Ratings based on 15,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Stay

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: customer service
Location: centrally located
First day I got there, they were short staffed and had to wait about 5 hours in line just to get checked in. All the employees were rude and angry, something must have happened because the following days the check in and check out lines moved faster and were shorter. However the staff was just flat out rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ol

Emplacement au top

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Hotel bien placé, proche de l'empire states building, Times square
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Close to Madison square
A lot of waste under the bed. I think the bed had better times for long years!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney. Australia

Central location

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Beautiful old motel. Very clean and tidy with old world charm. But the location was great. Opposite Maddison Square Garden, Macy's on the next block and only about 4 blocks from Time Square. Would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and you don't have to wait a lot for

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Hotel smelly and needs renovation. Reception staff are not courteous. Rooms are ok but not enough drawer space to take clothes out of the suitcase. Excellent location to go anywhere and subway is near by.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Geelong

Eww...

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I didn't expect much, but my (Penn 5000) room was just not clean. The shower curtain and bathroom ceiling had mould, there was hair in the shower drain and light fittings etc. were a bit grimy. Could barely see out of the dirty window. I didn't want to come in too late at night because the corridors were creepy. My friends had a separate standard room which was very shabby. It spoiled our NY experience being here for 10 nights, but the staff I dealt with were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NL, Canada

Midtown Surprise

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the Tourist/ Booking Desk and our maid but the price and location were the main attraction.
Cons: coffee/tea pot in our room. some areas are obviously in better shape than others. a facelift needed for sure and new carpeting.
Location: See my comments above.
I chose this hotel knowing of it's drawbacks from other reviews but what a pleasant surprise! Yes, the hotel is old and fairly dated but considering it's the oldest hotel in NYC , it does retain it's old world charm. Our room was exactly as advertised and we had a bonus view of the Empire State Bldg. Located directly across from Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station and Macy's Dept Store it is only a few blocks from Times Square and the Theatre District and other major attractions. Our room was cleaned every day and had all the amenities we needed. The breakfast buffet was certainly ample but the same items each day and no hot food except coffee ( which was excellent). We did talk to other guests who were unhappy with their rooms and they seemed to have legit complaints but based on my personal experience I would give it a thumbs up!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Karben

Der Checkin allein benötigte, etwa 1,5 Stunden!!!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Die Lage!!! Obwohl durch die Verkehrsgünstige Lage ist es auch Abends, nachts und morgens auch früh schon recht laut!
Cons: Das Hotel könnte mal grundlegend renovieren und vielleicht noch mehr auf Sauberkeit achten!!!
Location: Ein Block von Macy's, Empire State Building und Broadway und und und gleich in laufweite um die Ecke!!!!
Das erste Zimmer war sehr dreckig und hatte bis unter die Decke Schimmelbefall!!! Dann haben wir sofort reklamiert und eine neue Zimmerkarte zum ansehen des Zimmers bekommen. Allerdings war dieses Zimmer noch komplett unvorbereitet für einen neuen Einzug, denn z. Bsp. dass Bett war noch von den Vorbewohnern so, wie es morgens nach dem Aufstehen ungemacht verlassen wurde!!! Also wieder an die Rezeption und die nächste Zimmerkarte abzuholen! Das Zimmer war dann ok. Aber allein dieses rauf und runter und dann umziehen usw. hat erstmal eineinhalb Stunden am frühen Abend ( ersten Abend ) in Anspruch genommen!!! Ich denke, dass kann jeder verstehen, dass man da eigentlich etwas anderes zu tun hat!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Italy

In the middle of everything!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
All in all, we had a very good stay! Staying there for 9 days is a good choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel centralt beliggende.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: beliggenheden
Cons: Når I lover Billigere % priser, skal de holdes.
Location: Helt fint - fremragende.
Lidt problemer ved indtjekning og de 25 % der var lovet fik vi ikke. Så vi betalte fuld pris på værelserne.