Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

I Loved it all

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The decor of the rooms, the free breakfasts and wine and cheese offerings, and most of all, the charming, always helpful staff.
Cons: The wifi
We stayed three nights and enjoyed everything about the hotel, its location, its staff and our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel close to Central Park and 5th Avenue.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: Ideally located within walking distance of Central Park, 5th Avenue and Grand Central Station.
Hotel very comfortable and had quiet room on floor 12A (13th) at the back of the hotel. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast and complimentary drinks and snacks were an added bonus. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or go again myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast, cleanliness
Cons: Outdated decor, small room, no extra amenities
Location: Great location, walking distance to Broadway/Times Square, MoMA, Central Park, Fifth Ave shopping etc.
Hotel is clean, staff are absolutely fantastic. The inclusive breakfast was great (yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, pastries etc) and we always found room to sit down even when it was busy. Also enjoyed the week day wine & cheese hour. The drawback was the room (standard king) was way smaller than we expected for the price but I guess that's NYC for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A little haven

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Club room
Cons: Do not do anything, you will spoil it
From the minute we arrived to the time we left the staff could not do enough to make your stay special. Room was excellent with an inner balcony. Will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Utsunomiya, Japan

great location in Manhattan

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: update the room decor a little
Location: everything in Manhattan is nearby
We loved the ambiance and staff. I have stayed at their sister property (the Giraffe) and I prefer this hotel even better and the Giraffe is one of my favorites. The breakfast service was great as well as the wine and cheese at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Melbourne Australia

Excellent mid-town location

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Location, quality.
Cons: Breakfast is so popular that they did appear to run out of a number of items on my last stay-a little more planning on this front is suggested.
Location: Rockefeller Centre, Saxs of Fifth Avenue, St Patrick's Cathedral.
This hotel enjoys an excellent reputation. I have stayed here since 1985 and have always had enjoyable stays. Staff are courteous and helpful and this hotel is strongly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent in every aspect!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Everything! Tops on my list, however, is the amazing staff!
Cons: If I could change anything, it would be to add an elevator. The one "Lift" does create a back-up during busy periods.
Location: We walked to the theatre in minutes and restaurants for every budget abound. Great to be near the theatre but not in the Times Square area.
From the moment we stepped into the cozy elegant lobby--of course after having been greeted by two doorman--we knew it would be a positive experience! The front desk could not have been more efficient and friendly, and they helped us through the process of finding just the right restaurant. The clubroom serves all guests a wide variety of teas and coffees all day along with fruit and cookies. The "wine hour" is 3 hours long and boasts white and red wine and champagne accompanied by cheeses, vegies and other assorted nibbles. Continential Breakfast was nearly a full breakfast. All served in a beautiful environment consisting of numerous rooms and alcoves. The beds and bedding were comfortable--and the rooms were clean and welcoming. A wonderful experience and one that I'm sure we will repeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anonymous from Cambridge, Ma

Great find in New York City

Posted Feb 21, 2014
The Hotel Elysee is a wonderful hotel smack in the middle of Manhattan. The staff are especially friendly and welcoming; they upgraded us as soon as we checked in. The room was spotless. They offer a large continental breakfast with fresh fruit and cereals and breads and pastries. Even the coffee is okay. Throughout the day this lounge is open and guests can partake of coffee and other food. Then at 5 p.m. they put out a spread with cheese, wine, and nuts, etc. It is near to subway stations and both the Madison Ave and the 5th Ave.buses. We will definitely retutn to te Elysee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in NY

Posted Feb 6, 2014
A small boutique hotel with amenities. Generous continental breakfast an wine and cheese in the evening. Small room but comfortable a room at the back of the hotel would perhaps be quieter. The front desk staff are handsome and outstanding in their effort and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sheila from london

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014