Ratings based on 8,996 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

I thought I was being punked!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Directly across from Penn Station.
Cons: Rennovate!
Location: NY is literally at your footsteps, located directly across from Penn station, you can ride underground anywhere
This is in my top 2 worst hotel experiences, second only to a very pricey hotel that resulted in bed bug bites! It took us almost an hour to check in. It was painfully slow with only 2 ppl working the counter. The woman who checked us in was extremely slow, and in the middle of check in stops to get herself a glass of water. The hotel smelled of its age, there were random odd doors in the corridors propped shut with towels. We checked in after midnight, went to eat, came back to take a shower and the shower head is broken. Water is spraying all over the ceiling, walls, toilet, toilet paper and all the towels. My second call downstairs, 25 minutes after the first to see when someone will arrive to fix this, the woman rudely said, she has no idea when, she put the call in but he could be anywhere. really??? So I had to remind her that I spent way to much money to not be able to take a shower, if we cant get it fixed I wanted a new room. 5 minutes later someone arrived to fix it, with much attitude, not an apology, nothing! No one cleaned up the mess once the shower head was fixed, left the water, wet towels, and soggy toilet paper. I had to call downstairs to get more towels. You paid extra for everything! Old box TV's, dust hanging from the ceiling, stained carpet, this place was bad!!!! The line to reception never had less than 10 people waiting to check in, so you couldn't access reception. An amazing location is the ONLY thing this place has to offer! Believe the reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

great location in Manhattan

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: The fact that the room was in a quiet position in the Hotel and we were able to sleep well because of little noise. The location of the hotel.
Cons: Decor, staff attitude and their over all knowledge of how to help clients. Complete Hotel renovation!
Location: Everything on the doorstep. Station over the road. restaurants nearby. Ease of walking to tourist attractions.
Reception staff when signing in were not welcoming or very polite. We were not offered any information on the hotel facilities or directed to our rooms. We were given breakfast vouchers but not told where to dine. The lobby is not inviting and very dark. Lots of noise and people around this area. Decor is badly in need of an update. The room was very disappointing. Large but dark dismal and drab. The sink and toilet were cracked and the door into the bathroom was split and unpainted. The room service and cleanliness left a lot to be desired!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unmaintained hotel in the heart of Manhattan

Posted Sep 18, 2014
This hotel is had very little updates since it opened (atleast the room I stayed in). The carpet was dirty, there were hand prints on the walls, paint chipping in the bathrooms, stains on the shower curtains and reeked of chlorine and bleach. The hallways smelled of cigarette smoke and you could hear what was going on in them from your room. The staff at the front desk were not very friendly and already helping another guest before I could leave the desk. They charged me $5 to hold my bag for half of a day, something I've never experienced in all my hotel stays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U K

Hotel needs money spent on it

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Worst staff I have dealt with no smiles and everything seems like hard work to them
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Great location, across from Penn Station. Room was ok very basic and slightly run down. Place needs modernising. Iiguess all you want in New York is a place too sleep unless you are willing to pay more for accomodation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

The only thing going for this hotel is location

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Too many things to mention
Location: Right on top of penn station, short walk to times square
Check in staff did not tell us about the complimentary breakfast so we didn't use it for 2 days. I complained about the rooms cleanliness but nothing was done about it. Housekeeping was always noisy in the hallways at early hours. The hotel is very shabby and the beds in the standard rooms are so small and there is absolutely no floor space to open your suitcase without tripping over it, let alone if there are two suitcases. Overall not a very pleasant stay, except that the location was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KSA

it was a night mare

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: the whole hotel needs to be innveoition
Location: I don't like that hotel neither I like new york
when we enter this hotel around 1:00 am in the morning , first the staff are lazy and very slow and the service was very bad and this not the issue the hotel smells bad and we enter the rooms me and my wife were gonna throw up from the room . the hotel looks like a haunted house and it looks like it was built in the world war 1 . We had a horrible time in that hotel and the next day we checked out .. we ran away I don't know how this hotel can find customers or because it's low price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

nice landmark

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The lobby is impressive, large brightly lit and enough seating. Friendly front desk staff.
Cons: CLEAN THE ROOMS AND CARPET.
Location: The location cannot be faulted. Transportation, place to eat , night life all there.
Booked this hotel on a work colleague's recommendation. Told good location and the rooms are ok, if you are not planning all day in your room. However 48 hours before arrival I read a few negatives reviews and thought that the reviewers came with too high an hope. However upon arrival, I was greeted to a gleaming , busy lobby and very helpful staff. I was two hours early for official check-in, but was indeed given a room immediately. So you can imagine my shock when I got to my superior room, to find a very small room , very dirty carpet, rusty aircon( which I think if I switched it on would fall apart). Stepped out in the corridor and saw a house keeper and enquired was this really superior king room and she said yes and showed me two more rooms. Exactly like mine all in a sorry state. Decided this place wasn't for me and spend the next few hours looking locally for somewhere to stay. Not a nice start to my holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

My favorite hotel in NY

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The best thing about this hotel is its location, j minutes from State Emprire, 10 from Times Square, everything is very close.
Cons: Improve the lighting in the hallways and should provide free internet to all guests.
Location: 5 minutes from Empire Stare, 10 from Times Square, 5 minutes from the best clothing stores. The main subway station is on the corner.
Definitely this is my favorite hotel for its price and location. It is an old hotel but its facilities are in constant repair. My room was freshly painted. The best thing about this hotel is its location, 2 blocks from State Emprire, 10 minutes from Times Square, across from Madison Square Garden, and the entrance to the main subway station on the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Location, location location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and knew what to expect. The foyer is nice but the rest of the hotel has seen better days. The main thing was that my room was very clean with plenty of fresh towels. The bed was comfortable and the air con kept the room cool. The staff were very kind and , as I am disabled, made sure that I had everything I needed at breakfast. I lost my camera during my visit but the guy in the shop found it, checked out the pictures of my daughters wedding and got it back to me. I really appreciated that. And what a fabulous location. Just down from Times Square and close to 42nd street but without the noise. I think that the condition of the hotel is reflected in the price What makes me want to go back is the staff and the location