Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Classic hotel on the upper east side

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Restaurant prices should be more reasonable
Location: The Met, restaurants, Central Park, shopping
Great, welcoming staff. Perfect location. Steps away from Madison Avenue but on a quiet street. A block away from Central Park
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 5 Star Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Service.
Cons: Total renovation
Location: Great location. close to shops on Madison Ave.
Rooms were not ready at 3:45pm on Check-in day. No Expedia +VIP room upgrade. We have 2 rooms. 1 room has a nice bathroom and the other has an old (1980's) bathroom with cracks on marble floor. Overall hotel is old and in need of renovation. Based solely on condition and appearance of hotel, its at BEST a 4 star facility. Staff were generally very polite and service was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Wow!!!

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Location: Block and a half from Central Park and the Zoo.
The hotel staff was extremely attentive to our family. The Concierge's and entire staff were extremely helpful and attentive to all our needs. It was the first time the family had been to New York so they were very good at guiding us to places to eat and how to get places (especially at busier times). Great experience. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Cons: Interior is a little dated
Nice hotel at a fair price for NY. Staff was great. The interior was a little dated, but not bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small hotel with great location.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Very friendly and professional service. Upgraded us to smoking room after confirmation from Expedia for a smoking room was not communicated to hotel. Tired decor and very antiquated bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
This hotel is in a really good location and all the staff are really friendly and will help you as much as they can! The rooms were nice and comfortable and in general it was a very good stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Lieu magnifique de part son architecture et la décoration intérieure qui est vraiment très belle. La chambre était parfaite et spacieuse. Le personnel de l'hôtel est exceptionnel. La nourriture est excellente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lovely old Hotel with beautiful amenities.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Nearly everything.
Cons: They do need to straighten out their cable issues - many people like to unwind with movies or tv when they travel.
Location: Fantastic location - walking distance from many museums for those who like to walk, and very close to wonderful shopping.
This was a marvelous hotel - beautiful, clean, elegant. The only thing that was wrong is that the cable didn't work, so that when we wanted to watch a movie, we couldn't. They came up to the room three times that night and an engineer came the second day, but no one could get it working - they blamed Time Warner Cable. I hope they can get this all fixed before long, and it definitely hurt my opinion of the hotel in the long term. They did offer us a lovely breakfast as an apology, which was very nice, and had the Hotel car take us to a couple of places we would have taken a taxi to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice quiet hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
We want a little nice hotel to celebrate our daughter birthday. Plaza Athénée was great. Nice location, the staff very warm and profession. There are many restaurants around the bloke to have breakfast or a nice diner. We would be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2015
We stayed for one night it was our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel provided chocolate covered strawberries and made a hart out I of rose petals it was so beautiful and the room was very nice and cozy. We loved it