Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom raleigh, nc

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: it is right near Central Park and 5 th ave. everything is there
we totally enjoyed our stay. Perfect location, outstanding service and amenities. We will definitely be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Lovely hotel with great staff. Everyone greeted us by name every time they saw us. Loved the breakfast and evening snacks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santiago Chile

Beautiful hotel. Near to everything!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The Staff, cleanness and the coffee and wine service at the evening!!!
Location: As I wrote, it is near to Central Park and MET, also to the MOMA and Guggenheim. You can always walk just few minutes and can arrive everything.
The hotel is near to the most important things to do in NY. (MOMA, MET, Guggenheim, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, etc.) But maybe the most important is the hotel. It is an old nice building. Very comfortable, not noise, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Staff is very helpful. I recommend this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

A Boutique Gem in NY

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Even the other guests were friendly--maybe that could be a new criterion for reviewing a boutique hotel!
Cons: It's a fairly tall building (15 floors) for only one small elevator.
Location: Near MOMA etc. Try the Greek restaurant directly across the street!!
I have stayed in other boutique hotels in NY, and in general they were much nicer than large, institutional hotels. Hotel Elysee is in a particularly useful location, between Madison and Park, on 64th Street. Everyone working at the hotel seemed cheerful, without being obviously chirpy or pollyanna-ish. Despite that I had purchased my room in advance at a deeply discounted rate on Expedia, I was upgraded to a deluxe penthouse room. It was truly enormous (remember this is midtown NYC!) and had beautiful antique furniture. Reminded me of another upgrade received at Plaza Athenee many years ago! As I still remember that suite from so many years ago, I will not forget my palatial room at Elysee, at any time soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Good location.friendly staff.Enjoyed our stay ,would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Great Hotel in the Big City

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: We especially liked the location, room size, club level offerings and the proximity to shopping and a subway stop.
Cons: Brighter lighting in the hallways and rooms would be appreciated.
Location: We visited Museum of Modern Art which was just a few blocks away. It was also within easy walking distance of Central Park.
My husband and I loved the location, the size of the room and the club level experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have already recommended this hotel to a friend and will stay there the next time I visit the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A home in the city

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and evening wine and cheese buffet included. Very comfortable beds and even a turn down service.
Cons: Some noise and light ingress into rooms. Air conditioning/heating system old and noisy compared to modern units.
Location: Great location convenient for everything. Would give a qualified recommendation to friends
A great hotel in a brilliant location, with excellent staff, let down by a few irritating things. 1. light ingress into room at night from both the hotel corridor and the outside windows. (Could easily be eliminated). 2. Noisy air conditioning/ heating system in room. 3. Noisy humming all night (definitely need to have ear plugs!) from the many A/C condensers in the light-well outside, if like us you were in a rear room. Front rooms would be better here, as the street is quiet at night. 4. Medium quality fixed head shower over small and shallow bath. Not a 'power shower'and only an excuse for a bath. 5. Over bright lighting in the large and otherwise attractive room where both breakfast and evening wine and cheese buffet are taken.OK this lighting for the morning but lacking in proper atmosphere for the evening buffet, where the use of dimmers would have made all the difference. Everything else was five star and the entire place is maintained in excellent order throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Very friendly, comfortable and convernient

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The only knock on the hotel is that our room was a little "tired" in terms of the furnishings, wallpaper etc. Other wise the Hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of comfort and convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

recomendo

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Equipe muito atenciosa, cafe da manha delicioso. perfeito
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Charming boutique hotel in ideal location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. The location was ideal. Pleasing rooms.
Cons: Elevator was a little slow --- nothing major.
Location: Great location in mid-town. Close to Central Park, MOMA and the shops of Fifth Ave
Arrived early for our stay but was able to check into our room. Enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese as well as the continental breakfast.