Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Absolutely love it, very confortable and clean. Everything works in the rooms. Would stay over and over AGAIN❤️❤️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tasmania, Australia

Good location and value for money

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Big lettering on front of bldg made it easy to locate. Staff were friendly; subway close by; easy walking to main attractions ie Central Park
Cons: Room size is something that cannot be changed but room decor could be updated to reflect a more boutique style.
Location: Broadway is slower paced than Downtown. Walking is optional if fit. Central & Riverside Parks as well as Museum of Natural History. Eateries all close
I stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel to be good value for money. On arrival I was given the choice to change my room from a shared bathroom to a room with private bathroom for no change of rate, although room would be smaller. Room was definitely small! but having a private bathroom was a luxury that was worth the trade off. Hotel has a cosy nostalgic feel. Elevator was extremely slow but proved a good conversation starter with other hotel guests - Stairs were no problem if staying on lower floors. Staff were kind and provided good service. If you are prepared to overlook the outdated furnishings in rooms and accept that Broadway area is not a cheap place to stay, then you will not be disappointed. Room has a mini fridge; microwave; flat screen TV and a coffee maker that was easy to operate Fridge good to have if only to store fresh milk and a few perishable things. Bathroom was clean but small. There is no outlook from small window but I did not spend much time in room. Good eateries close by. Starbucks seems to dominate the coffee scene with free WiFi - only sorry I didn't get a chance to eat at the famous Manhattan Diner next door (will next time) - did try the Chinese/Asian restaurant two doors away and very good. Hotel room was quiet and single bed was comfortable - this doubled as bed and couch but if only using room to sleep and rest up then it is more than adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel, close to subway

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Fair rates for the quality of the room, proximity to the subway
Cons: A renovation on the elevator would be great.
Location: Located a few blocks from Central Park, which we walked through to get to the Metropolitan. Close to the subway.
I traveled to New York on scholarship to visit the Metropolitan Museum. On the limited budget I was given by my school and based on online reviews, Hotel Newton seemed to be decently priced without being poor quality. Once I arrived, I was not disappointed! The staff is friendly, the hotel is beautiful, clean, and quiet, and it is less than a block away from the nearest subway station. If I need to stay in Upper Manhattan again, I will definitely choose Hotel Newton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Extra pillows. Soft mattresses. Clean room/bathroom.
Cons: Small bathroom…but that's normal for NY! :) Hertz parking lot was full. Had to park a few blocks away. Expensive!
Location: On Broadway and close to Central Park. Lots of stores to see within walking distance. Restaurants close by.
If you're going to be touring NY this is a good hotel for a shower and a good night's sleep. We are a family of 4 and we all liked it. Room had 2 queen beds, air conditioning, TV and small fridge. Very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Newton

Posted Jul 15, 2014
correct placesmall room but hey, you're in manhattan !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel in convenient location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: WiFi access (unreliable in some rooms)
Quiet room, good facilities, pleasant location with easy access to subway. A good base for sightseeing in New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for transport

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Good basic hotel with excellent access to transport and lots of eating places round about. The rooms are small but have everything you need. The staff are helpful and courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice neighborhood, close to Central Park

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Neighborhood
Cons: A/c was loud
Location: Central Park. Great vegan restaurant nearby
I would choose a bigger room and keep the a/c on continuous as it was very noisy. Our bed was small and room was tiny but you get what you pay for. Pay a little more for a little more comfort...all in all Iit is in a great neighborhood, train right there, good places to est nearby and close to Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Posted Jul 12, 2014
I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Newton. It was priced right ($99 for my first night), located in a part of the city that was easy to access (by subway) with great restaurants in walking distance, and the hotel staff and accommodations that were warm, friendly and inviting. I would stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Ok Hotel but not in hot weather, ie in summer.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location, price, comfy beds
Cons: Air conditioning was too noisy to sleep at night. Quieter aircon or fans are essential to stay there in summer
Location: 95th St is close to Central Park and Subway. Need to get on top of subway system early to get max use of this location.
The Hotel Newton is located in a good part of Manhattan, is clean and is cheaper than most nearby Hotels, all good. But we couldn't sleep when there late June in summer weather. The air conditioner was incredibly noisy and there were no fans or windows to open. As a result our sleep was not good. If there in outside of summer it may be Ok if not using the aircon. A quiet fan would have been really great.