Ratings based on 2,948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The food, from the hotel's new restaurant, is the best hotel food I have ever had. Truly a gourmet experience, beautifully presented.
Cons: Can't be fixed, but people need to know that rooms that don't face the street are dark to the point that it is hard to tell night from day.
The food, from the hotel's new restaurant, is the best hotel food I have ever had. Truly a gourmet experience, beautifully presented. The room, however, is very small, even for NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle, Uk

Comfortable, luxury hotel in fab location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The location plus the fact that it is not a big hotel by New York Standards, so fairly quiet with a luxury feel.
Cons: The elevators moved very slowly between floors, thankfully only 14 floors in hotel and we were only on 7.
Location: Empire State practically next door, short stroll to Rockefeller Centre, designer shops of 5th Ave,Times Sq and theatres, close to subway
Hotel is only a few blocks from Penn Station, maybe 10 minute walk, and despite arriving well before check in time we were shown straight to our room. We had booked a room with 2 double beds so the room was a good size though the bathroom was rather compact. Good quality bedding and towels, mini bar in room with room to store your own bottles of water, juice, efficient heating or rather it was once we sussed out the controls, dressing gowns, and my personal favourite complementary Molton Brown toiletries. Leaving the hotel and at the end of the street you are on 5th Ave with the Empire State in front of you. Great location, easily reached from the airport (we flew into Newark so direct train to Penn Station), and conveniently placed for all mid town attractions. Complimentary tea and cafe available 24-7. We didn't dine in as there is so much choice in the city, plus there is a cafe/deli at the end of the street, Bread & Butter, which seemed to never close and where you can dine in or carry out and they sell hot and cold food so really handy. Would definitely consider staying here again if ever back in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Small, attractive hotel with helpful staff

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The hotel is conveniently located with nearby places for breakfast, coffee. Room small but well-organized. Clean. Comfortable bed.
Cons: There were only two small elevators which were very slow. Often filled with the cleaners and their carts. I routinely took the stairs, for 7 flights.
Location: I do not like Midtown and rarely stay there. A place across the street had all sorts of food. I didn't explore the area as plans took me elsewhere.
Took me a couple of passes to find the front door: much local construction and poor signage. Compact, attractive lobby. Upscale feel. Staff very personable and helpful. Room on 7th floor with window overlooking a construction site. Noisy at night with room temperature hard to control.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal and good location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
I enjoyed this hotel, having in mind prices and sizes of most hotel rooms in New York. The staff did everything I asked of, and they were very nice and accommodating. The hotel itself is in very convenient midtown area, however, there was a smelly homeless person sleeping 20 feet away on the street on both days that I walked by, but I suppose, this sort of thing does not surprise the locals... I did not like that this hotel did not offer night room service, as I arrived late and was hungry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good hotel, good location.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location, state of the room, hotel faciliies (complementary tea and coffeee on tap 24/7)
Cons: Nothing really, room was not huige but perfectly acceptable. Ours was a'superior' which was good
Location: Very central
Does the important things well. I ate odinary faciliies and service very highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom liverpool england

Ideal location close to EState .central location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Enjoyable stay. very pleasing hotel quality . Stayed in room 231 ten yards from gym!!!! . A couple of good early morning cafes within a two minute stroll of hotel and a couple of good bars beneath Empire State which was a stones through away. If you want a good view from your hotel window this is not the one for you. If you want a good nights sleep , comfy beds. Clean rooms with helpful guest services , in a prime spot for visiting landmarks and shops this is The one for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

The hospitality is impeccable

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Read reviews on this hotel and they were looking really good. When we arrived around 10 am I was surprised that our room was ready and we were able to check in. We went to our room . It was on the small size but in New York it was a good size . The front deal called and asked if everything met my expectations and if we needed anything not to hesitate and call. The time was changing the next day and someone knocked on the door with a paper explains the daylight savings and gave us some chocolate for disrupting. The rain shower was awesome. Usually they don't have much pressure but this one was the best one I've ever seen. It's pressure was amazing. When we would walk down the concierge would call you by your last name. It was like they take the time to actually know you. This was an amazing experience and the hotel staff are top notch. Very professional and the hospitality was amazing. I've never experienced this at any other hotels. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kilsyth, Scotland

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel was quiet with a nice library to sit in with a coffee. There is complimentary coffee and tea available in the foyer.
Location: The hotel was in a good location near the Empire State Building, Madison Square Gardens and Macy's.
Had a great stay in the Chandler Hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel is quiet and relaxed. The room was nice and the beds were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: very clean, friendly staff
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect for getting to the subway and getting uptown or downtown.
Great staff, clean rooms, great location. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Lovely boutique hotel close to Empire State Bldg

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pleasantly surprised upon arriving at how quaint it is and was happy about the size of the room by NYC standards. The call from the front desk after arriving to check that everything was going well was a nice touch - something I have not experienced. The staff also responded quickly to help with the TV signal and to bring extra towels upon request. The only trouble was the shower door which did not close and flooded the bathroom floor after each use. I asked the hotel to look at it and they did partially address the issue but it continued to leak afterwards. That issue aside, I would choose to stay again and recommend Hotel Chandler to others.