Ratings based on 9,248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Handy for Midtown

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Hotel is in an excellent position for sights,bars and restaurants. Breakfast option is a very useful addition to facility!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HOUSTON

Hotel location is great.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: water pressure, carpet and fresh paint in the room
Location: easy access to subway, cab drivers know of hotel location
The hotel is in a great location-near shopping, Madison Square Garden and much more! The only downfall was the water pressure-it was very low. The hotel may consider doing some upgrades like new carpet and fresh paint in the rooms.Otherwise it was still a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WA State

Great staff, older room decor but clean

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Location and helpful staff
Cons: None
Location: Centeral NY with every thing in easy reach
Enjoyed the stay as it is very central and cannot beat the location or price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin

Good location

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: more lights in the room
The room was a decent size but lacked light, only 1 lamp in the room. Disappointed to be charged for luggage storage after we checked out. Otherwise was a pleasant stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
room window did not close properly nor was able to open it but a constant grizly wind blew 24 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seatle, WA

a conveniently located

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: It's location.
Cons: The heating system needs to be updated. It was cold, and I had to call the Bell Captain
Location: Very close to Times Square, Madison Square Gardens and subways.
Conveniently located across from Pennsylvania Station where there were ample opportunity to savor bakery items from Zaros. Other good food was also available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
When booked through expedia and they told us that the parking would be included, then we were hit with a $250.00 bill to get our car out of the parking lot, so, what ARE you going to do about this?! Do I have to go to another source to look into this matter, please let me know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OMG!!!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: EVERYTHING
Kind personnel and strategic location. This is pretty much the only two positive aspects that this hotel has to offer. The linen and the restroom sink had been cleaned. However,last time my room had been painted must have been 20 years ago (the walls of a train station are probably cleaner - no kidding!). The carpet was so dirty and stinky that I was afraid to walk without shoes. The bed was poorly made, with low quality linen and blankets. the shower tiles were all chipped and so was the wc. The heating system was extremely old, dirty, poorly working and noisy. Lighting was poorly organized. The TV stand was broken. The internet connection (which you get for a prize) was amazingly slow and therefore useless. I paid about 110USD for my room. For Manhattan I should not be complaining. Yet the deal should not be sold as a hotel accommodation. A good hostel could EASILY offer a much cleaner and decent service.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good location, mediocre hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Clean the carpets, offer free wifi, improve check in.
Location: Empire State Building Macy's Madison Square Garden
Start with the good. The location is great, right across from Madison Square gardens, 5- 7 mins from Macy's and the Empire State Building. When you go to Manhattan you are not going to stay in your room much, other than sleep. For the price, I was not expecting much from reading the reviews, we booked last min. For the price, it is what it is, you paid to be in mid town Manhattan, without breaking the piggy bank. The Lobby is the nicest part of the hotel, though looks can be deceiving when you check in, which took a bit more time than expected, to add to this, there was a mix up in rooms, so settling in was a chore. The rooms are old, the front door looked as if it were from the 50's. The carpets could really use some shampooing, this would be high on my list of things to do if I were Hotel Mgt. Never felt 100% clean during our stay. We found little things not working, but had no problems once we reported them. Maybe we were one of the lucky ones, but the shower, toilet, and the bed was fine. Bottom line, I gave this hotel a not recommend, because of the cleanliness factor, the employees we found were not as rude as reported. They can certainly improve the check in process and mistakes made. It wasn't a good start to arrive and have a mix up. You know what they say about first impressions. I will say this, if you are strictly here to sleep for 5-6 hours a night, and don't expect to spend a lot of time in your room, this might be a cheap option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Great location, but the hotel is just too dated to offer a modern lodging experience.