Ratings based on 11,577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tuscaloosa AL

LOCATION - Beautiful old hotel /Tim Square

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: LOCATION - clean bed
Cons: Open the restaurant...
Location: SHOPPING and sight seeing..in the theatre district.
Beautiful hotel - of course one of our rooms were FLOODED... Restaurant is gone, can't even get a cup of coffee. But otherwise it was clean, cozy and close to everythng. TIME SQUARE...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: It has a Deco charm.
Cons: I was disappointed that they've closed their iconic coffee shop!
Good service, convenient location. The hotel rooms are in need of a makeover---there was peeling paint in one corner of the ceiling of my room. The staff was very friendly though so it made up for the shortcomings,.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden

Tolle Lage

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Cons: Neue Lärmschutzfenster wären gut.
Location: Mitten in Manhattan und man kann eine Menge von dort zu Fuß unternehmen. Optimal für New York
Das Hotel hat eine tolle Lage, nur 1 Minute vom Time Square entfernt. Die Zimmer sind in Ordnung, zweckmäßig und sauber, aber etwas klein. Durch die zentrale Lage ist es relativ laut in den Zimmern (Straßenlärm). Aber es ist auf jeden Fall empfehlenswert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying at Edison Hotel with Grandchildren in NYC

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Good security. Felt safe. Excellent location. Adequate size clean room. Requested lower floor on quiet side of hotel and got it.
Cons: Honestly I cannot think of anything that needed to be improved for us.
Location: Very close to Times Square and all that goes with it.
Friendly staff. Excellent location for Times Square. Felt safe-good security. . Requested lower floor and room to back of hotel to avoid noise and got it. Room adequate size and clean. Would stay there again. Wonderful 4 day stay with kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice hotel, updated. Bath could have been cleaner

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Close to Times Square
Cons: Maid service
Location: Short walk to all the action and people watching.
Very good security and staff, clean lobby and rooms. Awesome concierge. Maid could have cleaned the room better. Found her in the room without her key being placed in the lock and the door was locked. That is the only complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

In the heart of the theater district.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location and atmosphere
Location: Close to the subway, theater, and restaurant row.
We have stayed at the Edison many times. The signature room we were given at check in was to small for two people, it would have been fine for a single traveler. We were given a little larger room and our stay was perfect. I recommend the signature rooms, they are a little more, but worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate and value your patronage and are delighted that you were accommodated in a guest room that met your satisfaction. While our Signature Collection Rooms do vary in size and layout, they are very comfortable and modernly appointed. Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York City! Kind Regards, Cynthia P.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, new york

Clean, comfortable, great location.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Clean, comfortable, and right next to Times Square. Air Conditioner wasn't that good. Concierge and travel desk people were not helpful or friendly. Doormen were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, While we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your accommodations, we regret to learn that you did not find some of our staff helpful and friendly. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a positive and memorable stay so we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Please know your comments will be reviewed further and addressed accordingly. Thank you for having selected The Hotel Edison and we hope to welcome you again so as to enhance your next guest experience! Kind Regards, Cynthia P.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superb location.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Signature rooms very good specified to a high level.
Cons: Public areas looking a little tired.
Location: Location superb right next to Times Square.
Great stay had 2 signature rooms very clean comfortable well equipped.Staff helpful and an issue with one of the rooms airconditioning was promptly attended to and when reoccured resolved with room change no fuss.Hotel deli closed for renovation but plenty of alternative choice nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We pride ourselves on a friendly and helpful staff so we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. Your comfort and enjoyment whilst our guest is certainly a priority, as your patronage and loyalty is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Cynthia P.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Smelly rooms. Super slow wifi and you have to pay for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We regret to learn of your experience. We strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay so we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Our Front Desk Team is available 24 hours a day to assist with all guest concerns and/or issues and we would have loved the opportunity to address yours prior to departure. While not all of our rooms feature WiFi, our Signature Collection Guest Rooms do feature Complimentary WiFi. In addition, we have a technical support team that can assist with any connection issues. Again, our sincere apologies and we hope you will consider being our guest again in the near future. Kind Regards, Cynthia P.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Convenient location

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, staff was friendly and responsive. Valet parking was fairly priced considering location.
Cons: Maintenance on the building. AC units old and need to be either replaced or serviced more regularly. Some tacky running of cables in the room.
Location: Just a half block off the main part of Times Square, numerous shows and eateries within easy walking distance. Subway 4 blocks. Penn station .8 miles.
Not the newest or nicest hotel in NYC by any stretch but affordable, and perfectly fine except for very picky people. Our experience was good. We loved being just steps away from the main parts of Time's Square, and an easy walk to any of the Broadway shows. They offered valet parking that was convenient and fairly priced if you compare it to what parking in NYC costs (expensive). The only real issue we had was the AC unit was acting up (very noisy and not cooling well) and eventually started leaking water onto the carpet. They did get someone up to take care of it fairly promptly. We had a room with double queen beds, and while the room wasn't large by most standards it was more than adequate. The bath is quite small and the sink area isn't separate so really only one person can utilize the bath at a time. We had expected this from reading reviews prior to booking. If you're looking for a clean, reasonably comfortable place to stay right in the heart of NYC at a decent price this may be just what your looking for. If you want something nicer you'll want to pay a little more to get that.