Ratings based on 8,990 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unmaintained hotel in the heart of Manhattan

Posted Sep 18, 2014
This hotel is had very little updates since it opened (atleast the room I stayed in). The carpet was dirty, there were hand prints on the walls, paint chipping in the bathrooms, stains on the shower curtains and reeked of chlorine and bleach. The hallways smelled of cigarette smoke and you could hear what was going on in them from your room. The staff at the front desk were not very friendly and already helping another guest before I could leave the desk. They charged me $5 to hold my bag for half of a day, something I've never experienced in all my hotel stays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U K

Hotel needs money spent on it

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Worst staff I have dealt with no smiles and everything seems like hard work to them
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Great location, across from Penn Station. Room was ok very basic and slightly run down. Place needs modernising. Iiguess all you want in New York is a place too sleep unless you are willing to pay more for accomodation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

The only thing going for this hotel is location

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Too many things to mention
Location: Right on top of penn station, short walk to times square
Check in staff did not tell us about the complimentary breakfast so we didn't use it for 2 days. I complained about the rooms cleanliness but nothing was done about it. Housekeeping was always noisy in the hallways at early hours. The hotel is very shabby and the beds in the standard rooms are so small and there is absolutely no floor space to open your suitcase without tripping over it, let alone if there are two suitcases. Overall not a very pleasant stay, except that the location was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KSA

it was a night mare

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: the whole hotel needs to be innveoition
Location: I don't like that hotel neither I like new york
when we enter this hotel around 1:00 am in the morning , first the staff are lazy and very slow and the service was very bad and this not the issue the hotel smells bad and we enter the rooms me and my wife were gonna throw up from the room . the hotel looks like a haunted house and it looks like it was built in the world war 1 . We had a horrible time in that hotel and the next day we checked out .. we ran away I don't know how this hotel can find customers or because it's low price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

nice landmark

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The lobby is impressive, large brightly lit and enough seating. Friendly front desk staff.
Cons: CLEAN THE ROOMS AND CARPET.
Location: The location cannot be faulted. Transportation, place to eat , night life all there.
Booked this hotel on a work colleague's recommendation. Told good location and the rooms are ok, if you are not planning all day in your room. However 48 hours before arrival I read a few negatives reviews and thought that the reviewers came with too high an hope. However upon arrival, I was greeted to a gleaming , busy lobby and very helpful staff. I was two hours early for official check-in, but was indeed given a room immediately. So you can imagine my shock when I got to my superior room, to find a very small room , very dirty carpet, rusty aircon( which I think if I switched it on would fall apart). Stepped out in the corridor and saw a house keeper and enquired was this really superior king room and she said yes and showed me two more rooms. Exactly like mine all in a sorry state. Decided this place wasn't for me and spend the next few hours looking locally for somewhere to stay. Not a nice start to my holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

My favorite hotel in NY

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The best thing about this hotel is its location, j minutes from State Emprire, 10 from Times Square, everything is very close.
Cons: Improve the lighting in the hallways and should provide free internet to all guests.
Location: 5 minutes from Empire Stare, 10 from Times Square, 5 minutes from the best clothing stores. The main subway station is on the corner.
Definitely this is my favorite hotel for its price and location. It is an old hotel but its facilities are in constant repair. My room was freshly painted. The best thing about this hotel is its location, 2 blocks from State Emprire, 10 minutes from Times Square, across from Madison Square Garden, and the entrance to the main subway station on the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Location, location location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and knew what to expect. The foyer is nice but the rest of the hotel has seen better days. The main thing was that my room was very clean with plenty of fresh towels. The bed was comfortable and the air con kept the room cool. The staff were very kind and , as I am disabled, made sure that I had everything I needed at breakfast. I lost my camera during my visit but the guy in the shop found it, checked out the pictures of my daughters wedding and got it back to me. I really appreciated that. And what a fabulous location. Just down from Times Square and close to 42nd street but without the noise. I think that the condition of the hotel is reflected in the price What makes me want to go back is the staff and the location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NYC Horror!!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything... from service to room comfort
Location: Location was the only thing that was nice.
Hotel was outdated, very dark, elevators did not work properly. Staff was rude and condescending. Would never stay here again. Room prices were high for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nice hotel Central

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Had a fab time getting to know NYC would definitely go back