Ratings based on 3,763 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THE HOTEL WAS HANDY AND CLOSE TO TIMES SQUARE THAT

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: CANT COMMENT THE WORST WE HAVE BEEN IN FOR THE PAST 30 YEARS
Cons: AT LEAST PUT IN A MICROWAVE A TOASTER AND COFFEE MAKER AS MOST HOTELS GIVE TODAY
Location: LOCATION GOOD THAT'S ALL
WE WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE ROOM OFFERED WAS OFFERED ANOTHER ON 8TH FLOOR BOTH ROOMS WAS RUBBISH OUT SIDE WHEN YOU LOOK OUT THE WINDOW. A BUCKET UNDER THE WINDOW TO KEEP IT OPEN ON COLD NIGHT COULD NOT GET HEATER TO WORK LARGE STEP UP TO BATHROOM VERY DARK WITHOUT LIGHTS. THE 3RD ROOM ON 4 TH FLOOR WAS A LITTLE BETTER BUT COULD HAVE BEEN MADE A LOT BETTER FOR THE HIGH COST TO PAY, THERE ARE CHEAPER HOTELS AND BETTER . WOULD NOT RETURN AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THE HOTEL AND RUIN THE HOLIDAY , JUST PLAIN BASIC FOR THE PRICE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but ok

Posted Sep 27, 2014
5 nights in new York and we stopped at the hotel carter. it's basic but the location in excellent. We only slept and showered there tbh so if that's what your looking for go for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Same level as a hostel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: update the rooms and amenities in rooms. Also lower cost wifi options!
Location: near times square
Location was decent but it really was the same as a cheap hostel as far as amenities and comfort and such. Stains on carpet in our room,several smal holes in linens. Staff was friendly on the brightside! And if you arent planning on being in the room for any more time than is required to shower and pass out its a decent spot for that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n.y.c.

close to time square excellent location

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: location and price
Cons: decor it`s like an old house need`s a lot of t.l.c. the management have started give them a chance
Location: exellent perfect location for all things n.y.c.
clean room bed changed every day better towels needed old and tired properity but being upgraded slowley don`t believe the horror stories if you want 5* pay 5* price`s
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Hotel!!!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Everything! especially the cleanliness of the room and the maintenance of the overall facility.
Location: Times Square - less than a block.
This hotel was deplorable. The room was dirty and the facility was not maintained very well at all! I should have looked it up by name on the internet instead of basing my decision on pictures posted on Expedia and general reviews. After my stay I looked up the hotel on the internet for information and history etc. There were some very interesting and scary facts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met expectations - budget hotel in great location

Posted Sep 24, 2014
It met our expectation as a place to sleep, shower and store belongings. Stayed for 6 nights on the 23rd floor. Room was spartan, but clean enough for the aged room. Initially the tub did not drain well but after informing front desk it was promptly fixed and no problem for the rest of the trip. A couple nights there were line-ups for the elevator up, but residing on an upper floor meant we always got on. As a budget conscious traveler, it provided incomparable value for the location right off Times Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Hotel Carter overnight stay.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location and nice staff.
Location: Wonderfull location, 1/2 block from Times Square.
Friendly check-in staff. Excellent security. Great price for the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from freeville ny

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: location only
Cons: everything
Location: location was great
horrible found out the hotel is sold so they don't care. No room service small nothing in the room other than a bed and tv. Tv went loud then soft drove us nuts but they couldn't fix it said it was a cable problem. Very old hotel that needs a lot of work
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Carter - Sept. 15 -18

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location and that is it
Cons: too long to list
Location: Excellent location, one minute from Times Square
Very disappointed with the quality of this hotel Beds were crocked and furniture was in terrible condition Old carpets And we hardly slept as every night, rain drops or water would fall on the air conditioner located in the window...was brutal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Brilliant location, literally a hop skip and a jump to time square!!! we got a cheap holiday package. The hotel was clean.
Cons: The rooms could do with updating and modernising. The tv channels needed tuning in properly and could of done with more channels.
Location: The location was spot on!! Time square just half a block away. You are certainly in the heart of it!! Many subways within walking distance.
Our experience was a pleasant one. no frills with this hotel,The room was dim and poorly lit, old and shabby but otherwise clean. Just needed a room to lay our heads. The TV only had a few channels on it, even with cable channels. We did report the TV being faulty and within ten minutes the handyman was there fixing it. Staff were approachable and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.