Ratings based on 10,939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gbg

Gammalt och slitet hotell nära Time Square

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Läget
Cons: Personalens attityd. Mycket oljud utanför hotellet.
Nonchalant personal, slitet hotell, dålig säng. Mycket oljud. Ingen frukost. Dyr uppkoppling till internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Edison good value New York family holiday

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Tourist information
Location: Times Square Half price theatre ticket box office Theatres on Broadway and surrounds
This hotel is in a great location and probably can't be beaten for family value stay, it was clean and well presented and is very close to Times Square, Theatres and the discounted theatre tickets box which you can go to for half price tickets on the day of the show (this should be pointed out to all guests on arrival but it wasn't even though we asked about tickets, so we unfortunately paid full price at a theatre for a show the night we arrived). The hotel has a convenience store right next door which also serves quick meals and breakfasts. Our main complaint was the lack of accurate tourist information from the staff as we only had 4 days to fit everything in and the information they gave us was incorrect or out of date for quite a few things which was disappointing. Also no free Wi-Fi which really surely could be included in the hotel rates, there is however free Wi-Fi in many restaurants (we used it in a buffet nearby which was opposite Hersheys and at Starbucks). Only other complaint is there is no coffee/tea making facilities in many of the rooms and upon request we couldn't even get a kettle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

In the middle of everything

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Generally, good stay. Room was small, functional. Disappointing when shower/faucet spilled out brown, dirty water on last night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Price was decent. Hotel was very clean. Staff attentive. They have a cool speakeasy style bar on the first floor. Fitness center was small but adequatte. Hotel could use some updating but, again, price was right
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton UK

Great Location but no facilities

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Re-instate the restaurant.
Location: Excellent a few 100 metres from Time Square
The location was great but there was no restaurant, coffee shop or bar. This was one of the reasons we booked this Hotel based upon other reviews, which was not made clear at booking stage. Despite the lack of facilities they said they would be charging an amount per day to cover extras. When queried what extras as you have no facilities there was no real answer. This would be refunded within 10 days - which all seemed odd and unnecessary. The room was clean but very compact and I wouldn't want to spend too long in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Great Location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location and very pleasant staff
Cons: Add a shower door, curtain.
Location: Great location, right off Times Square, with Broadway theaters, a wide range of restaurants and tourist stuff, virtually at your front door.
Great location for a short (e.g. one night) stay. Clean room is adequate/cozy for two people. We arrived at noon. Checked bag (fifty cents per item and went for short walk. Room was was ready when we returned. Front desk, security and housekeeping are all very pleasant and accommodating. Staff tour and breakfast cafe recommendations were accurate. Umbrella in closet for guest use and fresh flowers are nice touches. Soundproofing isn't perfect; expect street noise, as one should in any large city. We also noted some hallway noise. Toilet got plugged, housekeeping happened to be near by and offered to call maintenance. They arrived in less than 10 minutes. As always, shop for rates as they vary and can change if not guaranteed. Our room charge was accurate; however, after arrival, we discovered other guests had larger rooms at lower cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, bad experience being overcharged!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Loved the location of the hotel. In the heart of time square.. The room was nice. Just wish there was a mini refrigerator. My main issue was that I prepaid for the hotel through expedia and each day my card kept getting charged for the room.. The first day it happened the manager was very friendly, apologized and removed the charge that day. The next morning my card was charge again twice.. $217 and $298. I was not met with the same apologies. Instead the mistake was minimized and I was initially told it would take up to ten business days for hold to be taken off.. This coming from the manager.. I had to put up a fight and finally he took the charges off within the hour... Went from 10 days to an hour??? Funny how things changed once I stood my ground. Shouldn't have had to get to that point.. My advice would be to check your account if you prepay when staying at this hotel..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, our location and your guest room accommodations, we regret to learn that you experienced some unfortunate billing issues. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a positive and comfortable stay so we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you encountered. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to know what you enjoyed and more importantly how we might improve. Please know that duplicate charges are not the standard of The Hotel Edison and your experience will be reviewed further with the appropriate department(s). so as to correct any deficiencies in service. Again, many thanks for selecting The Hotel Edison, your patronage is sincerely valued and we hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind Regards, Cynthia P.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

great location, reasonable rates

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: nice accommodations, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: some of the rooms are older and could use a bit of a facelift.
Location: in the heart of Manhattan -- near Times Square, shopping, great restaurants, theatre, etc. Great location.
The Hotel Edison is the perfect choice if you are looking for somewhere in a good location and don't want to spend a ton of money. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious -- the top 2 floors are newly renovated (more $$0 but worth it if you are spending a few days in NYC. The staff is friendly and very helpful, and thank you to the night manager who switched our rooms quickly when we were having difficulties with the lock on the door. Everyone was so helpful and nice -- I would definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The Edison is a great hotel.........nice, neat & clean! Best part is the location - centrally located, steps away from Times Square!! I stay there every time I go to NYC!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our fantastic location and our clean and comfortable hotel. Your comfort is our priority so thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in New York City! Kind Regards, Cynthia P.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

UN VECCHIO SIGNORE

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: meraviglioso stile art deco anni 30 della hall, la cortesia del personale, la zona centralissima, il prezzo molto contenuto, e la pulizia della camera
Cons: Le camere non ancora ristrutturate hanno bisogno di un ampio restyling, la rete wi-fi anche se a pagamento non eccelle.. qualche servizio in più..
Location: posizione centralissima, linee metro vicino, Starbucks di fronte,
Questo hotel porta abbastanza bene i suoi 85 anni anche se a ben guardare si vedono e come... nell'arredamento delle camere non ancora rinnovate,che sono un po' vecchiotte e logore , nei bagni piccoli, ma veramente piccoli, ma che però sono anche puliti molto puliti. Camera all' undicesimo piano (quelle ai piani alti non erano disponibili) pulitissima è il terzo soggiorno a NY e so che il termine pulizia non incontra spesso i nostri standard ma questo è stato l'hotel con meno stelle e più pulizia...Il personale sempre disponibile e sorridente un tributo speciale a Marcos che parla un italiano perfetto ed è di una cortesia ed efficienza veramente notevoli, abbiamo avuto alcuni problemini e lui è sempre stato presente e correttissimo, molto gradito anche il controllo costante all'ingresso degli ascensori...