Ratings based on 3,635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met our Needs

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Cons: Conveniences in the Lobby, ie coffee
Location: Very convenient to Times Square, Theaters and Subways. Plenty of places to eat nearby.
The Carter met our needs which were a clean comfortable sleep and a place to cleanup in the morning. The room was somewhat small but had a private bathroom and was relatively clean. There was a small convenience store / restaurant next store to the hotel which was convenient for coffee and an easy breakfast. We were really on the go for two days so this hotel fit our needs, if you are planning to spend any time in a hotel, this is not the place for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrensburg, NY

"Hotel Carter" should be renamed "Hotel Hell".

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The only positive thing about this hotel was its proximity to Time Square.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved.
Location: Being less than one city block from Time Square.
Hotel was beyond disrepair. Furniture was old and scarred. Bathroom was beyond filthy. Shower was non existent, only consisted of a old, dirty shower curtain on rusty rod with drain hole in floor. Bathroom sink did not drain. Air conditioner did not work, after returning to the hotel after 6 hours room still smelled musty and warm. Beds had stained sheets and pillows about 2 inches thick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel very close to Times Square

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Location! Walking distance from Times Square, Empire State building and many more attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pearland, Texas

Not too shabby for the price!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location! We felt very safe although there was a "gentleman's club next door that I had to explain to my 12 year old son.
Cons: Everything needs renovated. Paint was awful....you can tell there were many coats of paint already on walls/doors. New linens and towels are needed.
Location: Perfect location for Times Square / Theater District. Handy to subway and bus terminals.
After reading a handful of the reviews, I was rather nervous staying in this hotel. My 12 year old son & I were in town for a Yankees game, so it was a quick trip & we only stayed 2 nights. Upon arrival, the hotel staff was friendly & because of some of the reviews I had read, I knew to ask for a remodeled room. When I asked the difference, the staff said on a scale of 1-10, remodeled scored a 7.5 & regular was a 6. They didn't have one available at the time (12:30pm) & told me if we would come back at 2:30pm, one should be available. We arrived back a bit earlier & one was available. I don't know what others are talking about on elevators....they were fine for us. We had to wait maybe 4-5 minutes once to go downstairs, but that was it. The hallway was musty. Our room smelled a bit musty, but not too bad. Closet was disgusting. There was no way I was going to use it. Let's just say we didn't remove any of our clothes from our luggage & lived from it instead of unpacking. The carpet didn't seem clean at all, but I brought socks to wear. Beds were okay-nothing fancy-but sheets clean. Comforter was disgusting. Bathroom was clean but towels were small & scratchy. Basically awful. Had to ask front desk for wash rags & a blow dryer. Overall, I will stay there again next time we are in NYC. The location really couldn't have been better for the price. My son & I felt safe at all times. Perfect hotel for sleeping, but wouldn't want to spend much more time there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Okay hotel near Times Square

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. I liked the fact that our room had a personal bath.
Cons: The elevators need to be fixed. I literally waited 20 minutes to be able to get onto an elevator. They should also move the check in/out times.
Location: Hotel Carter is located on W 43rd St., which is very close to the subway and Times Square.
Overall, Hotel Carter was not what we expected. The decor was shabby and outdated. Check in time was ridiculously late (3 pm) and check out time was too early (11 am). The worst part was that even with 3 elevators, we had to wait in a massive line for at least 20 minutes before we could fit in. The closest stair is only accessible via the 2nd floor, meaning you still had to take the elevator up. The hotel itself did not have a free storage space for our luggage so we had to pay another company inside to hold onto our bags. I would say this hotel is a livable space if you really want to find an area close to Times Square, but it wasn't really worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
dirty and run down looking dirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down lookingdirty and run down looking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Older Hotel close to Times Square

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Just about everything. The carpets are worn and stained. The elevators are very slow in the mornings. Air conditioner is loud and doesn't work well.
Location: The location is awesome. Close to Times Square. Madame Tousauds ,Broadway, 20 min walk to central park.
This hotel has a very nice location. Half block from Times Square and within walking distance of Broadway theatre district. This hotel only offers maid service every other day! The hotel is old and needs updated desperately though. The rooms are cramped and the bathrooms need redone, The tile is old, cracked and stained. The rooms just have that dated look and smell. There is a long wait for the elevators in the mornings. No ice machines or vending machines . Must even pay for wifi in the hotel lobby. They charge you for every little thing. Even charge per bag to hold your bags for you. Many other nice places in the area, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything
The hotel was deplorable. The conditions were disgusting. Hair in the shower. Carpet pulled up in corners, dirty. Leaking air conditioners. Hotel staff rude and unhelpful. Those are just a minority of the problems.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Excellent location--not much else

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Pretty much everything else---the property is old and tired
Location: Location--one block from Times Square and within the middle of the theatre district.
As expected an ideal location but an old and tired hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very close to Time Square.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Close to Time Square.
Cons: The rooms in general. Carpets, beds, bathrooms.
Location: Excellent location for the 2-3 day visiter (for sure not longer).
The Carter is 1 minute away from Time Square - real good location! The room was small and in desperate need of modernizeing. VERY used and old. The bed was okay but the springs did bother a bit. But there is a bathroom with an okay shower and sink. Again, all is old and badly maintained. You get what you pay for. Parking right next to the Carter was extreamly expensive - hey, it is New York.