Ratings based on 3,507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

This Hotel is full of charm and class.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: We loved the location and all the great restaurants close by.
This hotel is a 2 block walk to the subway connecting you to everything. It is in a clean and quiet area just off of Central Park. Although they don't provide breakfast they have great coffee and Danish available in the cozy Lobby. They have a great work out room and business office. We will return and invite others to enjoy also
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel and good price

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Price, clean and close to nice restaurants; accessible to metro
It was a nice place, staff were nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire, UK

Friendly Hotel in a good location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Cons: The rooms would benefit from a chest-of-draws as there was only a built-in wardrobe, and in the smallest of the three rooms, no wardrobe at all.
Location: Close to the Natural History Museum, Central Park and Columbus Circus
The staff at the Belleclaire are really helpful and attentive. Our three rooms were comfortable and even included an iron and ironing board (for those of us who love that chore). The lobby area is great, with complimentary cold drinks in the afternoon, that were very welcome after a long walk in the August heat. I would certainly return to then Belleclaire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous location, comfort, and friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Beautiful building just 2 blocks from the 1 line, great market around the corner, 24 hr CVS kitty corner, nice and quiet, but lots of great restaurants/stores nearby and Viand cafe delivers for room service. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location and smells good!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Very comfortable bed after a long day of site seeing NYC! Coffee cafe in lobby is convenient and reasonable. We would definitely stay there again! Great hospitality from the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from perth australia

Nice hotel in the best part of town

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: There was nothing to not like, the complimentary water, lemonade in the afternoons is a nice touch. Location is ideal for a relaxing visit.
Cons: Tea or coffee making facility in the room. That's it.
Location: Hudson River with parks, cafés and walks. Central Park Guggenheim museum, natural history museum, good access to subway. Good variety of eating.
We (couple mid-late fifties) chose the Belleclaire based on good prices and reviews. It's location, Broadway and 77th Make it the perfect location. You can walk to Central Park, and some major attractions including the Guggenheim and the natural history museum. Subway station is only two blocks away and makes access to downtown simple and quick. Our room on the fourth floor was very comfortable, everything worked and, apart from no tea making facility, was perfect. Service was discrete and efficient. Staff were attentive and pleasant. James, the concierge, sorted out our tickets for Motown without a fuss. The airport transfer was, like everything, reliable and efficient. Yes, we would recommend this area for a relaxing stay in New York and definitely recommend the Belleclaire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean, convenient and terrific staff!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: a cocktail lounge would be great
Location: Lincoln Center, Central Park, Riverside Park, subway convenience
Great value for the price. And, after a mixup at registration, the manager was very gracious and instantly remedied my concern. Actually left my glasses, mouse and mousepad and the staff had it waiting in a FedEx box for pickup and delivery to my home. A terrific experience, and I'm a native New Yorker!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st.paul, mn

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Hotel had character. It felt like a classy place.
Location: Eat location in e upper west side. Just a train rode away from many attractions.
The room was great. We were upgraded to a family suite which was fabulous. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, New York, New York

Awesome place!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities, staff service
Cons: Morning café service: overpriced, no variety. No ice machines on every floor. no utensils in the rooms.
Location: Numerous cafés, restaurants and grocery stores within the block! 1,2,3 lines subway station (at 79th and 72nd street). One club (I forget the name)
Me and my mom stayed at this hotel for 7 days! Service was pretty awesome; hotel staff is very friendly and helpful! Hotel amenities had a media lounge with computers which was handy when we had to print off some tickets! The arcade games did not work though (when I tried them at least). The room was very clean and the bed comfy! However, we had a pretty crappy view (of a back alley) from the 6th floor. Also, you can't open the windows in the room which forces you to use the air conditioning which is fairly loud and can make the room a little too cold sometimes. The location of the hotel was awesome! You have 2-3 cafés in a 20 meter radius and 2 grocery stores as well (1 of them is open 24 hours), plus a CVS (24h pharmacy/short stop) across the street. You're also a few minutes away from the 1,2,3 lines which take you north and south in manhattan to basically any place you'd want to be. Overall, definitely enjoyed our stay and even if the price is a bit high but location and amenities definitely make up for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MA

Hotel with Character

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I thought this was a really nice hotel. The staff was friendly. Very pretty and vintage lobby. Not sure when it was built, but had an old fashion feel with modern amenities. The room was small (but aren't they all in NYC?) with enough space for 2 people to be comfortable. Clean bathroom with a nice shower. No funny smells like some hotels have and a nice comfortable bed. I would definitely go back.