Ratings based on 9,107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ewa Beach, Hawaii

This historic hotel is lacking in care.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
The maintenance is shoddy. It's like they just don't care. They don't have to. The price is right and the location is perfect. Overall, it was clean and comfortable. It's not a palace.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, rooms kind of old

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: remodel
Location: times square, penn station msg
Great location, rooms kind of old and rusty. However When you are in NY you dont spent much time at the hotel so its a good choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

noisey room

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: good overall value
Cons: to have toilet facilties for clients waiting to book in and when waiting for there transport to airport not to put people next to lifts
Location: central location opposite maddison square,near subways, empire state building few blocks away,macys round corner.
first room next to lift too noisey was moved after we complained and 2nd room fair better standard and quality we were booked orginallly into a superior room, felt the first room was not what we got. issues when you checking in or out no toilets to use feel this needs addressing overall staff very helpful,free safety deposit boxes and a central location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Cheap hotel with amazing location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This hotel is right by Madison square garden, Macy's, Times Square and Empire State. Subway station is right on the door too. Yes this hotel is dated but for the location who minds? We only slept there anyway! We had a penn 5000 club room which I would recommend as it includes access to the pen club lounge which offers free continental breakfast and has access to free internet on their computers (also a printer). I would recommend. Just be aware this hotel is dated and tired looking. But the location makes up for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Rooms are in need of some tender loving care......Paint, upgrading
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad conditions, horrible gym

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Besides the amazing location that the hotel has, the place was not as clean and well preserved. I have been in many hotels in New York and I have to be honest that this one is the worse I have ever been. My partner and me were really disappointed pretty much for everything but especially for the conditions of the gym.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else to stay.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The Lobby.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: Great location in NYC. You have access to so many things that I can't list them all. Madison Square Garden is across the street. Tour bus stops...
The room was dirty and after calling a couple of times to ask for a vacuum I had to give up. The 2 chairs in the room were so gross that I made sure nothing touched them. I double checked the bed after my wife because I had real concern that we would find something disgusting. Only the bed cover had holes in it but the rest of it was clean. The bed was made every day but I don't think that anything else was done (for sure not the vacuum). I should have trusted the rating from Expedia on this hotel and picked something else. The lobby is pretty but it did not translate to the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This hotel is in need of serious upkeep, and renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Looking for nice, not perfect.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location. Clean room.
Cons: Update bathroom fixtures.
Location: The location worked well with our planned outings each day.
Room and bathroom with older fixtures clean. Mattress was to firm for my taste. Staff gave prompt help when keycard did not work 3x.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel I Have Ever Stayed In

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The wait for the front desk staff is over 1 hour, the room smelled bad, pipes were so loud, I could not sleep, sink had no plunger, the clock radio had no tuner and the buttons on the remote control were worn off. It was as if for $250/night this NY hotel room was filled with items from the Salvation Army, not to mention the ripped carpet and wall paper. Unbelievable.