Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allen from Atlanta

Good location, good staff and clean room.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Cons: The room AC unit is out off date. The five star hotel still use motel AC. The fan was so noisy and it does no make any cool. We open window when sleep
The hotel is very pleasing to stay. The location is very good to every where and to our daughter's home. The staff are very friendly and profession. The room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in NYC

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Staff and elegant charm.
Location: Nice to be near Central Park, and long walking distance to Times Square, Macys, MoMa, etc. Not many restaurants nearby.
Very nice hotel with exceptionally helpful and responsive staff. A pleasure to stay for 3 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and a very pleasant stay!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wi Fi should be free of charge in all the premises, as in hotels I choose nowadays
Location: Shopping, nice restaurants, walk araound
A very nice welcome! A wonderful staff that makes your stay a good experience from the very beginning. Excellent room service, housekeeping, cleanliness. I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Nice and very polite staff. Good location which is very close to Madison Avenue's boutiques.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great location, very nice hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
staff lovely, room could have been nicer as 5 star, food v expensive!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 24, 2014
The Spa is not the usual sauna , steam room and jacuzzi - rather it is a small steam facility in an area where one has to pay for a treatment! I thought this a significant drawback especially since we could have similar facilities for two thirds the price - so I feel a little disappointed and let down. Staff were super and extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jwoodcreative from Oakville, On

Elegant and quaint

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location, hotel charm, and staff.
Cons: Room heater was a tad noisy.
Location: 64th and Madison. Upper east side. Wonderful italian restaurant within 5 min walk, Bar Italia. Central Park and subway near by.
Lovely hotel with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. They have a great lounge on the main floor that is perfect for cocktail hour and planning your next day's activities. Great Apple Martini! My only complaint if any, is that I inquired about a room with two queen beds instead of one king, but the rate increase was much too expensive for what seemed like a simple request.
2 out of 5
by alberto from Rancho Santa Fe, Ca.

Not the Plaza Athenee from Paris.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: It need a major remodel !!! Old rooms, old bathrooms, old restaurant under staffed.
Location: Museums, Park, luxury shopping !
This hotel is very well located but it uses the name of the top hotel from Paris Plaza Athenee a true 5 star hotel. This NY Plaza Athenee is old and its hardly a 4 star, I felt tricked. Its over priced for what it is.
3 out of 5
by Seahawks from Seattle

Nice and expensive

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Very nice staff in clean hotel in great location. Small room with view of an ally definitely not worth the price. Really 7$ for a slice of toast? $16 charged for someone to bring my bags to my room? Get real. I won't be back and can't imagine why anyone thinks this is worth what they charge, no matter the size of their bank account.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by santiago

excellent hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
a very very special hotel from the good old days that has been kept in great condition. every corner of the hotel feels like a scene from the "mad men" tv series. the location is unbeatable, hard to think of a better location on the upper east. a quiet street close to all the busy and hectic ones.