Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Location: Centrally located to theaters and shopping
Excellent service staff extremely polite and accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect hotel for a short break in New York

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location, the friendly staff, the comfortable rooms and the complimentary breakfasts and cheese and wine evenings.
Location: The élysée is located on east 54th street, close to many attractions, theatres, good restaurants and fine shops.
Before our recent trip to New York we had asked several friends who had been there to recommend a hotel. The general consensus was that the hotels they had stayed in were just ok and we could probably find something better. Well we came up Trumps. The élysée was a super little hotel in a great area of New York. Close enough to walk to many of the main sights, including Central Park, Times Square, The Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre and many more but away from the noise and bustle. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a lovely relaxing atmosphere in all areas of the hotel. The icing on the cake was the complimentary breakfasts and cheese and wine every evening from 5 - 8 pm. Many of the guests were returning for their second or third visit which says it all. We would definitely stay at the élysée if we were returning to New York and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Centrally located

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Change the breakfast options every few days.
Location: Excellent places to eat down the street.
Very nice hotel. Liked the Club Room's hours. I would not want the room outside the elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia

I Loved it all

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The decor of the rooms, the free breakfasts and wine and cheese offerings, and most of all, the charming, always helpful staff.
Cons: The wifi
We stayed three nights and enjoyed everything about the hotel, its location, its staff and our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel close to Central Park and 5th Avenue.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: Ideally located within walking distance of Central Park, 5th Avenue and Grand Central Station.
Hotel very comfortable and had quiet room on floor 12A (13th) at the back of the hotel. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast and complimentary drinks and snacks were an added bonus. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or go again myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast, cleanliness
Cons: Outdated decor, small room, no extra amenities
Location: Great location, walking distance to Broadway/Times Square, MoMA, Central Park, Fifth Ave shopping etc.
Hotel is clean, staff are absolutely fantastic. The inclusive breakfast was great (yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, pastries etc) and we always found room to sit down even when it was busy. Also enjoyed the week day wine & cheese hour. The drawback was the room (standard king) was way smaller than we expected for the price but I guess that's NYC for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A little haven

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Club room
Cons: Do not do anything, you will spoil it
From the minute we arrived to the time we left the staff could not do enough to make your stay special. Room was excellent with an inner balcony. Will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen

Wonderful staff

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was all that we could have asked for. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and the room was wonderful. We live in a (tiny) apartment in NYC; so for us this room was a perfect size. We also had a balcony and it was joyous to sit outside and share a bottle of wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Utsunomiya, Japan

great location in Manhattan

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: update the room decor a little
Location: everything in Manhattan is nearby
We loved the ambiance and staff. I have stayed at their sister property (the Giraffe) and I prefer this hotel even better and the Giraffe is one of my favorites. The breakfast service was great as well as the wine and cheese at night.