 4, 2014
This hotel is trying way too hard, but does not actually feel luxurious. I was upgraded to their king-size suite because they had no other rooms left. So many details had not been thought through in terms of how good this would be to USE. The room was crowded with furniture, that was all about knee-height, which made for a lot of bending over. In the bathroom, the shower head - which is not moveable - causes the water to fall straight down, so about half of this beautiful water falls on the slant of the tub, and trying to get under it means trying to stand in a very narrow patch, somewhat up on the side of the tub. ? Everything about the bathroom was more confusing/lame due to its ill-thought out practicality. No space at the sink to put anything- only a three-inch ledge which was crowded with cotton swabs/shampoos. i had to put my toiletries on the tub, and again, bend over. Light switch for bathroom was four feet away from the entrance. It's all fine, but more disorienting than zen, and not worth the price at all. Disorienting can mean an interesting new experience, but this was just trying too hard, and not hard enough.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hanan from New York City

Great Service, Clean, uncomfortable, too far West

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was superb, friendly, and very accommodating. The room was very clean. The bed was unfortunately very uncomfortable and was situated on a platform which led me to trip several times in the middle of the night. The heat made a loud buzzing noise which kept us up. When we opened the blinds in the morning we discovered a security camera situated just outside of our window. While it was mounted on an adjacent building, it looked directly into our room. This was very disturbing. The location of the hotel is a little too far West. While well-situted for the Chelsea Galleries, it is a little too far from the subways. The design was very modern, but the floor was concrete and the bathrobe was denim (both of which were physically uncomfortable). Beautiful design but not comfortable. Just to mention again, the staff was superb and very friendly and the room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loeved it. Food and the restaurant excellent fo
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

hip, trendy and clean

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
well run and nicely designed