Ratings based on 1,982 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Small hotel convenient to Times Square

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Nice & small staff very helpful, great area
Cons: Restrooms on ground floor
Location: Super location near Times Square and subway and in theatre district
Enjoyable, bistro next door excellent, close to action and able to walk to main tourist areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Time Square location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The hotel's staffs and great location
Cons: Its good as it be
Location: Time square location, shopping centre, close to bryant park and fews block away from central park, empire state building sightseeing. Also ktown
Great location which close to time square, a few blocks away from central park, Bryant Park and Empire State Building. Which must and great for sightseeing. The hotel's staffs are really nice and kind, the room was a bit small, but that's not a big deal. Overall it was good and i had great time there. Definately come back there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel 1/2 block from Times Square

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: WIFI, help was not available for restaurant information most nights. No doorman help to get a taxi
Great location, close to theaters, restaurants, subways. Wifi but not always working good, our plan thru expedia did not offer a breakfast package, that some had at the adjoining restaurant, which was very good French and we had both breakfast and a dinner during our stay, but that forced us to try others - 123 across the street was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Broadway Trip

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Overall, the hotel was good. Knowing that the hotel's around the Broadway area is small regarding room size, but Hotel Mela served the needs for my trip. The staff was very helpful and nice. Would go back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Nice hotel. Close to Times Square.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Initial room was really small but we got upgraded to a bigger room. Stay was pleasant although needed housekeeping every day as the shower would over flood into the bathroom. Not the best shower set up but workable. Otherwise staff and facilities were great. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Close to the Center of Action

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel was close to everything and as a boutique hotel it was friendlier.
Cons: Perhaps more explanations about the breakfast special pk. with the restaurant next door.
Location: Time Square, Bryant Park, 5th Avenue, Theatre, Central Park, Rockefeller Centre, Empire State Building, Sub Ways, Great Location
Rooms are reminiscent of hotel rooms in Europe...small but everything is there. Hotel staff were very good and quite professional. Provided us with an umbrella the day it rained. About half a block to Times Square it is less expensive than others around so you should not expect luxury for the price you pay but it was close to all the action ...1.5 blocks to see Les Miz, 2.5 blocks to the eateries of 9th Avenue, even walking distance to Central Park. Suggestion....make sure you ask for a room with a view of the street...ours was a view of a ten story light shaft equipped with pigeon poop and garbage. Hotel is older but has and is being renovated. What we paid for four nights for a King Bed (that was pretty comfortable) was reasonable for what we got. I was happy with the room for the rate I paid compared to the big fancy named hotels about....found it friendlier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel in great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location and cleaniness
Location: Time Sq and theater district right there. Everything you need in walking distance.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at hotel Mela. The staff was very nice and helpful. We plan on staying there again in the next two months,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel very close to Times Square.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: carpet is starting to wear
Location: Great location very close to Times Square
Hotel room was very small as expected, but we had a comfortable stay. Bathroom was small, but nice and clean. Room was facing into an internal court yard area, which meant it was very quiet, despite being so close to a noisy Times Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Perfect location, nice and quiet

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything, would definitely go back.
Location: Great location in Times Square, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Just around the corner from Bryant Park, a great place to see, very pretty.
We were very impressed with the total experience from the room, staff, and location. The staff were always willing to offer their assistance for all our needs, and all the staff were extremely polite. The location was close to everything, and made it a central location to most of the places we wanted to visit while in NY. We had a queen size bed and the room was bigger than I thought it would be, plenty of room for two people. The room was cleaned daily, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Very friendly place to stay.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Wi fi in 408 not working.
Location: Times Square and broadway just outside.
Everything about my stay was perfect with the exception of wifi not working. Twice I asked for it be resolved and only once was it. In the age of apps and laptops thus should not have been an issue. People who work there are lovely though.