Ratings based on 1,264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Central location, convenient to transportation

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Good location. I feel safe there.
Cons: Looks like the carpet could use an upgrade. The rooms are small - but that's New York.
Location: Subway or bus right outside the door. Great little diner next door. Other restaurants within walking distance. Central Park a few blocks away.
We have stayed at the Newton many, many times. We consider it "our place" in New York. The staff is amazing and the location is very convenient to everything. The rooms are small but nice, just what you would expect in Manhattan. We feel safe and cared for. We get our Metro pass and have easy access whether we are going to spend some time in Central Park or go downtown to the theater. Lots of good restaurants around too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good price for the room

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed. Quiet at night. Helpful staff.
Cons: Would be nice to have wifi included.
Location: Good location. Subway entrance right outside, walking distance to Central Park, plenty of restaurants on Broadway.
I was looking for a last minute deal for a hotel in New York and everywhere was ridiculously expensive, especially if you want an en suite. This was on the cheaper end so I was a bit wary, but the bed was huge and really comfy. Nice big tv, power shower and bath tub. No breakfast from the hotel, and there was a charge for $5 a day to use the WiFi but it was worth it as it was still a lot cheaper than other places, and there were plenty of places on Broadway to eat - there is an all day diner pretty much opposite where you can get a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom grosse Pointe

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Particularly friendly and helpful staff. My wife and l have stayed several times and will continue to do so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Smallish room, very clean, but heating could not be adjusted and it was a bit cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast

Great little hotel near 96th St Subway

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The location and quaint charm
Cons: A wash basin in the room would have been good.
Location: Great for access to parks, American Natural History museum and express subway to Times Sq 42nd St took only a few minutes
This is a great hotel in an excellent location nearby the 96th St subway, just 2 blocks from Riverside park and the Hudson, and 3 blocks from Central Park. The Manhattan Diner next door does spectacular breakfast menu and is very reasonably priced As seems to be common practice in lots of NY hotels, within our price range we had to share a bathroom but this wasn't a huge hassle and standards of cleanliness were very good. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for inexpensive and cheerful - does what is says on the label, and has no pretensions. Very enjoyable stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Fe

Stay here if you want something just OK & cheap

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, store next door, pleasant staff
Cons: Cleanliness, plus time for general re-do
There's nothing terrible about this hotel, but there's nothing very good either. For heaven's sake, don't let anything fall behind the dresser, because then you have to move it, and years of m&ms, paperclips, pills and just plain filth will be disclosed. Yuck! It's all just worn out. But there's a store next door, which is convenient, and the people are nice, the sheets are clean and there is a coffeemaker. And I would recommend it to a nonfussy male friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western Australia

Good location on Broadway

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Attractive small hotel in good location on Broadway in Upper Manhattan, right next to subway and close to Central Park. Residential neighbourhood with good facilities. Manhattan Diner next door provided great meals at good prices. Newton Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Room comfortable, clean and fresh. Although we used a shared bathroom, it was beautifullly tiled and well equipped even though small. Would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, Ireland

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Really nice hotel, room was great, fridge, microwave, ensuite all great. Only 1 block from the 96th street subway station which was also great. The big problem with this hotel is no free WiFi. I dont understand why after paying hundreds of dollars for accommodation, they charge 4.95 per 24hrs access. Really mean and it just screws the customer out of more money. Worse still is the 24hr period for WiFi only runs noon-noon so you cannot purchase WiFi before noon otherwise you'll be cut-off and have to pay again after noon. Also the WiFi that's supposed to work in the rooms does not because the signal is too weak. I had to sit down in the lobby on my own to use the internet. The internet situation is the one big let down for this hotel. It's 2014, guest Internet access should be as standard as a tv in the room these days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Shame about the WiFi

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Location: Location wise, the hotel was in an excellent place right across from the subway (1,2 and 3) this line will take you straight to time square.
So we got there and were told straight away that there was a problem with our room (a leak), we were asked nicely if we would consider a smaller room for the night and be offered an upgrade for the rest of our stay, we said ok and were given a single room and a camp bed for the 3 of us, (we had booked into a junior suite). The next day we were moved to a junior suite...not an upgrade but it was fine...only there was a strong smell of urine coming from one corner (yuk). We complained the next morning and were moved again to what I was told was another junior suite, it was bigger and I subsequently found out it was a deluxe queen. The beds weren't as comfortable but we were happy enough. The main problem was WiFi access... We knew we would have to pay and were fine with that... what they don't tell you is that each access code only works for two devices (3 of us) and the code works from 12 to 12...which means if you activate it at 10am for example, by the time you come back from your sightseeing etc, the code it finished and you have to buy another. It was very frustrating, especially if you are relying on the internet to make calls home. Despite all that, we were comfortable, the room was clean, the beds were big, and the staff addressed any issues we had fairly quickly. On the whole we only slept there as we were out from morning till very late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom neptune beach, fl

a week in the city

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: very helpful and friendly staff. i'll come back.
Cons: it is fine.
Location: near nice eateries, right across the street from major subway stop, good buses, a few blocks to central park and riverside park. right on broadway so
near nice eateries, right across the street from major subway stop, good buses, a few blocks to central park and riverside park. right on broadway so a good point to start hoofing south the times square or north to columbia and harlem.