Ratings based on 14,230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Great location and the staff was super helpful.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The lobby was really nice, but they need to update the rooms and hallways. Great place to stay if your wanting to be close to all the sites.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great location.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: A beautiful historic hotel with the best location.
Cons: It[s old but clean. Bathrooms could use an updating, but nothing horrible.
Location: Do not attempt to eat or drink inside of the hotel bars, restaurants or coffee shop. So overpriced. There are great pubs right across the street!
Overall it was a good experience. The one bad feature was I booked through Expedia and my room was paid for in entirety before I arrived. 5 day's later a fee of $10.75 appeared on my credit card bill. I never used my card while I was in the city. My credit card company put in a dispute charge.We'll see where that goes?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Historic hotel with modern room

Posted Dec 18, 2014
I had read many bad reviews about this hotel so was prepared for the worst, but I had a great experience. The front desk lady was very nice and caring (although there was a little bit of a wait to get a room.) I arrived at about 10:30 at night on a Wednesday. The Expedia reservation was honored, and I was given a nice room on the 15th floor. (This place is HUGE, with more than 16 floors and 10 elevators.) It's definitely historic in nature- the hallways are wide and very long, and each door has a plaque noting the building's historic nature. The room itself was fairly modern though and very clean with a modern flat-screen TV. It was a bit on the small side but on the whole very nice. Everything functioned, the water pressure and temperature was great, and hangers, an ironing board, an iron, and a hair dryer were provided. On the whole it was very nice- would definitely stay there again. Forgot to mention, the location is PERFECT, and the lobby is extremely grand looking- looks like a very swanky hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southampton england

A husbands 60th birthday and Xmas shopping week

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Lick of paint
Location: Opposite Madison Square Gardens next street Macy's, and the Manhattan mall, penn St station.easy access to all of things to do.
We arrived on 11 12 14, hotel foyer very clean and smart looking and staff very efficient, rooms were clean if what basic, could do with a good lick of paint and tlc but in great location, the Statler Grill restaurant was very nice and good prices, food was lovely and lovely staff. Right near Madison Square Gardens and Macy's. Rooms were very warm had hairdryer iron and board. Would be nice if they had coffee making facilities in rooms, even though they have a 24hr coffee bar in the lobby. We would stay there again however, prices were good had very enjoyable time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Altes Hotel in optimaler Lage

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Zentrale Lage
Cons: Renovieren und modernisieren
Location: Nähe Times Square und Empire State Building, idealer Ausgangspunkt für die Erkundung von New York
Zimmer kalt, Ausstattung alt und recht spartanisch, aber die zentrale Lage läßt über diese Defizite hinweg sehen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but hotel is disappointing

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Improve customer service. Remodel outdated rooms. Provide free internet as most other hotels do.
Location: Across the street from Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and subway stop.
Upon check in, we were given the wrong size room but staff did not seem to care much that a mistake was made. No apologies or explanations were given. I was given another room key and told to "see if I liked this one." Upon returning, the person who told me this did not even remember talking to me. I looked at another room, it was just okay so I took it out of frustration. The hotel also charged us a daily fee for internet which they told us was mandatory. This was a surprise to us. and we could not even get the internet to work in our room. We should have complained about this but did not because of the busy lines to check in and out. The location across from Penn Station is good and I would recommend it only if the price was good (much cheaper than what we paid). Also, the hotel should not be charging an internet fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Convenient Hotel to Madison Square Garden

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel was positioned very close to Madison Square Garden and the Penn Central Train Station. Times Square was within walking distance.
Cons: Furniture could be updated.
Location: Shopping on 7th Ave, as well as 6th Ave, was convenient.
Hotel was clean and well ordered. Room was large and clean, although furniture was a bit old. I found the hotel staff, as well as the overall conditions of the Hotel to be satisfactory for a multi-night stay in NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nueva York, NYC

Es un hotel muy bien ubicado pero muy viejo

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: La ubicación es excelente
Cons: Neceista una reforma ya!! tanto en zonas comunes como en habitaciones, pero especialmente en las habitaciones y más aún en los baños.
Location: El hotel está muy bien ubicado, muy centrico, en la 7ª Avd, enfrente del Madison Squard Garden, detrás del Empire y a 10 mints andando de Times Squard
El hotel está muy bien ubicado, muy centrico, en la 7ª Avd, enfrente del Madison Squard Garden, detrás del Empire y a 10 mints andando de Times Squard en línea recta. Pero es un hotel muy viejo, quizá de los años 70, la habitación es algo más pasable, pero el baño está demasiado viejo, deberían reformarlo porque no es solo cuestión de modernizar la estética.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Great location in Manhattan

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Counter space in the bathroom. Would be nice to have a coffee pot in the room.
Location: As stated above: Across from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. One block from Macy's. Subway stop at the corner.
If you take the train to Penn Station in NYC, the Hotel Pennsylvania is across the street on 7th Avenue. Madison Square Garden is attached to Penn Station. Macy’s is one block north. The Empire State Building, Time Square and the Theatre district are all within easy walking distance. And, of course, the #1 Metro (subway) train has a stop at the corner. So, getting around Manhattan is easy and low cost. The hotel lobby is large and well decorated. There are ample elevators, so no long wait when coming or going. On the negative side: The room was sparsely furnished. There was no counter in the bathroom, so toiletries could not be kept there. The water took 3 to 5 minutes to run warm. It was finally hot by the end of the shower. We booked through Expedia, so prepaid. However, there was an additional daily charge of approx. $10 per day for the internet and other amenities. This was unexpected and not well explained. We avoided the internet while there to avoid a charge, only to see the charge come through when we arrived home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is probably the only perk

Posted Dec 17, 2014
I choose Pennsylvania Hotel because I had used it in the past. Rooms were old but comfortable and usually spotless clean. However since my booking was through Expedia, I got the worst room ever, the bathroom door did not lock ( door wood was all swollen with humidity). A/C was so noisy, that it has to be switch off at night to be able to sleep ( in freezing temperature), the carpet was wet and stunk near the A/C. Although a 10 $ daily fee is charge to your room for internet service, it is very sluggish and keeps dropping now and then. To rap it up, we had a miserable time in our favorite city these Xmass.