Ratings based on 8,605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Shining

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I think women's prison's are nicer. I stayed here because it was across the street from Penn Station and I didn't have time to travel to and from a hotel. The lobby isn't bad but as soon as you walk into the elevators your start to get this creepy feeling and literally you feel gross standing there. The door to my room looked like it was an old refrigerator door from the 1980's and had somehow survived thousands of storms. The room was horrid. The beds hard, the pillows hard and flat. I couldn't close the window (which also did not have a screen) so all the cold air from the AC was blowing out the window. Ehh I can't even write anymore because I feel gross talking about it... The Holiday Inn Express is a short walk and MUCH better for the same price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, comfy room, horrible wait 4 checkin

Posted Jun 29, 2014
50 min line to check in, very inefficient and disappointing. Also watch your bags in the lobby. I watched someone walk in off the street and take a bag off a luggage cart and walk right out.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's the location

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Location is perfect for all activities. Lobby looks nice at first glance-rest of hotel is very dated. There is only one flat pillow on bed, couldn't control air pressure. On the 15th floor & had a large room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Close too city penn station

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Very poorly bad rom very bad water water running all night not very clean
1 out of 5
by DG

Only if Expedia had a 0 Star rating!!!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: EVERYTHING!
Location: Close to mass transit.
Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Beyond the absurd early checkin policy of charging $70 USD, the front desk were incredibly rude. More interested in talking to each other than taking care of a client. Rooms are a dump!!!! Booked a "superior room" on Expedia and there's nothing superior about it. My friends room had remnants of Chinese chalk (used for roaches), carpers are torn, afraid to touch anything. A hostel would have been better. If you are on a tight budget there are way better choices than this dump!!! The only positive was the pleasure of leaving!!! Must avoid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to amenities, Times Square etc

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Close to all places wanted to visit
Cons: Decor could be updated.
Location: Great location. Near MSQ, Macys, TImes square great hotel location
Fifth time we have stayed here, very helpful staff, it may not be the flashiest of hotels but would recommend it to people for a comfortable stay. Will definitely be back for another visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas

Nice hotel to be in the hearth of NY

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Excellent location in front of Penn Station. Huge hotel...there are always a file of people in the front desk. Crowded lobby....rooms are very old but OK for sleep only. Air conditioned was good. Excellent hot water on the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Historic Art Deco Hotel in the Heart of NY

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, rate, style, staff
Cons: Free WIFI would be nice.
Location: In the heart of the city next to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. Empire State Building and Chrysler Building are within walking distance.
First of all, I had no problems at all with my stay at the Hotel Pennsylvania. It's an old hotel with "character" and not everything was new and perfect, but it had style from a bygone era and the front desk staff and maid staff were excellent. There are tons of elevators, so you never have to wait long for one. The lobby is a great place to hang out and watch people. Restaurants, buses, trains, subways, airport shuttles are all extremely convenient. The NYC Airporter shuttle stops across the street at Penn Station where Madison Square Garden is also located. The Empire State Building and The Chrysler Building are within walking distance. I tried but could not find a less expensive hotel with a location anywhere near as convenient.
1 out of 5
by Charlie from Yorkshire, England

Good location but.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Rooms are small with no view and in a very poor decorative condition. About 20 years overdue a renovation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Hotel doesn't deserve the bad reviews

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I was really nervous about staying at this hotel after reading some of the horrible reviews it has received. However, we did not experience any of the negative things, and we really liked the hotel. I understand that it is an old building, as should anyone who reserves a room there, but every area we were in was clean. Every single staff member we encountered- from check-in, to maids, to check-out- was friendly and pleasant. Our room was clean, even though a little dated, and the bathroom was, too. The towels and sheets were changed and the toiletries restocked. The location was fabulous, especially since we traveled by Amtrak and came out on 7th Ave directly across the street from the hotel. You could walk to Broadway, Times Square or catch the subway right outside. It is too bad that not everyone has had a good experience at this hotel, but we certainly did!!