Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent in every aspect!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Everything! Tops on my list, however, is the amazing staff!
Cons: If I could change anything, it would be to add an elevator. The one "Lift" does create a back-up during busy periods.
Location: We walked to the theatre in minutes and restaurants for every budget abound. Great to be near the theatre but not in the Times Square area.
From the moment we stepped into the cozy elegant lobby--of course after having been greeted by two doorman--we knew it would be a positive experience! The front desk could not have been more efficient and friendly, and they helped us through the process of finding just the right restaurant. The clubroom serves all guests a wide variety of teas and coffees all day along with fruit and cookies. The "wine hour" is 3 hours long and boasts white and red wine and champagne accompanied by cheeses, vegies and other assorted nibbles. Continential Breakfast was nearly a full breakfast. All served in a beautiful environment consisting of numerous rooms and alcoves. The beds and bedding were comfortable--and the rooms were clean and welcoming. A wonderful experience and one that I'm sure we will repeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anonymous from Cambridge, Ma

Great find in New York City

Posted Feb 21, 2014
The Hotel Elysee is a wonderful hotel smack in the middle of Manhattan. The staff are especially friendly and welcoming; they upgraded us as soon as we checked in. The room was spotless. They offer a large continental breakfast with fresh fruit and cereals and breads and pastries. Even the coffee is okay. Throughout the day this lounge is open and guests can partake of coffee and other food. Then at 5 p.m. they put out a spread with cheese, wine, and nuts, etc. It is near to subway stations and both the Madison Ave and the 5th Ave.buses. We will definitely retutn to te Elysee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in NY

Posted Feb 6, 2014
A small boutique hotel with amenities. Generous continental breakfast an wine and cheese in the evening. Small room but comfortable a room at the back of the hotel would perhaps be quieter. The front desk staff are handsome and outstanding in their effort and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sheila from london

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay, Convenient location.

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Service was very good, Room was fine, We found the queen-size bed too small for two people. Breakfast was superior. Would stay there again but get a king-size bed or two queen-sized beds. Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by susan from new york

Great hotel for the Christmas holidays

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The concierge floor; large rooms.
Cons: The restaurant, The Monkey Bar has lost the panache it once had.
Location: Prime location- right in the middle of the city.
Prime location in mid-town, close to Rockefeller Center, fifth avenue, St, Patrick's etc. Complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening helps you recover from shopping before venturing out again to see the sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shiobhan from Southport, Lancs,UK

Dec in NY

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York. Cannot fault it. Situation- mid town. Close to many attractions. Staff- so helpful, nothing any trouble. Breakfast-excellent choice, continental style. Beds- just sink into them, so comfortable. Evening drinks and cheese- what a lovely way to finish a hard day shopping and sight seeing. Plus the chance to talk to fellow guests if you wish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from nj

Great Location

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Cons: the hairdryers
Quiet hotel, close to Central Park, The Tree and Madison Ave. The rooms were large and the nicest amenity was the breakfast, coffee, tea and snacks all day long and wine and cheese pre dinner. Such a delight to return after a long day or night and be able to lounge in couches and have a drink and a snack. A delightful stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hall from Dallas, TX

Great location but wear your ear plugs!

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved this Hotel. the location is great, the hotel is lovely in a European, Old-World way. The daily Club Room offerings (breakfast, happy hour, etc) are a lovely touch--staffed with outstanding employees. The only negative of our trip was the street noise in our room at night. The Hotel staff sent up ear plugs and eye masks, which helped, but this is a definite aspect of this hotel's location.
1 out of 5
by Bill

Hotel Elysee treats you bad if you book on Expedia

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Rich, at front desk said, "you booked your suite through a 3rd party (I pre- paid in full $2,400 for 3 nights and we arrived in early December 2013) so we put a hold on $150 on your Credit card in case you max out your card shopping and don't have any money to pay your bill when you check out." Rich only told me of the "pending charge" after my credit card company sent me an alert of the charge. His coworker, Jordan, stood by agreeing. I asked Rich why he didn't tell me at check in to expect charges before I ever ordered any "incidental" items? Rich said it was company policy NOT to tell, but if any guests ask, then they will tell us. Absolutely NO transparency! We had a terrible room NEXT TO THE ELEVATOR and the view was the pits;and we're not allowed to change. We stayed at Elysee in September and had such a gorgeous king suite with a beautiful view that my wife and I decided to return in Dec. Well, on our last day there, we received a 6:00AM wake up call...ONLY...we did not ask for one!!! We had planned to sleep late that day! Then at check out, Rich tried to charge city tax to my credit card. His coworker kept saying, "it's only $2.50 per night." We showed them our Expedia receipt where it clearly stated, paid in advance for entire stay." So, they backed off! In essence, you'll get Poor service and an undesirable room if book on Expedia or another 3rd party; but excellent service and a lovely view if you pay more and book on the Hotel website.