Ratings based on 3,096 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price and location

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget. The location is great, right off of Times Square, but the hotel needs to be renovated. The rooms are adequate at best, thin towels and sheets but the water pressure was great. We had hot water and the rooms were quiet...you could hear very little city noise particularly since we faced an inner courtyard and had the air conditioning unit on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandy from Texas

Clean comfortable and safe

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything location is outstanding perfect for our budget
Cons: would have loved a coffee pot in the lobby but there are plenty of diners at the end of the block. The stairs going up to eneter was tough because I
Location: Times square madness, shows great restaurants of every kind. Easy access to on off buses/cabs etc. New york was very friendly and enjoyable
We were very apprehensive about our booking after all the bad reviews but went with an open mind. The staff were exceptional and extremely helpful.with Aaron giving us ideas of where to eat. and extensive direction how to get around. The facility has a 24 hour guard which made us (two women) feel safe. We asked for a quiet renovated room and that is what we got. Rooms are functional bed comfortable bathroom clean. Carpet a bit old but I don't trust any hotel carpet always wear socks. The maid was friendly and helpful and serviced our room every other day (good for the environment) Shower was hot 1/3 days.It is an old hotel with character and its own charm. If you are unhappy go to the the Westin down the street and pay a whole lot more.The location is exceptional could walk every where. great restaurants venues etc.Plan to come back soon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Virginia

It served its purpose.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Based on other trip advisor reviews, it's what we expected. Our time in the hotel was so limited, it was manageable. If you go, ask for more pillows and towels. Housekeeping comes every other day. The cafe near lobby was very good. If you have kids, we have 2 young ones, worth mentioning so you are aware, there is a gentleman's club about 2 doors down as you walk towards Times Square. You can cross the street directly across from the hotel without passing by the club. Hotel was most affordable that we could find and served its purpose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacqueline from Scotland

Good location -On Times Square

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Fair price for basic hotel in great location in Times Square New York. Staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned every second day.
Cons: Only three lifts for 24 floors! Basic room/d├ęcor could be updated. Water not always warm in the morning, no plug in bath. $4 per bag @ check out.
Location: Hotel situated on Times Square! Great location for all Times Square attractions: Broadway, Empire State, Madame Tussauds, shopping etc.
Hotel staff were pleasant and very helpful. Security staff always present so felt safe and secure. Room clean but basic. TV and hair dryer in room, no kettle though. Safe boxes available at reception, reasonable rate. Can be very busy at times as hotel is popular with large groups, especially when they check in/out. Used stairs (once) as lift was full eight times (on a Saturday).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Miami Beach

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The hotel is located in a perfect spot very close to Times Square .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only location is good

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: No, except location
Cons: Anything, from staff to clean of room, need to be improved.
Location: Can walk to the Time Square within a minute.
Only reason I stayed at the Hotel Carter is near the Time Square, other things are no good at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel right on Times Square

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: space
The staff was pleasant, and the room was fairly comfortable, but small. There was only one small blanket on the bed and no towel racks in the bathroom. Decent hotel overall but not fantastic. And it says Wi-Fi but it was not free.
3 out of 5
by SHARON from NEW YORK

THIS IS A BUDGET HOTEL

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: ALL
Location: GREAT LOCATION FOR ALL TO SEE AS A TOURIST IN NEW YORK
THIS IS A 1 STAR HOTEL IF YOUR FIRST ROOM IS BAD ASK TO MOVE THERE ARE BETTER ROOMS.HOTEL IS IN NEED OF A REFIT LOOKS VERY TIRED BEDDING WAS CLEAN. HOTEL IS IN A VERY GOOD POSITION FOR ALL MAIN ATTRACTIONS, DONT USE GUEST SERVICES VERY EXPENSIVE DONT ORDER A TAXI HERE..WARNING WILL CHARGE YOU TO LEAVE BAGS AFTER CHECK OUT .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maralm from vancouver bc

Good location. Clean

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Clean beds. No wifi though and the room was really outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Carter Times Square New York

Posted Apr 13, 2014
After staying at several different hotels Hotel Carter is by far the best. I will stay there again whenever I visit New York City.