Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west sussex

Great hotel, a few blocks from Grand Central.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Staff were so attentive and helpful, hailing us a cab by standing in the middle of 6th avenue was a sight to behold. All done with a smile on his face
Cons: A bit short on seating when everyone wants to breakfast at the same time, but no big deal as extra seating was brought in.
Location: Near to Grand Central station and subway. Easy to get around.
We arrived later than expected and were made so welcome, offered refreshments and pastries. The room on 11th floor was spacious and comfortable. It had everything we needed with very comfortable beds. Breakfast of fresh fruit,yogurt,pastries,bagels etc all very good as was the coffee. We were out all day but on return enjoyed the wine and cheese relaxing and listenening to the pianist. Nothing was too much trouble, will definately stay again. We checked out early returning for our luggage in the evening to be welcomed with a couple of glasses of prosecco before leaving for JFK. How thoughtful! We'll done Giraffe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South East England

Another Great Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: We loved everything
Location: Good, central location
We've stayed in the sister hotel Casablanca and thought we'd try another from the same group- it was just as good if not better! The room was really comfortable and a good size, but most of all the staff were just fantastic, genuinely friendly, helpful and welcoming. And free wine and cheese every evening served by a delightful host, we felt right at home! Thank you Giraffe staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Munich/San Francisco

Tolles Hotel - Nähe Grand Central Station

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Es ist keine Kette, dadurch einfach individueller; es gibt eine Dachterrase, die wir nicht genutzt haben (Winter!); im Sommer bestimmt toll.
Cons: Einfach so bleiben.
Location: Wenn Ihr abends ankommt: es gibt ein Restaurant im gleichen Gebäude, oder zwei Blöcke weiter (ca. 5 Minuten zu Fuß) das Les Halles (reservieren!)
Ein wunderbares Hotel (keine Kette), das ich bei jedem Besuch in NYC wieder wählen würde: kleines Frühstück und Wein& Käse (am Abend) sind inkludiert. Es gab immer Wasser auf dem Zimmer. Das Hotel liegt ganz in der Nähe einer Subway Station (von dort zwei Stationen zu Grand Central). If you are American: I was there with an American, she loved this place, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Great stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
I stayed here for my daughters 21st birthday & we were both extremely happy. The staff are very helpful & obliging, the complementary breakfast was a welcome bonus - always fresh & plenty of choice. The 'cheese & wine' hours were a fab addition for either a long day pick me up or before an evening activity. Our room was large & clean & the hotel is in a nice area with easy walking access to local sights & the subway. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & is suitable for families, couples & business. Thank you Hotel Giraffe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool, UK

Ideal location for a city break

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Lovely complimentary cheese and wine but it would be good if a few soft drinks were available for children. Only a minor quibble though.
Location: Central location near to the subway. Plenty of local eateries and bars. Perfect!
Great hotel with extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Perfect hotel for a stay in New York.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the comfort of the room.
Cons: Our only quibble was that the bed was a bit firm, but there is an option to have a topper so it's not a problem. Others may like a firmer bed.
Location: Close to the tube stations between Central Park and Downtown. You can get to The theatre district and Grand Central in about half an hour walking.
We were delighted to stay here on our first trip to New York. We were welcomed enthusiastically and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. The room was large and comfortable, although we did take up the option of a memory foam topper on the bed. We had plenty of choice for breakfast and took advantage of complimentary drink and nibbles in the afternoon, but being able to relax with a tea or coffee at any time made for a relaxing break. The hotel is in a great position to reach all the sights, close to the tube but also within walking distance of Times Square and Grand Central. You would not be disappointed if you want a great stay in an informal but attentive atmosphere. We'd never look to go elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Just wonderful!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
A wonderful hotel, with wonderful, helpful staff. The concierges couldn't be more helpful and Gaby's a star during cheese & wine evening, remembering everyone's tipple and keeping the prosecco topped up. Lovely complementary breakfast served over a few hours to suit early risers or late starts. For me there were only 2 drawbacks - both of which were really out of the hotels control: there is lots of traffic noise (we were on the 6th floor), but the earplugs offered at reception did help. Secondly, we had a beautiful suite with a master bedroom and pull out double for our teenage daughters; the bathroom however, is off the living room, and if, like me, you need to use it during the night, the massive glass door ensures the light wakes everyone in the suite. I'm not a great lover of glass bathroom doors anyway - especially with the toilet directly facing it - and the glass is so large it wasn't possible to hang a dressing gown over it for a little more privacy/light exclusion. However it didn't spoil our holiday, and we would highly recommend this lovely hotel and will definitely return ourselves, we hope!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location , facilities , staff , room , everything !
The hotel was a real gem , great location , wonderful helpful staff , great facilities , and little extras that really ,made our honeymoon very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Our family of four (inc 11 and 13 yr old) had a great time. The hotel is well located for everything while being an oasis of calm after the hustle and bustle of sightseeing in the city the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Early evening prosecco and snacks is a very thoughtful and welcome idea while you catch your breath before going out again. We would definitely stay here if we come back to New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom monterey bay, ca

Good hotel in a great city

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Read reviews online. Matched all expectations. Gabriella in hospitality was gracious and accommodating. Front desk staff informative. Overall a great experience. Looking forward to staying in a Library Collection hotel again