Ratings based on 1,203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Good location. Good price. Good room.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Convenient location. Old A/C unit in window with unfinished plywood around it. Nice view of a brick wall through part of window not covered by plywood. On up side...clean room, old A/C unit worked, good price, convenient location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: The room cleaniness.
I did not like my room. It was rather small and smelled bad. The room size, however was not my issue, my concern was the room smell. The staff was friendly and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Posted Aug 8, 2014
This small hotel was in a wonderful part of town with a lot of activity going on. The staff was wonderful and very friendly and they told us of a great Italian restaurant just a block or 2 away. We also enjoyed the architecture of the 100 yr old building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Archaic hotel on Broadway

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Leaving it!.
Cons: Complete renovation!
Location: On Broadway, but the part that has nothing interesting, not even a souvenir shop.
Hotel Newton is so archaic that you forget this is 2014 and step into a 1940's atmosphere without the original charm. The room is an overpriced shoebox with insufficient ventilation or air conditioning. The corridors to the rooms have a series of heavy old double doors that make hauling luggage impossible and the building is smelly.A key is required for the public restroom. There are no eating facilities for practical use such as breakfast. There is a well stocked pharmacy store to purchase frozen breakfast bowls down the street!. There is no parking facility except a couple of extremely expensive garages many blocks away. Even the man at the reception wished he was in London instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Satisfied Customer

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The old classy quaint feel to it
Cons: I didn't particularly care for the shared bathroom on the floor however when I checked in there weren't many occupants on my floor. So it was ok
Location: Lots of eateries and shops nearby. Subway was located right across the street which was a great feature for me being a former NY resident.
I was very surprised and pleased with the hotel. Staff was very friendly. I have every intention to stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Spotless, convenient, inexpensive, welcoming.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Spotless throughout, including the shared bath. Convenient location. Inexpensive. Staff are welcoming and extremely helpful.
Cons: Window air conditioner could be a little quieter.
Location: Literally 5 doors south of the 96th Street station on the 1-2-3 line. Walking distance to Central Park West. 4 blocks to the nearest Whole Foods.
Hotel Newton is literally 5 doors south of the 96th St station on the 1-2-3 line. The canopy is visible from the subway exit. The staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful. Our room was spotless, as was the shared bathroom. The Hotel is walking distance to Central Park West. There's a Whole Foods store about 4 blocks away. Would definitely recommend Hotel Newton to anyone. Would definitely use Hotel Newton if/when we return to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CNY

Easy location, good for easy travel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Very close to the subway, beautiful neighborhood with a stores and restaurants within one block. Short walk to Central Park, and stored our bags for a day (for a small, rather reasonable fee.) This hotel had everything we needed for a quaint overnight in Manhattan. Only complaint is the room was terribly warm, even with the window AC unit. Rooms did have a small fridge and microwave, and we payed for the solo bathroom which was worthwhile for our needs. Definitely will stay again if looking for a room in Manhattan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Absolutely love it, very confortable and clean. Everything works in the rooms. Would stay over and over AGAIN❤️❤️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tasmania, Australia

Good location and value for money

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Big lettering on front of bldg made it easy to locate. Staff were friendly; subway close by; easy walking to main attractions ie Central Park
Cons: Room size is something that cannot be changed but room decor could be updated to reflect a more boutique style.
Location: Broadway is slower paced than Downtown. Walking is optional if fit. Central & Riverside Parks as well as Museum of Natural History. Eateries all close
I stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel to be good value for money. On arrival I was given the choice to change my room from a shared bathroom to a room with private bathroom for no change of rate, although room would be smaller. Room was definitely small! but having a private bathroom was a luxury that was worth the trade off. Hotel has a cosy nostalgic feel. Elevator was extremely slow but proved a good conversation starter with other hotel guests - Stairs were no problem if staying on lower floors. Staff were kind and provided good service. If you are prepared to overlook the outdated furnishings in rooms and accept that Broadway area is not a cheap place to stay, then you will not be disappointed. Room has a mini fridge; microwave; flat screen TV and a coffee maker that was easy to operate Fridge good to have if only to store fresh milk and a few perishable things. Bathroom was clean but small. There is no outlook from small window but I did not spend much time in room. Good eateries close by. Starbucks seems to dominate the coffee scene with free WiFi - only sorry I didn't get a chance to eat at the famous Manhattan Diner next door (will next time) - did try the Chinese/Asian restaurant two doors away and very good. Hotel room was quiet and single bed was comfortable - this doubled as bed and couch but if only using room to sleep and rest up then it is more than adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel, close to subway

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Fair rates for the quality of the room, proximity to the subway
Cons: A renovation on the elevator would be great.
Location: Located a few blocks from Central Park, which we walked through to get to the Metropolitan. Close to the subway.
I traveled to New York on scholarship to visit the Metropolitan Museum. On the limited budget I was given by my school and based on online reviews, Hotel Newton seemed to be decently priced without being poor quality. Once I arrived, I was not disappointed! The staff is friendly, the hotel is beautiful, clean, and quiet, and it is less than a block away from the nearest subway station. If I need to stay in Upper Manhattan again, I will definitely choose Hotel Newton.