Ratings based on 9,101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Cheap hotel with amazing location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This hotel is right by Madison square garden, Macy's, Times Square and Empire State. Subway station is right on the door too. Yes this hotel is dated but for the location who minds? We only slept there anyway! We had a penn 5000 club room which I would recommend as it includes access to the pen club lounge which offers free continental breakfast and has access to free internet on their computers (also a printer). I would recommend. Just be aware this hotel is dated and tired looking. But the location makes up for it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else to stay.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The Lobby.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: Great location in NYC. You have access to so many things that I can't list them all. Madison Square Garden is across the street. Tour bus stops...
The room was dirty and after calling a couple of times to ask for a vacuum I had to give up. The 2 chairs in the room were so gross that I made sure nothing touched them. I double checked the bed after my wife because I had real concern that we would find something disgusting. Only the bed cover had holes in it but the rest of it was clean. The bed was made every day but I don't think that anything else was done (for sure not the vacuum). I should have trusted the rating from Expedia on this hotel and picked something else. The lobby is pretty but it did not translate to the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This hotel is in need of serious upkeep, and renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Looking for nice, not perfect.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location. Clean room.
Cons: Update bathroom fixtures.
Location: The location worked well with our planned outings each day.
Room and bathroom with older fixtures clean. Mattress was to firm for my taste. Staff gave prompt help when keycard did not work 3x.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel I Have Ever Stayed In

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The wait for the front desk staff is over 1 hour, the room smelled bad, pipes were so loud, I could not sleep, sink had no plunger, the clock radio had no tuner and the buttons on the remote control were worn off. It was as if for $250/night this NY hotel room was filled with items from the Salvation Army, not to mention the ripped carpet and wall paper. Unbelievable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Central location, great for exploring

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated to match the pictures, some rooms probably do, but i suspect not all
Location: Times square, maddison square garden, empire state all walking distance - $31 for a week long subway card with station opposite
Ok, here goes, why choose this hotel Well, after considering all the reviews about cleanliness and condition, it would put a few people off. However, two main factors as to why i booked anyway. Location: This hotel is perfectly located, Times Square is 10-15 minutes walk, Empire State is 5 minutes away, opposite Madison Square Gardens and on top of Pennsylvania Station (perfect for Long Island Railroad Connection to JFK) My first time to New York and i've read about getting shared buses from the airport, but its new york, did i really want a long transfer after 18 hours travelling. Or $80 on taxi when $16 train journey gets you to the doorstep of hotel in about 40 minutes Duration: Realistically how long am i going to spend in the hotel... Well, sleeping mainly, an hour or 2 before going to sleep and similar in the morning. So do you really need a 5 star, hugely posh hotel, in my eyes, no. The rooms DO need a makeover, but look at it another way, 1700 rooms, check in queue every day i was there had hundreds of people, so, its well used, and with so many rooms i imagine it takes quite a while to get round and do improvements. It has everything you need, TV, ironing board, comfortable bed (one of the most comfortable beds in a hotel i've had in a long time) on site snack shop for drinks etc, 2 restaurants connected to, but not run by, the hotel and plenty of shops etc nearby Simply, i'd use again and recommend it without hesitation (why spend £300 extra on looks??)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Run down, not at all worth it, dont go here, portrayed as 5 star actually a 1 star
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like an hourly motel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The highlight of this stay was the lobby, which was beautiful and historic. The room was not only suffering from extreme neglect, but was the lowest quality of every feature available. The mattress felt like a cot, the bedding was rough and not breathable, the walls were stained and paint was peeling. The furniture was mismatched and ranged from mid-century modern to cheap laminate from the 70's. Not only was this an uncomfortable stay, it is truly a shame that the there has been no attempt to preserve the charm of a such a historic, landmark hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

good location to the empire building

Posted Oct 18, 2014
It's a big hotel with a convenience for a short walk to many events, restaurants and theaters in the mid-Manhattan. The hotel is pretty old w/o remodeling to improve a living condition. The breakfast (5000 club) room with two windows is in a poor condition which is too small for many guests. The service's hospitality stinks as usually!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Long lines at check in, staff did not seem to care

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Mainly low price and recommendation
Cons: Yes. Hire more personnel for the check in counter
Location: Times Square,etc
We arrived at the hotel extremely tired and wanted to get to our room to relax,however the line at check in counter was extremely long and it appeared tha the staff at the counter (4) was not too concerned as each of them disappeared for extended periods of time. This was not an isolated incident. The following days of our stay it was the same long line and the shortage of staff