Ratings based on 8,879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smell was. It good in the room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Everything is acceptable , except the smell. Staff are good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Amazing location...limited staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Hotel is located midtown with easy links to trains and walking distance to Empire State Building and Times Square. Front desk staff seems to always want to rush you and not very informative. However this was not the case for all. Overall a nice hotel and decent value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

The perfect location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The hotel was has the greatest location if penn station is important for your trip! The room was fairly quiet but very very spartan and kind of oldish.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Terrible conditions of the hotel and the acomodations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

The only good thing was location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
....and you definitely paid out the wazoo for the location. My friend and I got to the hotel and the staff could hardly speak English, mumbled behind the counter, and refused to let the cardholder pay over the phone (which admittedly was my fault for leaving the card at home). They required faxed information, which is highly unreasonable seeing the time of our visit and the fact that fax machines are NOT standard household devices. So after having to place a gargantuan amount of money in a hold on my own account, we were FINALLY able to get into a room. When we got there the condition of the room was terrible. The bed was deformed as actually looked like a recliner. The towels in the bathroom had not been swapped and had make-up on them. The shower only had a curtain that blew around because of high water pressure (which I guess is a bonus) and caused a puddle of water in the bathroom. Out of optimism, we called this their indoor hotel. After making the best of an overpriced and under serviced hotel, we had a ridiculously rude doorman on the way out. But good news, there were not infestations that I could tell, so if that's your criteria for choosing a hotel then you are set.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai, India

Hotel pennsylvania (Opposite penn station)

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The housekeeping staff. Most helpful and polite (a boon here).
Cons: Everything listed above.
Location: Times square, Broadway, etc.
Some of the hotel staff was very weird - 1.Most of the ones working the front desk were downright rude. 2. If a bell-boy took your stuff, or brought it up to your room, he would stand right there until you gave him a tip and wouldn't leave until then. 3. Only good staff were the daily room-cleaning staff and the electricians etc. Extremely polite and even though did way more work than the bell boys etc, never hung around and stared at you expectantly for tips/etc. 4. Bathroom didn't have a lock when we entered - they had to drill a hole in the door, and fix a whole new lock. 5. Room was in a shabby condition with furniture from the 1950's. Yes, we get it, its a 'heritage' hotel but come on, get some proper working furniture. 6. Windows cannot be opened and shut by you, when we asked hotel staff, we were clearly told that you will obviously need to call the hotel and they'd send someone up to the room to shut and open windows every time. Obviously.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

disgusted-absolutely horrible. misrepresented

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location is all this hotel offers - but location does not make up for filth and misrepresentation or price!
Cons: Paint hallways and rooms. Replace bathroom fixtures and carpet. Sheets were paper thin and not changed from day to day.
I called to book a room at the Sheraton hotel in NY city. It was sold out. Representative recommended this hotel and told me it was comparable in every way....3 stars. Beautiful - clean, I would not be disappointed. I made the mistake of trusting his word. When we arrived the location was amazing, the lobby was gorgeous. The first clerk was rude, insulting and very unfriendly. We took the elevator to our floor and stepped out onto stained, crusty carpet, filthy walls and odor. The room was awful - sheets were dirty, stained and smelled, the bathroom was not cleaned and gross. We went back to lobby - a second clerk tried to be helpful and sent us up to look at another room that was just as bad as the first. We explained that our son had an autoimmune disease and we could not afford to expose him to unclean conditions - he gave us a third room with a king size bed - said it was the only option left and he would provide a roll away. The third room was a dump as well - but we had no other choice but to stay there as it was 9:00 on Friday night and there was no place else to go and the room had been prepaid. The roll away was coil springs covered with a sheet, the room was not cleaned the next day - no supplies were replaced and I did not sleep at all - fearing the dirt and possible bugs. This hotel is not even a 1 star hotel- highly overpriced and a total misrepresentation. DO NOT fall for or book this hotel thinking you will get a nice room - we did not see any!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Good hotel close to a lot of attractions

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: close to everything, nice and friendly stuff
Cons: - more hotel's stuff at 3 pm ... when check in - restroom needs an update
Location: its why I picked this hotel ... location is perfect
Overall it was a nice stay. I need room only to sleep in and take a shower , close to everything and I had it. Room was clean but bathroom needs some updates. Well, we find some hair on the floor which wasn't very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Problems with the key

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I had some problems with the key and they took a while to fix it, I had to go to the reception and there were people checking in at that time so I had to wait for long minutes. In the morning the woman who was supposed to clean the room opened the door without knocking, had it not been locked she would've seen me in my underwears lol But the overall experience was good and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from port Charlotte FL

Old, but clean.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Convenience to sites.
Cons: Having wifi in the rooms.
Location: Empire State bldg.
The shower was powerful, the water pressure was unbelievable. There was no wifi in our room. It is hard to believe that in this day and age. Had to call for additional towels and wash cloths. The toilet seat was broke, but it was repaired without our requesting it. It was convenient to the train station. The door men and bell men were helpful with directions and suggested good places to eat.