Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by busy mom from Michigan

tiny but immaculate

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed one block from my kid in East Village, easy location. Walkable. Cons: hard towels, tiny standard, no full-length mirror, bath door would not stay open and lighting level medium (a bit tough for make up and dressing!) Pros: immaculate, gorgeous new bath shower, no noise from street or corridor, room darkening shade, great coffee, really pleasant roof top terrace to hang with guests. B+ grade and I am fussy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A superb hotel with very friendly staff.

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: roof top terrace, you can buy your own wine and they will supply the glass and you can luxuriate to your hearts content taking in the views.
Cons: nothing
Location: Its on east Houston so its a stones throw away from lots of great music venues like the Bowery ballroom, the mercury lounge and lots of great bars.
stayed here for a week and although the rooms are small (new York style) they were clean and comfortable with a great shower in marble. The staff were the friendliest I have come across and were always there to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Karen from Brookline, MA

Great, no-frills place to stay

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location for East Village. The room was tiny and could accommodate only a queen bed; but the roof deck was fabulous. There's a Whole Foods a block away, so it's convienent to grab a meal or snack and head to the roof. The bathroom was modern and clean. The staff could not have been more helpful. There's good coffee, a frig and microwave on the lowest level. It's a great NY hotel as long as you're not the type to sit around your room. Who in NY does that??
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amanda from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Great time in NY/fun and perfect location/artsy

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a terrific time staying at the Hotel East Houston. Part business and also pleasure, the hotel was in a convenient and really fun location, with the New Museum close by, Freeman's restaurant(my favorite!) Elisabeth street, subways and convenient walks to West and East Villages and Chelsea, Freeman's restaurant just two blocks away, and a whole foods and drug store. The room was perfect for us, although those shy couples (or even modest!) might want to take note that the wall of the bathroom is glass, and thus completely visible from the bedroom. You can dim the lights, but makes you think of filming a documentary! For us though, it was kind of hilarious, and fun, and silly, and in the end, added to the uniqueness of the room and our time together. the staff, too, was so accomodating and helpful, and the rootop patio was a wonderful place to sit at night, with a glass of wine, and look over the city. Just great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by HarryC from Philadelphia

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly, helpful staff. Fresh clean room. Enjoyed the roof-top deck. Several excellent restaurants and diners nearby. Close to the venue that we were visiting. Overall, an excellent trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LSmith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JM from Atlanta, GA

great location, would stay again

Posted Dec 31, 2012
Pros: location to lower east side, soho, and also SO close to a subway stop
Cons: warped wooden flooring (eh, not a big deal), slow and only one elevator, hardwoods while nice and less creepy than carpet allow for more noise overall
This hotel's location is great; literally around the corner from a subway stop and in the Lower East Side but also very close to SoHo and elsewhere. Hotel was clean, modern, and comfortable. Lobby exquisite. Room I had could have used some small work in it but overall totally clean and fine (wood floors look like they've been flooded previously? little warping...could use some touch up paint but very clean). Nice bath products and my bathroom was private - some other reviews complained about a glass wall for the bathroom. Mine was normal and enclosed. Room size was comfortable and not surprising - decent for NY in fact! Free wifi - perfect signal even on 5th floor - free breakfast (though slim pickings 15 mins before close) - free bottle of water. Was here for fun but would also be suitable for business. Complaints were: one elevator which was also slow, sparse breakfast, and since the rooms/halls have hardwood floors there is some overall noise (i turned on a white noise app on my phone and was fine).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tamara from Toronto, ON, Canada

Hotel East Houston: Reliable & Easy!

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Great staff. Very clean.
Cons: No in-room safe, no adequate closet or drawers.
Location: Fantastic lower Manhattan location. Turn one way and you're in the Lower East Side. Turn the other and you're in SoHo. Could you ask for more??
This is the second stay I've had at the Hotel East Houston, which I selected again because of it's amazing lower Manhattan location, cleanliness, and friendly staff. While the rooms are very small and basic, this is a standard for the city. What is different is that in spite of this, they are comfortable, very well maintained, and quiet - even though you're facing a major city street. It would be a great improvement to equip the rooms with a safe and a closet/drawers. The continental breakfast is very basic, and wanting, but there are so many restaurants and delis in the area, I'm hard pressed to figure out why you'd partake in it other than to pick up some fruit and pastry to take with you for an afternoon snack! Enjoy your stay, and know you'll be in an amazing location to reach anything you wish in minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yuen from Hong Kong

A hotel for free traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: The road work in front of the hotel
Location: Very convenient between East Village and China Town.
The hotel is run by professional staff, very pleasant and very helpful. The room is small but is expected in NYC unless you are willing to pay much more or travel long distance to where you want to go. The hotel provide continental breakfast which include fruits and a variety of cereal, yogurt, bread, croissant, bagel etc. You can have a big breakfast and skip lunch. The hotel is very conveniently located, 2 minutes from subway and 3 minutes to bus stop. There are also plenty of small eateries around. The neighborhood is safe and you can walk around late evening and still feel safe. The only thing is there are road works right in front of the hotel. I stayed in the hotel twice early Dec. One time the room is at the back so not affected by noise of the road work. One time the room was right in front of the street. I thought the road work would wake me up so did not set alarm. Unfortunately it did not and I overslept and missed breakfast. There is a roof terrace which is nice in NYC.