Ratings based on 3,859 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba

Great Vaule

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Great bang for the buck and location second to none. If your looking for glitter you won't find it here but rooms were clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Inexpensive hotel in Times Square

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Location is excellent as it is in the middle of Times Square. It is relatively inexpensive compared to the hotels in the area, but the condition of the facilities are basically not as good as well. You basically get what you pay for. For travelers who don't plan to stay in the hotel much, except for bag storage and sleep, then this is an acceptable hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Awful!!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Good location and a good price, so I thought 'how bad can it be?' Wow, was I wrong!! Hair all over the room, windows couldn't be shut so the trash smell wafted in from the street and only one tv channel. Asked for a new room and the second one was even worse. Got a full refund and went somewhere is.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from canada

Okay hotel in Times Square if money is an issue!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Staff very very helpful. Very old, but on a superficial look, clean!
Cons: Bathrooms could use renovations. Although they were old but clean! Free Wifi would be very nice to have.
Location: In the heart of Times Square!
Very old hotel. Clean. Close to centre of everything. No extras!! Hotel staff very friendly and helpful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expidia's fault

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We were very happy with the location of the Hotel. It's in Timesquare and you can access everything by foot. We were very disappointed with our room. The smell was horrible, and the room didn't seem clean (humidity smell, old windows, no lamp at all, no clock alarm, you can hear the cars honking outside in the middle of the night...). For an Hotel in Timesquare the price is not too bad, I mean it's cheap compared to other Hotels, so we weren't expecting a 5 stars Hotel. I just wish Expedia would have used the proper pictures. The pictures Expedia showed were very nice and had nothing to do with the actual Hotel ... Maybe that's the real reason we were that disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst experience ever

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Was the worst experience ever, dirty, disgusting, and uncomfortable. Only was good the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Already emailed this part on 10/19/14. OLD! Rough towels. No wascloths or hand towels or tissues. Horrible showerhead - no water pressure. Rusty medicine cabinet & pipes. Wont stay there ever again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

The location was the best thing about Hotel Carter

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location in theater district and lower than most price. Aaron was at the front desk and he was the only bright spot.
Cons: See experiences above.
Location: Good location, theaters and times square very close.
Tiny rooms, no shelves or towel racks in bathroom, no place for toiletries, no coffee in room, carpet dirty, beds comfortable and clean, rooms in disrepair, charges for everything, no shuttle from airport, killed a huge beetle on the wall and my wife had trouble sleeping after that, showed bug to the manager and he said housekeeping would check out the room. very few amenities at all. Price was lower than most.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Bad standards for NYK.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff.
Cons: Upkeep and maintenance.
Location: Great!
The room was not cleaned every day. Towels were not changed and no rack to hang towels. No tv remote control.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Close to main attraction

Posted Oct 18, 2014
The room was very uncomfortable. 2 children and 2 adults was too much. But going out directly into Time's square was excellent