Ratings based on 15,274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney. Australia

Central location

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Beautiful old motel. Very clean and tidy with old world charm. But the location was great. Opposite Maddison Square Garden, Macy's on the next block and only about 4 blocks from Time Square. Would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and you don't have to wait a lot for

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Hotel smelly and needs renovation. Reception staff are not courteous. Rooms are ok but not enough drawer space to take clothes out of the suitcase. Excellent location to go anywhere and subway is near by.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Geelong

Eww...

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I didn't expect much, but my (Penn 5000) room was just not clean. The shower curtain and bathroom ceiling had mould, there was hair in the shower drain and light fittings etc. were a bit grimy. Could barely see out of the dirty window. I didn't want to come in too late at night because the corridors were creepy. My friends had a separate standard room which was very shabby. It spoiled our NY experience being here for 10 nights, but the staff I dealt with were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NL, Canada

Midtown Surprise

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the Tourist/ Booking Desk and our maid but the price and location were the main attraction.
Cons: coffee/tea pot in our room. some areas are obviously in better shape than others. a facelift needed for sure and new carpeting.
Location: See my comments above.
I chose this hotel knowing of it's drawbacks from other reviews but what a pleasant surprise! Yes, the hotel is old and fairly dated but considering it's the oldest hotel in NYC , it does retain it's old world charm. Our room was exactly as advertised and we had a bonus view of the Empire State Bldg. Located directly across from Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station and Macy's Dept Store it is only a few blocks from Times Square and the Theatre District and other major attractions. Our room was cleaned every day and had all the amenities we needed. The breakfast buffet was certainly ample but the same items each day and no hot food except coffee ( which was excellent). We did talk to other guests who were unhappy with their rooms and they seemed to have legit complaints but based on my personal experience I would give it a thumbs up!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Karben

Der Checkin allein benötigte, etwa 1,5 Stunden!!!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Die Lage!!! Obwohl durch die Verkehrsgünstige Lage ist es auch Abends, nachts und morgens auch früh schon recht laut!
Cons: Das Hotel könnte mal grundlegend renovieren und vielleicht noch mehr auf Sauberkeit achten!!!
Location: Ein Block von Macy's, Empire State Building und Broadway und und und gleich in laufweite um die Ecke!!!!
Das erste Zimmer war sehr dreckig und hatte bis unter die Decke Schimmelbefall!!! Dann haben wir sofort reklamiert und eine neue Zimmerkarte zum ansehen des Zimmers bekommen. Allerdings war dieses Zimmer noch komplett unvorbereitet für einen neuen Einzug, denn z. Bsp. dass Bett war noch von den Vorbewohnern so, wie es morgens nach dem Aufstehen ungemacht verlassen wurde!!! Also wieder an die Rezeption und die nächste Zimmerkarte abzuholen! Das Zimmer war dann ok. Aber allein dieses rauf und runter und dann umziehen usw. hat erstmal eineinhalb Stunden am frühen Abend ( ersten Abend ) in Anspruch genommen!!! Ich denke, dass kann jeder verstehen, dass man da eigentlich etwas anderes zu tun hat!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Italy

In the middle of everything!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
All in all, we had a very good stay! Staying there for 9 days is a good choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel centralt beliggende.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: beliggenheden
Cons: Når I lover Billigere % priser, skal de holdes.
Location: Helt fint - fremragende.
Lidt problemer ved indtjekning og de 25 % der var lovet fik vi ikke. Så vi betalte fuld pris på værelserne.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Thüringen

Hotel hat seine besten Zeiten hinter sich

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Die perfekte Lage zu vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten und zur Subway
Cons: Die Sauberkeit der Zimmer und die Zimmer könnten mal dringend nen neuen Anstrich gebrauchen.Toll wäre auch wenn die Fensterscheiben mal geputzt würden
Location: Das Hotel ist sehr zentral gelegen man kann zu Fuß zum Empire State Building , zum Time Square , zum Madison Square Garten und zur SubWay laufen .
Ich hatte die Hotelbewertungen schon im voraus gelesen und dachte mir in etwa was auf uns zu kommt . Es ist ein Hotel aus dem Jahr 1919 und hatte sicher auch mal einen gewissen Charme dieser ist aber leider nicht mehr da . Die Zimmer sind sehr klein und auch wie man sagt abgewohnt. Man merkt das nur das nötigste sauber gemacht wird , also auf Schränke darf man nicht schauen da ist Staub. Die Putzfrauen sind freundlich und sie haben wirklich zu tun da das Hotel 1700 Zimmer hat .Man darf die Sauberkeit der Amerikaner meiner Meinung nach auch nicht mit unserer vergleichen , was natürlich schade ist . Das Frühstück ist sehr spartanisch und bezieht sich auf Bagel , verschiedene kleine Gebäckteile ,Marmelade ;Butter und Frischkäse sowie Kaffee ,O-saft und Tee. Ist aber ausreichend um den Tag zu beginnen .Abschliesend möchte ich noch sagen das trotz allem dieses Hotel eine gute Preisklasse hat für einen aufenthalt in New York , da ich gemerkt habe das es so eine aufregende Stadt ist und man wirklich fast immer unterwgs ist ,man dieses Hotel wirklich nur zum schlafen braucht und es wirklich sehr zentral gelegen ist ,Die Subway 5min, der Time Square ca.20min ,das Empire State Building 15min und der Madison Square Garten über die Straße das Postamt 5min (Falls man Karten versenden möchte ) . Und das alles zu Fuß , also besser geht es nicht !!!Also dann allen viel Spaß und eine aufregende Zeit in New York und wie man so schön sagt : " schlafen kann man wenn man tot ist "!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Harlow, Essex, UK

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The staff are very friendly and efficient. The room was cleaned to a very good standard every day. We were also never disturbed by the cleaning staff.
Cons: The reception appears to be constantly busy with people checking in and out, therefore it's hard to speak with someone or to get a safe deposit box.
Location: The hotel is a little faded from past glories, but it's a wonderful Midtown location, easy for transport and directly opposite Madison Square Garden.
My fiancé and I stayed there before about 9 years ago. Had a very pleasant stay so decided to book it again when we visited New York for my birthday. For our last visit we had a large room with a lovely sized bed. This time, the room was quite small and the bed was tiny. It was supposed to be a double bed, but we couldn't move during the night without bumping into each other. And my feet we hanging over the end. I'm six feet tall. That's quite big by UK standards, I'm guessing not so much for the US. I can only presume the bed was made for children or jockeys. Also the phone didn't work, neither did the hair dryer and the shower temperature fluctuated constantly. We went down first thing the next morning, asked to change rooms and were immediately accommodated without problem. From then on, it was fine. We enjoyed staying there and would return again. It's a historic hotel in a great part of town and so easy for everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

Near Penn station

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: It was near the station. it was big
Cons: Give us what we paied for and have a renovasion of the rooms
Location: That was perfect
It was near the station. The personal was good. But the room standard was bad. We paied for a kinsbed but got a queensbed. Boththe toilette and the bath was brooken inside. Sorry we can not recommand this hotel.