Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice accommodations; very clean

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Close to nice restaurants
Very nice staff, very clean room; really nice happy hour; very good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA and Norway

Wonderful hotel in Manhattan

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cons: Doorman (men) could be a bit better about the opening the door.
Hotel Giraffe was great for our group consisting of 4 adults and 2 teenage girls. While not as hip as some other hotels. The location, rooms, service and staff was excellent, the location was particularly appropriate for teenagers and adults not used to NYC as one could walk out of the hotel without being immediately subjected to mass tourist mecca. Would def. stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Suprising and wonderful.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Wine and cheese reception every night. Free wi-fi. Attentive bell service. Silly to say but I loved the beautiful 1/2 fluted glass doors in my room.
Expected a small room with funky modern appointments. Instead a comfortable room with a working balcony; chairs, plants. But the service was the best. I called down for a carafe of hot water for my tea one night and the next day I found a tea maker with assorted teas and condiments in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Fantastic boutique hotel in Flatiron

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast and happy hour in lobby.
Cons: Room service is limited.
Location: Was in NY on business and the hotel is conveniently located to office and lots to do at night.
My first stay. The staff was very inviting and the room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, MI

Great location - perfect for a weekend getaway

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: rooms, staff, food and wine, location
Location: museums, walk to the park, restaurants (we went to Ilili - great food!)
Hotel Giraffe was excellent. My boyfriend and I stayed here over the weekend and I have absolutely no complaints. The staff was helpful (especially Gabi! She was so friendly!), the rooms were a good size, and the location was perfect for what we wanted -- something not right in Times Square, but still within walking distance/a subway ride/$10 cab ride. We stayed on the second floor and had absolutely no issue with outside noise from the street below. I also appreciated the FREE bottled water in our room...which is a rarity now a days. The cheese and crackers & wine social hour was so nice. It saved us a lot of money on cocktail hour and made our visit really special. the breakfast was also great - lattes in addition to coffee! I would recommend this hotel to anyone! It was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caracas

Good option of Flatiron ;excellent staff

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Homey feeling ,Courtesy staff , the piano and the hors de Ouvres at evening..
Cons: The room sizes
Location: The location is just perfect if you like to be closed ro Flatiron district and Gramercy...Excellent restaurant options nearby.
I stayed along to my wife and our teenager daughter. Rooms although very clean are a bit small for a group of three. Staff is exceptional. My wife left behind her her watch and he recalled when at the airport. i ┬┤ve called to the hotel and the checked the room and return the watch in perfect conditions......Very honest and serious people working at the hotel. Only for this reason I will come back...The rest is very nice and comfy...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Scotish Highlands

Excellent Hotel for New York Visit

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Good sized rooms, excellent staff and good location.
Cons: What is offered is ideal for a visitor visiting NY for sightseeing.
Location: Central location with good subway connection to all areas and within easy walking distance of Times Square and Union Square.
This hotel is well situated with good size rooms for New York but does have limited facilities. If you are going to NY for the purpose of visiting the main attractions then this is ideal. Every evening between 5 & 8 there is wine available foc in the lounge but there is no bar facility outside these hours other than a limited room service. Spent 6 days and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Really nice hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Everything! See above.
Cons: Duvet on the bed was a bit thin for me so would have liked a blanket available in the room? But the heating was good so you could soon warm the room
Location: We were visiting family in Brooklyn so didn't look around the area but it's a good location and lots of subway stops close by
Really good location, incredibly quiet for a New York hotel, great staff, great room and facilities, lovely choice for breakfast and amazing to have it included in the price. Lovely touch to have wine and cheese reception included also, really nice. Loads of extras available from reception too ie tea and coffee maker, foam bed topper, special pillows etc. We loved it and can't find any fault with it at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire, UK

Will stay again

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The wine and cheese is such an excellent touch, as is the cold water and coffees and fruit available 24 hours a day.
Cons: Maybe an extra seat or two for breakfast but that's only a minor thing.
Location: We walked everywhere from the Staten Island Ferry to Central Park, so the location is superb.
We like to try different hotels but Giraffe was so good, we couldn't stay anywhere else in the future. I could end the review there but I would like to give a special mention to the staff, really helpful. It's not a British thing to ask for recommendations or directions but do it, they know what they're talking about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, new york

Great staff

Posted Dec 24, 2014
I had a great time. In fact, we chose to extend our stay an extra night! The staff was accommodating, the beds were beyond comfortable and the room service was decent.