Ratings based on 5,013 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Canada

Good Value, Good Location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Good value, good location.
Cons: Doesn't offer the finishes one would get in a newer building.
Location: This is Manhattan, so the the list is endless. Times square and Broadway shows are just a very subway trip away. Central Park, Museums. Lots to do!
I chose this hotel based on the relative value compared to other hotels in the area. It offered a reasonably sized room, easy access to the subway, friendly staff, and a great location. I was able to pack in a lot of sightseeing, and it was particularly nice to be only a few blocks from the Museum of Natural History and Central Park. The building itself is old, although the rooms have been renovated adequately. The only time I heard any other people was when they closed their doors in the hall. Overall, this was a good experience. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

My Go-To Hotel in NYC

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Location: Upper West Side is great. Lots of restaurants and things to do. Especially check out the restaurant and bar scene on Amsterdam Ave.
When I'm in NYC on business or pleasure, I try to stay at the Bellclaire. The rates are usually reasonable, the service is good, and the rooms are comfortable. The hotel has the feel of a European hotel, and in fact there are many international travelers here. The rooms are simple and relatively small. There are no rugs or carpets on the wood floors. But the simple look is pleasing and the rooms quite and comfortable. My only complaint this trip is that some of the furniture in the room was a bit dinged up and could use a little TLC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful botique hotel.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for five nights and would definitely recommend it. Hotel was beautiful and staff were friendly and accommodating. Only drawback was that rooms were a bit small but they came with a spacious wardrobe so opened up floorspace. Very central location close to a subway, some nice cafes etc. Be sure to try the breakfast downstairs one morning and sit in the beautiful seating area! Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for Beacon Theatre show.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location to Beacon. Cleanliness and wonderful amenities.
Cons: I would have loved to pay less.
Location: It was a block off Amsterdam which has wonderful restaurants. Upper end of Broadway. Duane Reed just a block away.
We had tickets for a concert at Beacon and this hotel is within a block or so of the theatre. It was a pretty quiet section, but our room was facing Broadway and only on 2nd floor, so there was some traffic noise. The noise really wasn't that bad, but it's something to consider if you are staying more than a night. The room was big and very clean. The staff was very professional. Lobby area is clean and inviting. There was a table with pink lemonade and lemon/lime water decanters all day, which was welcoming since it was upper 90's in city that weekend. Lovely espresso,pastry bar in the morning - not free, but not pricey either. Overall, stay was very pleasant. Hotel met our needs and staff was very nice. Peter at desk gave us some good restaurant recommendations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Just stayed for a week in July 2015 a very nice hotel, rooms are nice and clean and a good size for NY. The lobby is great and so are the staff, great location on W77 th close to metro an easy 5 min ride to Time Square. Close to a nice Italian restaurant, a market, Starbucks and a comedy club, you can walk to the Hell's Kitchen area and have your selection of many different ethnic restaurants, we tried the Mexican Mamasita Bar and Grill they have excellent Margaritas and great Mexican food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Clean,convenient, and quiet!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Great location, but away from the frenzy of midtown Manhattan. The subway station was just one block away. The room was close quarters for a family of three but was well worth it for the peace and quiet! Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Works but noisy

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Location is the best it has. Lower floors are very noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing UWS hotel designed by Emery Roth.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: Interiors. Awful.
Location: Subway on Park Ave W and W 81st. Central Park, Museum of NH. Upper Broadway, Beacon Theatre. Good restaurants, Isabella's, Shake Shack.
Disappointing hotel in fantastic building designed by architect Emery Roth. Good location on Broadway and W 77th. Walked to Central Park, 5-10 minutes, also Museum of Natural History right on Park Ave /W 79th. Times Sq, 15/20 mins fast walking straight down Broadway. Subway at NH Museum. We had booked two rooms, a double and a superior suite with two double beds. Both were dark, dreary and utterly characterless. On asking that at least one room had a bathtub we were told that the hotel had only two rooms that had bath tubs as all rooms had been recently renovated largely getting rid of baths. This wouldn't be so bad if the bathroom 'renovations' were particularly great: walk in showers, utterly charmless, bland spaces... no decent lighting.... In Manhattan one does not expect huge space in terms of room size etc. but please, some people still take baths!!!! Whoever is responsible for the utterly insipid interior design of the rooms should never work again! Other facilities - media/business could do better. The staff were wonderful and helpful and tried to be so accomodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Good price for an OK room.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The price and the staff.
Cons: Not a fan of the showers with benches.
Location: Good location.
Worked for a place to sleep but wouldn't spend much time there otherwise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Room was small but good. Comfortable bed and nice washroom. Clean. Good number of towels and nice bedding. Only a closet and no dresser was odd.