Ratings based on 16,511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from visit to ny

Staff aweful

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Staff were rude and not helpful at all. Old guy that checked me out said I was not entitled to thier free buffet since I went through Expedia not them direct. Guy near elevator just sits there and when asking a question feels like we bothered him. Most help just point and can't be bothered to talk. Worst service and will never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location, great price

Posted Aug 1, 2015
I have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. For all the bad review writers, you get what you pay for. Hotel Pennsylvania is a reasonably priced hotel for it's location and amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We're outta here!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Extremely busy hotel. Poor front of desk service. Not as clean as it should be. Fantastic location though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad & Tobago

Hotel Pennsylvania

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom, Bigger area for Breakfast
Location: Everything
Hotel is ideally located in The Heart of New York, near to Peen Station, and walking distance to Times Square, pleasant staff. Poor Bathroom Facilities, Breakfast area too cramped, too long of a waiting period to talk to receptionist at front desk. A very long line to check in. Took me an hour to check in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Needs cleaning and teorganizayion

Posted Jul 31, 2015
The chandeliers in lobby are dusty as is room furniture; new furniture needed. Reorganize breakfast accommodations as too cramped for volume of guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Some of the staff were nice
Cons: Everything
We arrived at 4:00 to check in. There was a line to the door to check-in and we waited about an hour and a half to be helped. I understand it might have been a rush of people at that time but there were several employees walking around not trying to help the front desk. There were also only 2 people staffed at the front desk at the busiest check in time. When we left for dinner at 7, the line was still there. The line was there again the next two days. When I went to check out at 6:00 before taking the bar exam, it took another hour to leave. As for the room, the toilet and bathroom looked like it was from the 50s. The room consists of a bed and a tv. This would be fine if it wasn't so expensive to stay there. Terrible place!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not Worth The Money

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: ummm.... maybe that is across the street from MSG
Cons: look at the above
Location: You are in Manhattan, almost anything is possible
Sadly, this hotel is far from worth the money. The hotel lobby is nice, but that is about it. Once you get to your floor, you are met with dingy hallways, nasty carpets, rooms with nearly no light, electrical wires hanging out the wall, stiff beds, not very comfortable pillows, A/C that has asthma, bathroom door that wouldn't close fully, a water knob that came off the valve, Don't walk on the carpet without socks, it is worth risking, ruining socks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gisborne

Horrible do not recommend!

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Staff were keen to try solve our problems (I even suggested a cleaner to come in and we would stay in room) but not may positive comments.
Cons: Hotel standard!!! It needs a clean!
Hotel was awful! Grotty, untidy, mouldy !! We did a lot of activities in New York but the worse bit was coming home at night ! It was just so un-clean! We were moved 3 times (let staff know it was disgusting) first move though was because someone was in our room... they didn't seem to realise there was someone in the room? We then waited an hour and got move to a shoebox which was grotty. Complained to managed who moved us to another room (more like the room we actually booked) still unclean but more managable... Would never go back there! Wasn't even a cheap stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chihuahua, Chih.

Excelente ubicación

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: La buena ubicación
Cons: Más personal a la hora del check in, se hacen unas filas enormes !!
Location: Empire State Building, Times Square, Madison Square Garden.
El hotel tiene excelente ubicación. A cuadras del Empire State y enfrente del Madison Square Garden, a cuadras de Times Square, etc...vale la pena llegar ahí por el simple hecho de estar en el corazón de Manhattan. Cuando uno va de vacaciones a NY, para lo único que utilizas el hotel es para descansar, y el hotel cumple con ese objetivo y no gastas en transporte al tener todo cerca. Lo recomiendo ampliamente !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Cons: refaire la chambre
Déçu par l'hôtel je pensais que deux ans apres mon premier séjour dans cet hôtel des travaux auraient été fait pas de changement très bien place mais les chambres et salle de bain décevantes