Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Beautiful rm. Great accommendations. 5 star staff!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Loved the rm, bedding, bathroom, balcony. The lobby w/ it's continental breakfast, wine and cheese and dessert made you feel so comfy and @ home. The patio upstairs was lovely too. Will definitely recommend and stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Close to many area attractions- quick cab rides. Know your cross streets though as many cab drivers were not familiar with this Hotel
I never would have known about this gem of a Hotel but a friend had stayed and recommended it to me. We loved it! The staff were so courteous and the hotel absolutely incredible. We had a King suite which included a step-out balcony. I have recommended this hotel to everyone I talk to as it only added to our wonderful trip to NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

2 nights

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Easy going, polite and friendly staff
Cons: Cannot think of anything but if I was picky I would have liked a comfortable breakfast e.g. chair and table where I did not have to stoop, but was ok.
Location: Good location we like walking so broadway was about 20 mins walk fine for us. And area not to touristy.
Found the hotel very good and thought the cheese and wine evening an excellent idea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

The entire staff made us feel right at home

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Very nice hotel in a great location. We appreciated the spacious room ( for NY). Room had a decent view of Madison Sq Park about a block away. We look forward to staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paul from NC

Weekend getaway

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Loved everything about the Giraffe. Staff were amazing, beds and pillows really comfortable, great breakfast, cheese and wine in the evenings. Loved the location, just a couple of blocks from the nearest subway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Manchester, UK

Great hotel, will go back

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Good location, clean, safe, friendly, 24hr tea & coffee in lobby, 5pm drinks & nibbles, continental breakfast & most of all the staff were brilliant.
Cons: Bathrooms have a fluted glass door which does not suit us older travellers who their privacy
Location: 2 blocks from subway 6. 10 minutes walk from Union Square. Good deli for sandwiches 3 door up. 1 block to Madison Square park for kids playground.
We had 4 rooms booked for a wedding with an age range from baby to grandparents. Everyone loved the Giraffe. Our room was a double with balcony and was a reasonable size for 2 people and the beds were comfy. The bathroom had a good shower. WiFi was free & fast. There is a nice roof terrace which tends to get booked by private parties. Umbrellas were provided when it rained - nice touch. Good jazz pianist one evening in the lobby. The staff made us feel really welcome & the whole stay was comfortable & relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay at the Giraffe!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The service, the location, the staff, the breakfast was great and the wine and cheese every night in the lobby is great.
Cons: I think service can always be improved, not all the staff was versed with how to get to certain parts of NY, but I know how huge it is. Room upgrade?
Location: Close to shopping, walked to Grand Central Stn, Times Sq, Gramercy, West Village, SOHO, Little Italy. Great restaurants, loved Waverly Inn the best
Loved our stay here, the location was perfect, not too close to Times Square, but close enough to walk or take the subway, or cab wherever in Manhattan. The staff was great, J.R., Jose, Mike, Gabby. Special thanks to Mike doing something special to help us celebrate a special birthday and 20 yr Anniversary. We also needed a doctor while we were there, and they helped us make that process as painless as possible. Great service, the turndown service is lovely, would definitely stay here again. The breakfast in the morning is good, the wine and cheese in the lobby in the evening is a perfect way to start your evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great first time stay in NYC

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Great central location with friendly staff. Good boutique hotel experience with large and well laid out comfortable room. Wine and cheese in afternoon was welcome break after busy day sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nina

Loved it!!

Posted May 21, 2014
I requested an empty fridge and it was there immediately. Service was always with a smile. The price was a splurge for us, so that is the only thing that would stop me from coming back. Breakfast was wonderful and that saved us $ too. Free wifi in the rooms was great too. Balcony was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dan from cincinnati

Nice hotel, great location, & awesome staff.

Posted May 20, 2014
We spent three nights and will return on future NYC trips.