Ratings based on 1,811 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huber Heights Ohio

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: We liked the location the best.
The location of this hotel was perfect. It was close enough to times square and still a little bit away from it. We were within walking distance to everything. The actual room was very clean but very small. We spent 5 days and 4 nights there. We could have used a chair in the room but I really don't think there would be any place to put a chair because the room was so small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again but maybe if I had a shorter stay because we are not use to living in such cramped conditions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great small hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The Mela has grab rooms with upscale decor and lots of space. The staff was very helpful-recommending one of the finest meals I have ever had. It was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Coffee in the Am.
Location: Location was close to points of interest and entertainment.
On arrival we were greeted by a courteous and proficient staff who answered all questions with suggestions and tips of the surrounding area. The room was very clean and bright.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from XCanada

Room too small you could not even walk around bed

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location was very central
Cons: The size of a supposedly Queen size room
Location: Near Times Square and Theatres
Staff polite and good location. Room was terrible - So small you could not access the bed from both sides. No curtains that would pull just dress curtains which looked really dirty and looking out on to multiple fire escapes. Would not recommend it. We paid close to $300 per night for us and two visitors for two nights and feel we were jibbed. No restaurant in hotel. It is adjacent outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros - Loved the location! Yes, the room was small, but it was very nice and the bathroom was bigger than I ever imagined! Con(not really) tiny elevators & the air conditioner is loud (but it was cold!!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Great location to time square

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: everything went well and staff very friendly
Cons: carpets were needing a cleaning
Location: close to everything , time square rockfellar centre, shopping shows, walking distance to central park
I would recommend this hotel to everyone it just has a nice location to everything. We were very pleased and the reviews we read about this hotel having a overall rating as very good are very true . Rooms are small but, we were never in the room for any length of time to make this a issue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay at Mela

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Perfect hotel in New York!!! Clean, quiet, close to everything and very accommodating staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I had a great stay in this hotel and will definitely come back next time. The staff here are super friendly and provided warm service. Highly recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location. Tiny rooms

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Great location. Close to many Metro stations and shopping.
Cons: Seemed odd that the staff wouldn't verify the correct room before issuing keys and sending me off.
Location: Great location, right off Times Square. Tiny rooms.
Paid for a Queen Superior room on Expedia. Was initially given a room with a full bed. Had to go back down and get that fixed. Not sure I ended up in a "Superior" room, but I did get a queen bed. The floor was noisy, people in the room next to me seemed to always get back at 4:00 or 5:00 in the morning. The elevators are tiny, and slow during peek times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We stayed for 2 nights, very close to everything. GMA on the end of block, Hedwig & the angry inch across the street. Most plays very close, Times Square 2 blocks away. The Bistro was excellent.