Ratings based on 11,592 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Worked perfectly for what we were looking for. Location was great and we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

habitación triple pero armario mínimo

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Ubicación
Cons: Decoración y limpieza lobby
Location: Excelente
El hall o lobby y las zonas comunes bastante antiguas pero la habitación estaba Muy bien. Salvo el armario que para ser una habitación triple era minimo. El personal muy atento. No me parece bien que el servicio de ordenador e intenet si dicen que es gratis debas pagar para poder usar la conexión e imprimir algún documento como las tarjetas de embarque. No hice uso del resto de servicios del hotel. Excelente ubicación en la 47 con la 7th st en pleno times sq.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

In transition?

Posted Jul 4, 2015
The Edison seems to be in the process of rebuilding, but until that happens you can expect various inconveniences to arise. The computers can go down and severely slow down check in. The guest services on the in-room TV does not work properly. An elevator or two can be out of service. It's a great bargain and a convenient location, and overall it's a nice place to stay, but be sure to pack plenty of patience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Close to theatres and restaurants.
Cons: Carpets in halls could be replaced or cleaned. Dirty and halls are dingy. Lobby could use some redecorating and be updated.
Location: Close to theatres and some restaurants. Good location but needs some updating and renovations.
The hotel needs some renovating. The carpet in the halls need replacing or cleaning. Dingy and dirty. Bath tubs have rust and not clean. Hotel is convenient to theatres and restaurants but has gone done and needs some work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Only basic facilities in a great location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A lot. Make walls and windows sound proof. Lifts can be modernized. Staff should be pleasing (avoid arrogant looks and smile).
Location: Time square and a lot of attractions.
Housekeeping is poor, they don't answer well. Drinking water is not provided. Coffee machine was dirty. Sofa in room was very old and not comfortable at all. Lighting is poor and we need to open curtains if you want more light. Noisy environment, continuous disturbance - partially due to Time Square rush and mostly due to hotel not equipped with proper sound proof walls and windows. need to wait for nearly 10-15 minutes to get lifts to go down. Apart from basic facilities, there is nothing much available in this hotel. Location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

We loved the location!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The location.
Location: Times Square and Starbucks was super close, I loved that!
The overall experience was wonderful r, everyone was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

surprise!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Loacation
Cons: Update the bathrooms
Location: Near the TKTS booth at Times Square & walking distance to all the theaters.
We have been staying at the Edison for about 20 years. The rooms were old & small but we never spend much time in the room so we didn't care. Then, one trip we stayed at the Marriott Marquis because we got a better price - the Ed had raised their prices. The next time we stayed at The Edison in a beautiful remodeled room that had a huge bathroom with wooden vanity - lovely. We assumed the whole place was re-finished hence the higher price. Recently we booked 2 rooms - when we checked in we were disappointed to have an old style room, not even a dresser, just a night stand with 2 small drawers & a tiny desk with no drawers. Immediately we ran down hoping to upgrade the other room before our friends arrived --- for $170.00 upgrade for 3 days - they got a vanity in the bathroom - otherwise it was exactly the same as ours. I guess I will start price shopping again before my trip in November.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in the center of town

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The Edison is a landmark in NYC; I remember staying there over 20 years ago. Although it is not a new, modern hotel, it is clean and very well-kept. We were 3 adults in a large room with two queen beds--very comfortable room although the bathroom was quite small. The hotel is conveniently located, near subway stations and theater district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tuscaloosa AL

LOCATION - Beautiful old hotel /Tim Square

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: LOCATION - clean bed
Cons: Open the restaurant...
Location: SHOPPING and sight seeing..in the theatre district.
Beautiful hotel - of course one of our rooms were FLOODED... Restaurant is gone, can't even get a cup of coffee. But otherwise it was clean, cozy and close to everythng. TIME SQUARE...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: It has a Deco charm.
Cons: I was disappointed that they've closed their iconic coffee shop!
Good service, convenient location. The hotel rooms are in need of a makeover---there was peeling paint in one corner of the ceiling of my room. The staff was very friendly though so it made up for the shortcomings,.