Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Great stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
I stayed here for my daughters 21st birthday & we were both extremely happy. The staff are very helpful & obliging, the complementary breakfast was a welcome bonus - always fresh & plenty of choice. The 'cheese & wine' hours were a fab addition for either a long day pick me up or before an evening activity. Our room was large & clean & the hotel is in a nice area with easy walking access to local sights & the subway. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & is suitable for families, couples & business. Thank you Hotel Giraffe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool, UK

Ideal location for a city break

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Lovely complimentary cheese and wine but it would be good if a few soft drinks were available for children. Only a minor quibble though.
Location: Central location near to the subway. Plenty of local eateries and bars. Perfect!
Great hotel with extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Perfect hotel for a stay in New York.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the comfort of the room.
Cons: Our only quibble was that the bed was a bit firm, but there is an option to have a topper so it's not a problem. Others may like a firmer bed.
Location: Close to the tube stations between Central Park and Downtown. You can get to The theatre district and Grand Central in about half an hour walking.
We were delighted to stay here on our first trip to New York. We were welcomed enthusiastically and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. The room was large and comfortable, although we did take up the option of a memory foam topper on the bed. We had plenty of choice for breakfast and took advantage of complimentary drink and nibbles in the afternoon, but being able to relax with a tea or coffee at any time made for a relaxing break. The hotel is in a great position to reach all the sights, close to the tube but also within walking distance of Times Square and Grand Central. You would not be disappointed if you want a great stay in an informal but attentive atmosphere. We'd never look to go elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Just wonderful!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
A wonderful hotel, with wonderful, helpful staff. The concierges couldn't be more helpful and Gaby's a star during cheese & wine evening, remembering everyone's tipple and keeping the prosecco topped up. Lovely complementary breakfast served over a few hours to suit early risers or late starts. For me there were only 2 drawbacks - both of which were really out of the hotels control: there is lots of traffic noise (we were on the 6th floor), but the earplugs offered at reception did help. Secondly, we had a beautiful suite with a master bedroom and pull out double for our teenage daughters; the bathroom however, is off the living room, and if, like me, you need to use it during the night, the massive glass door ensures the light wakes everyone in the suite. I'm not a great lover of glass bathroom doors anyway - especially with the toilet directly facing it - and the glass is so large it wasn't possible to hang a dressing gown over it for a little more privacy/light exclusion. However it didn't spoil our holiday, and we would highly recommend this lovely hotel and will definitely return ourselves, we hope!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location , facilities , staff , room , everything !
The hotel was a real gem , great location , wonderful helpful staff , great facilities , and little extras that really ,made our honeymoon very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Our family of four (inc 11 and 13 yr old) had a great time. The hotel is well located for everything while being an oasis of calm after the hustle and bustle of sightseeing in the city the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Early evening prosecco and snacks is a very thoughtful and welcome idea while you catch your breath before going out again. We would definitely stay here if we come back to New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom monterey bay, ca

Good hotel in a great city

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Read reviews online. Matched all expectations. Gabriella in hospitality was gracious and accommodating. Front desk staff informative. Overall a great experience. Looking forward to staying in a Library Collection hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Excellent small hotel in mid Manhattan

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The staff are helpful and unobtrusive, the coffee/tea available at any time and a welcome complimentary drink in the early evening.
Cons: More information about the hotel itself should be available in the rooms.
Location: Good location, easy walk to places of interest, well placed for accessing subway.
We were very pleased with our daughter's choice of hotel: the facilities and staff were excellent and the hotel benefitted in being slightly away from the main tourist area. We would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Stylish hotel, strong on customer care

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: We loved the roof top bar and sitting area, an oasis of calm in the busy city. Tea, coffee and snacks throughout 24 hrs was most welcome.
Location: Washington and Union Squares
We chose this hotel for its midtown location and proximity to Union Square which has wonderful farmer's markets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Albans UK

Great Hotel on Park Avenue South

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, we'll maintained and nicely situated for the NY sights.
Just returned from a 5 day break at the Giraffe. Good size room for New York, excellent bathroom. Staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive.