Ratings based on 3,375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Location Location Location!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
If you want a reasonable hotel near Times Square, then the Hotel Carter is for you. However, it is in need of a renovation quick, fast, and in a hurry. If you want a plush upscale hotel, this is not for you. If you just want a place to lay your head at night, this is the perfect place! No bed bugs or any bugs for that matter and the bed was extremely comfortable!!! I will definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

Hotel near Times Square

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It was a sketchy hotel. Not the nicest rooms. It wasn't awful..... But far from great !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOSTON

Inexpensive and well worth the stay. Clean.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Individual behind the information desk did not have any knowledge to impart. (i.e., sent us down to the ATM in the lobby which was out of order).
Location: 43rd street between 7th and 8th is in the midst of the theatre district. Foxwoods is right next door (which will next be hosting ON THE TOWN.
Very adequate accommodations. Excellent location. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was clean. (certainly not fancy). Told and check in that room only was cleaned every other day (including towels and bed making)…found that was not a tremendous imposition. Door staff helped us with luggage and finding taxis. AC was noisy but served as "white" noise and was not disruptive of our sleep. We will stay there again: the price (especially for NYC) makes this a prize. The guests are certainly multi-national but everyone we met and exchanged "good morning"s with was unfailingly happy and pleased to be there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Location, location, clean sheets

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The location to price of this hotel was excellent. You can tell right away that it's an old building, but it has character and personality (being in Times Square doesn't hurt either!). Close to subway and port authority, and right by the theater district, it's fantastic! However, no heavy bed spreads, and housekeeping never dropped by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Close to all the attractions

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Definitively the rooms
Location: The best is the location.
The hotel is old, does not have good service, smelly and not clean your room during stay. On the other hand the location is great, in two minutes and you are in Time Square. OK for the price. You will not find any one that is near and have good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Time Square

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Close to Time Square, Parking and the night life
Cons: They just need to continue with the renovations
Location: Time Square, perfect location.
This place was like staying in a hotel that Clark Griswold would have booked for a family vacation. I really didn't mind as the staff was friendly, parking was close and was more interested in seeing the city rather than the inside of a hotel; however if you are looking for a modern impressive place to bring your wife or girl friend this is not the place. Very outdated, stains on the floors, rooms small with only the basics and no blankets. Based upon further research this place is under new management and the 4th floor has been renovated, it would be worth requesting one of these rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atl

Excellent location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I picked this hotel mainly because of its location. I knew it wouldn't be fancy but just enough for a place to crash after a long day of walking around. The room is basic. It met my needs. The hotel staff are nice and helpful. We didn't have a problem with the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

I was scared at first because some of the reviews.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I would recommend this hotel. It was an older hotel but I didn't go to New York to stay in the hotel. It was clean. The beds were comfortible. Easy check in and out. Awesome location. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Close to time square. Room old and needs updating

Posted Jul 28, 2014
For the limited amount of time in the room it was ok. Right in time square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pleasant hotel, efficient use of space. Comfy beds. Quiet rooms. Safe parking facility next door. Many restaurants within walking distance. GREAT Location. Can walk or subway anywhere in the city