Ratings based on 9,015 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
This hotel has an awesome location. Exactly opposite Madison square garden, 10 min walk to Times Square and Empire State, lots of shopping around and places to eat. Would defiantly recommend this hotel but don't expect anything special from the hotel itself. Room was bigger then I thought and was nice enough however concierge staff particuly the women, were rude and unhelpful. They looked at us like we were idiots so unless your desperate I wouldn't bother waiting in line to get info. But this was the cheapest hotel I could find with such a great location and at the end of the day that's all you want when staying in New York!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

worse hotel i have ever stay

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: need to be remodel from top to bottom
Location: a lot to do in NY city
Worse hotel i have ever stay on my last 40 years of traveling to USA, Central America, south america and Europe. HOTEL IS FROM 1916 it never bein remodel, smell, the beds (mattresses) i think are from 1916. tiles in the bathroom are caming off, the tubs have being re-paited and are piling (I can not belive NY city let it be in busness). rust all over the bathroom. etc etc etc TV super old does not work well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Den of Iniquity

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: nothing really.
Cons: tear down and rebuild
Location: I don't know for sure, but it seemed to be surrounded by most of the drug dealers/users in New York City.
The room was a tired, dirty and worn out hovel. The tub had a hole in the liner and the tiles looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. the TV remote didn't work and when I called the desk the first time no one answered. The second time someone picked up on about the 20th ring. they promised someone would drop off a new remote. They never showed up. The billboards outside my window lit up the night sky like a thousand suns and the broken window shade made it impossible to completely block out the light, however, the constant sirens in the background reminded me to latch the door. Don't ever book a room at this hotel. There is a reason it is the only room available. Go to NJ. Only a short train ride into the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The hotel conditions are not appropriate for this nice area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
3rd time in a row. Excellent location and great staff. Comfy room. The hotel looks like its stock in the 70's but hey you are in NY, the room is just for sleeping. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOGOTA

Depending on your needs

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: the proximity
Cons: remodelling maybe
Location: evrything is close to the hotel and within walking distance
Although it is a very old fashioned hotel I have to say that it is not as bad as it may look or as other comments may have rated it, I knew it was old, I knew that the rooms were old as well but its proximity to everything one could be interested in seeing in NY is something that made my decision a lot easier. You easily have walking distance from everything and, in my case, all I needed was a place to sleep. I wasn´t up for staying at a hotel all day at one of the most amazing cities in the world. Hernan,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

only good thing about this hotel was the location.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: everything, all the corridors smell.
Location: Timesquare, Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station etc..
The room was dirty, changed rooms to another room which was the same, the hotel is old and needs a full refurbishment, I upgraded to the Penn 5000 club to include breakfast and all day coffee but this was just a rip off to sell the rooms and make it sound more attractive than it was.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PR

Posted Sep 21, 2014
The hotel is in very poor condition The room bathroom was disgusting. The bathtub and sink are broken The employees were very helpful! This hotel needs more care and attention!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham, uk

Ideal central location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Ideally located for shopping and subway stations. Room very dated and basic. Bathroom in need of redecoration as grungy. Plus side, massive bed, iron and ironing board and hairdryer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

I thought I was being punked!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Directly across from Penn Station.
Cons: Rennovate!
Location: NY is literally at your footsteps, located directly across from Penn station, you can ride underground anywhere
This is in my top 2 worst hotel experiences, second only to a very pricey hotel that resulted in bed bug bites! It took us almost an hour to check in. It was painfully slow with only 2 ppl working the counter. The woman who checked us in was extremely slow, and in the middle of check in stops to get herself a glass of water. The hotel smelled of its age, there were random odd doors in the corridors propped shut with towels. We checked in after midnight, went to eat, came back to take a shower and the shower head is broken. Water is spraying all over the ceiling, walls, toilet, toilet paper and all the towels. My second call downstairs, 25 minutes after the first to see when someone will arrive to fix this, the woman rudely said, she has no idea when, she put the call in but he could be anywhere. really??? So I had to remind her that I spent way to much money to not be able to take a shower, if we cant get it fixed I wanted a new room. 5 minutes later someone arrived to fix it, with much attitude, not an apology, nothing! No one cleaned up the mess once the shower head was fixed, left the water, wet towels, and soggy toilet paper. I had to call downstairs to get more towels. You paid extra for everything! Old box TV's, dust hanging from the ceiling, stained carpet, this place was bad!!!! The line to reception never had less than 10 people waiting to check in, so you couldn't access reception. An amazing location is the ONLY thing this place has to offer! Believe the reviews