Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Jarrah from Vancouver, Canada

Affordable, clean hotel for independent travellers

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Very clean, relatively quiet, comfortable bed and pillows, free continental breakfast, Netflix on the TV as well as cable.
Cons: Replace the in-room coffee and swap out dirty mugs more regularly (I stayed 9 nights and had my coffee/mugs changed only once, after 3 or 4 days).
Location: Hotel BPM is really close to the D, N, and R Subway lines, so it's pretty easy to get around. A few restaurants and convenience stores nearby.
Stayed at Hotel BPM for 9 nights in June and I found it was a great fit for me. It's great for independent travellers who know a bit about how to get around New York, because you will need to make Subway transfers to get many places you want to go as a tourist. There is no restaurant in the hotel and the downstairs bar and lounge is only open for the morning free continental breakfast and (I think) two evenings on the weekend as a bar. So you need to be ok going out for food. That said, the rooms were very clean and comfortable - I particularly appreciated the ability to watch Netflix on the TVs. My only minor complaint was they usually forgot to replace the coffee in my room and replace my dirty mugs. Even though the hotel is music-themed it was pretty quiet at night and I had no problem sleeping. I appreciated that the free breakfast ran until 10, so I didn't have to get up super early. And the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Hotel BPM for people who feel comfortable getting around New York - it was great value for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

The staff tries hard, but the facility disappoints

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was VERY accommodating, and when we had a problem, they did fix it to our satisfaction. Too bad there were SO many things wrong!
Cons: The overall impression is that things are being neglected, and never fixed properly (i.e., the kitchen/breakfast, old sheets, scuffed walls)
This is NOT a 4-star hotel, not even 3.5 stars. The Hotel BPM was ideally located for our purposes as we wanted to meet up with our daughter in Brooklyn and travel to lower Manhattan, but there were too many problems for me to recommend it. First, we had 4 persons listed on our reservation, and they gave us a room with 1 king sized bed and said it was our fault for not confirming the number of people. The Expedia itinerary states: "All rooms are guaranteed to sleep the number of guests you provided during your search, but we cannot guarantee the number of beds." The staff did provide us with a second, king-sized bedroom for free, but it was 4 floors below us, which would have been entirely unsatisfactory if our children had not been teenagers. Regarding the room itself (Room 505): fine quality sheets with LOTS of tears in them; broken light bulb in the desk lamp; the Keurig looked like it had NEVER been cleaned; the rug was made of synthetic strips which PROHIBITED vacuuming (UGH!), and the air conditioning unit ran ALL NIGHT. The breakfast area/nightclub on the LOWEST LEVEL is dark and very small. Breakfast consisted of coffee, hot water, pastry, bagels, and sliced cantaloupe. Not worth it, considering the wealth of brunch places in Brooklyn. Parking is VERY VERY limited, although we parked on the next block for free with no problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Apopka

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Close to Metro station, bus connections, good food nearby!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from buffalo ny

Nice hotel - not so nice area

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is modern and clean. I wish the room itself came with two bathrobes since there was two of us staying and more than two towels. We took showers upon arrival to go out at night and used the same ones the next day. The breakfast consisted of cereal, bagels, and mini muffins. The entire staff seemed polite and we had the front desk call a taxi for us that arrived within minutes with a reasonable fare. The neighborhood was a little scary walking three blocks from the subway. I would recommend taking a cab back after dark. Overall a great hotel for the money. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by Kate from Melbourne, AUST

Underwhelmed

Posted Jun 16, 2014
We were very disappointed with Hotel BPM as a supposed 4star hotel. The room was very cramped, had limited storage space and was dusty. The basic included breakfast is supposed to run 7am to 10am but ran out around 9:15am two mornings. House keeping is terrible. There are much nicer places to choose from in Brooklyn so don't waste you money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2014
The room is small and the furniture came from Ikea I believe, but the bed was very nice and the shower was also great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by simon from new york

Good but not ****

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location and interior design
Cons: breakfast
Location: Close to the subway
Room looks nice because contemporary style. Breakfast could be improved. Car repair shop produces noise and congestion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Downtown Dave from Silver Spring MD

Air conditioning was faulty

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location and theme, plus the fact that it was a new hotel.
Cons: Maintenance of the air conditioning was our biggest complaint.
Location: This hotel is very close to a large park, there are convenient services in close proximity (gas stations, convenience stores, etc.)
This is conveniently located hotel just off the BQE. The music theme is very obvious, and overall condition of the property is quite good. This is a new hotel. However, the elevator didn't go to the top floor, and the air conditioning was spotty. It was not on when we entered our room, so we called the front desk, and they quickly sent someone, who was ably to get the unit operating. It quit again in the middle of the night, and did the same thing the next night. The staff were apologetic, but we lost some sleep as a result. One nice feature -- preferred guests have off street parking behind the hotel. Free wi-fi and continental breakfasts are nice touches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from OKC

Close to subway station

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Easy walk to subway. Clean rooms and friendly staff.
Location: Easy access to NYC subway, which you can use to go pretty much anywhere in the city. Close to Brooklyn bridge.
Comfort: The thermostat seemed to fall back into the 73 degree range at night, in spite of keeping it warmer, made it really cold. Room size: Since, we only spent the night there, it was no big deal, but the room we stayed in was really small. Besides, the two things above, it was clean, with friendly staff. I was pleasantly surprised to see such a nice place given the neighborhood around it. Liked it and would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Seattle, WA

Clean and very central

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, new rooms.
Cons: Offer either on site amenities, or offer a courier service. When I'm not familiar with the area after a 5hour flight I don't want to wonder around.
Location: I didn't really know of much to do with in walking distance. Coney Island is really cool to see.
The hotel is located near a subway and a neat café for easy food access. They have a list of "suggested food" you can eat at. The concierge I tried calling my first night wouldn't recommend anything except for the list. I call the listed places and they were all closed. At that point I didn't know of anywhere near by or places that would deliver. The king bed was way too firm for me and was difficult to sleep on for me. The staff were nice, and were responsive to calls for ice. They don't serve any food onsite nor do they have any kind of convenience store to purchase anything from (no Tylenol, or ibuprofen). They have deals with Bell Cab for pretty cheap travel around the area. Just be prepared to carry cash however. Overall, the hotel served its purposes for being a place to stay and recharge while visiting the area. Just don't expect too much from it.