Ratings based on 1,819 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great location!! Right in times Square!!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The location! It was very close to everything!!
Cons: The room was quite dark. With little to no natural light, you really need more than 1 lamp in the room.
Location: Times square, Broadway, Central Park, a lot of restaurants, the subway, Good Morning America.
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mela. When we first checked in our room was very small with only a double bed! Our reservation was for a queen bed, so we talked to the front desk and they quickly got us a very nice, much larger room with a king size bed! The bed and pillows were very comfortable and our room was cleaned and freshened up everyday! For being in Times Square it was very quiet! The staff is very nice and accommodating. We were very close to everything and for the most part, could walk everywhere we wanted to go, or take the subway, which was also very close by. Our room had no view, which wasn't a big deal, but there was no natural light and only 1 lamp in the room so it was kind of dark. If we planned on spending a lot of time in the room, I probably would have asked for more lighting. We were there for 5 nights and it was a great place to stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It is a great little boutique hotel right by time square. The room was quiet which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Very nice hotel half a block away from Time Square

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Half-a-block away from Time Square. We were able to see Neil Patrick Harris since he was presenting his show in the theater infront of the hotel.
I really recommend this hotel, very nice, excellent service, rooms are very comfortable and you are walks away from Time Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a great location, and so relatively cheap!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Sometimes I have to stay overnight after a job in Times Square, and this had a good price paired with good reviews, and it was all good. I like these kind of hotels that seem to be in converted residential or office buildings; they're more interesting then your regular old hotels that have always been such.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs England

Perfect Holiday through out.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Visited the the hotel for my 50th birthday along with my husband, it was faultless. Spotless bedroom and bathroom, friendly staff, would visit again.
Location: The Saju restaurant serves very tasty breakfast and main meals. Also the the Heartland Brewery has the best steak I have tasted.
New York Pass is a must. It saved us alot of money and you don't have to queue, you can walk straight in. New Yorkers are very friendly and can't do enough to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: Breakfast at the cafe opposite - great food, reasonable prices. Hop on hop off night bus tour gives spectacular view of the city from Manhatten Bridge
Hotel Mela is just 5 minutes walk from Times Square. Reception staff were really polite & friendly. We had 2 deluxe rooms on the 9th floor. Plenty of space, really quiet. This hotel is perfect for visiting the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huber Heights Ohio

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: We liked the location the best.
The location of this hotel was perfect. It was close enough to times square and still a little bit away from it. We were within walking distance to everything. The actual room was very clean but very small. We spent 5 days and 4 nights there. We could have used a chair in the room but I really don't think there would be any place to put a chair because the room was so small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again but maybe if I had a shorter stay because we are not use to living in such cramped conditions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite place right next to Times Square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location, reno both inside the room and the lobby, easy climate control
Cons: n/a
Location: theater, French bistro
I was suprised how quite my room was, considering it was 3 min walk to the theater. Nicely renovated bathroom, comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel just off Times Square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I have just returned from my first visit to New York with my husband and stayed at the Mela Hotel. I was a bit apprehensive about going as I have restricted mobility due to arthritis and everyone told me that I would need to do lots of walking. I chose this hotel because of its location West 44th St and its proximity to Times Square and its many restaurants,shops and bars also the many taxis and hop on hop off buses passing by. It did not let me down the location is brilliant and in the week i was there I saw all the major attractions.Although I did not request a disabled room I was allocated one presumably because I had requested that I needed a walk in shower due to painful arthritis and my use of crutches. The room was on the third floor and was wonderful it had no view other then a brick wall but I viewed this as an advantage as we could hear a pin drop at nights despite being so close to the noisy nightlife of Times Square.Once the curtains were closed the wall was forgotten and the room was larger then expected and was a superior Queen bed.The maids kept the room clean and tidy and topped up the free tea and coffee facility daily. Everyone was so helpful from the reception staff to the lovely guy who carried our bags up to our room and offered to get us ice from another floor if we ever needed it the weather was very humid. I would highly recommend this hotel based on the experience my husband and I had. If we return to NYC I would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great small hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The Mela has grab rooms with upscale decor and lots of space. The staff was very helpful-recommending one of the finest meals I have ever had. It was a great stay.