Ratings based on 1,816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a great location, and so relatively cheap!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Sometimes I have to stay overnight after a job in Times Square, and this had a good price paired with good reviews, and it was all good. I like these kind of hotels that seem to be in converted residential or office buildings; they're more interesting then your regular old hotels that have always been such.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs England

Perfect Holiday through out.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Visited the the hotel for my 50th birthday along with my husband, it was faultless. Spotless bedroom and bathroom, friendly staff, would visit again.
Location: The Saju restaurant serves very tasty breakfast and main meals. Also the the Heartland Brewery has the best steak I have tasted.
New York Pass is a must. It saved us alot of money and you don't have to queue, you can walk straight in. New Yorkers are very friendly and can't do enough to help you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: Breakfast at the cafe opposite - great food, reasonable prices. Hop on hop off night bus tour gives spectacular view of the city from Manhatten Bridge
Hotel Mela is just 5 minutes walk from Times Square. Reception staff were really polite & friendly. We had 2 deluxe rooms on the 9th floor. Plenty of space, really quiet. This hotel is perfect for visiting the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huber Heights Ohio

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: We liked the location the best.
The location of this hotel was perfect. It was close enough to times square and still a little bit away from it. We were within walking distance to everything. The actual room was very clean but very small. We spent 5 days and 4 nights there. We could have used a chair in the room but I really don't think there would be any place to put a chair because the room was so small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again but maybe if I had a shorter stay because we are not use to living in such cramped conditions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite place right next to Times Square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location, reno both inside the room and the lobby, easy climate control
Cons: n/a
Location: theater, French bistro
I was suprised how quite my room was, considering it was 3 min walk to the theater. Nicely renovated bathroom, comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel just off Times Square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I have just returned from my first visit to New York with my husband and stayed at the Mela Hotel. I was a bit apprehensive about going as I have restricted mobility due to arthritis and everyone told me that I would need to do lots of walking. I chose this hotel because of its location West 44th St and its proximity to Times Square and its many restaurants,shops and bars also the many taxis and hop on hop off buses passing by. It did not let me down the location is brilliant and in the week i was there I saw all the major attractions.Although I did not request a disabled room I was allocated one presumably because I had requested that I needed a walk in shower due to painful arthritis and my use of crutches. The room was on the third floor and was wonderful it had no view other then a brick wall but I viewed this as an advantage as we could hear a pin drop at nights despite being so close to the noisy nightlife of Times Square.Once the curtains were closed the wall was forgotten and the room was larger then expected and was a superior Queen bed.The maids kept the room clean and tidy and topped up the free tea and coffee facility daily. Everyone was so helpful from the reception staff to the lovely guy who carried our bags up to our room and offered to get us ice from another floor if we ever needed it the weather was very humid. I would highly recommend this hotel based on the experience my husband and I had. If we return to NYC I would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great small hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The Mela has grab rooms with upscale decor and lots of space. The staff was very helpful-recommending one of the finest meals I have ever had. It was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Coffee in the Am.
Location: Location was close to points of interest and entertainment.
On arrival we were greeted by a courteous and proficient staff who answered all questions with suggestions and tips of the surrounding area. The room was very clean and bright.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from XCanada

Room too small you could not even walk around bed

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location was very central
Cons: The size of a supposedly Queen size room
Location: Near Times Square and Theatres
Staff polite and good location. Room was terrible - So small you could not access the bed from both sides. No curtains that would pull just dress curtains which looked really dirty and looking out on to multiple fire escapes. Would not recommend it. We paid close to $300 per night for us and two visitors for two nights and feel we were jibbed. No restaurant in hotel. It is adjacent outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros - Loved the location! Yes, the room was small, but it was very nice and the bathroom was bigger than I ever imagined! Con(not really) tiny elevators & the air conditioner is loud (but it was cold!!)