Ratings based on 3,685 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Prime location with everything on your doorstep.

Posted May 28, 2015
Hotel more than met my expectations........would definitely book again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Great location in the heart of Manhattan

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Location, helpful friendly staff
Cons: The bed, needs new mattress!
Location: Excellent location, in midtown Manhattan so walking distance to Broadway shows, Times Square, NBC studios, Empire State etc
Very nice, quiet Hotel walking distance to Broadway shows, Times Square etc. Good size hotel room, with roomy bathroom and luxury amenities. But time for a new mattress! Bed was very soft and uncomfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

A quiet retreat away from the rush & noise of NYC

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Location, good attitude of staff, room quiet and fair size.
Cons: Bed could be slightly harder but I like a rock hard beds
Location: 1 road from Times Sq. Good central location for all the main central sights which are in easy walking distance Empire state, MOMA, Rockerfeller etc
A very nice hotel just round the corner from Times Square where you can unwind and relax after a busy day. Décor is good condition. Staff are friendly (and unlike what some other review say about fake French accents, they really do speak French at reception). It was my wife's birthday and the hotel arranged a cake ( a nice and unexpected touch). Slight mishap when checking in as we were given a room which was already occupied. However reception sorted this out immediately. Had to wait 40 minutes for our luggage to be brought up to the room and had to chase this as they could not find the bags so we had to give a description of them. To make up for this, reception sent up a bottle of champagne which was greatly appreciated. People will make mistakes however it is how you deal with it that counts. The reception staff at Sofitel NYC certainly did a super job in responding without any prompting or quibbles. The room was very quiet (15th floor) and we got good night sleep as we are light sleepers. The room size is sufficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay again if I were to visit NYC in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

A Memorable Experience

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: I love the fresh flower and candles in the bathroom. That was a wonderful touch. The turn down service was with water was an added touch.
Location: The location was close to most things we needed.
My stay at the Sofitel was a very pleasant experience. Every person that I encountered was friendly, nice and helpful. I would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SLC Ut

Perfect place to stay in New York

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: It was very inviting. I loved the fresh flowers. When I come back to New York, this is where I'll stay.
Location: It was close to all the theaters and some really good restaurants and bars.
The staff were wonderful. Very helpful. and quick! The hotel was a perfect location for the theater and for dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON Canada

Excellent Location. Very comfortable bed!!

Posted May 27, 2015
We stayed at the Sofitel New York for 2 nights. Prime, upscale location. Very close to Time Square and Broadway. It is located in a quiet street just 5 minutes from Times Square. Very posh area. The room was spacious. Bed is comfortable. It is a pretty old hotel so don't expect the newest technology and modern designs on the room or the lobby, but the hotel is very clean and staff is professional. I would definitely return to Sofitel New York when I visit NYC again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Lovely central hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Sofitel is in the perfect location for almost all attractions in New York City! Only 2 blocks from Times Square and short walks to The Rockefeller Center, Grand Central, Empire State, Public Library and 5th Ave. for all the amazing shopping! Perfect hotel with very helpful staff and service is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cd de Mexico, antiguo residente de NYC

MUY BUEN HOTEL EN MIDTOWN A PRECIO RAZONBLE

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: La amabiliday eficiencia del personal, la comodidad y limpieza de las habitaciones y sobre todo la localizacion.
Cons: El room service es bueno pero algo lento.
Location: La calle 44 entre la 5a y 6a avenidas donde esta el hotel mezcla restaurantes finos y economicos, farmacias y bancos, varios hoteles y oficinas.
Estuvimos toda la familia en el Sofitel a finales de Mayo, en dos habitaciones, yo y mi spoa cincuentones, la hija joven y la abuela.. Las habitaciones y banos del hotel son excelentes, asi como el resaurant. El personal tanto de recepcion como el conserje y el servico a cuartos son extraordinariamente amables. En la calle los porteros son super atentos y muy ayudadores, son unos mags para conseguir taxis incluso a las horas de muy alta demanda. La ubicacion del hotel es magnifica, ya que a una cuadara esta la 5a avenida con tiendas como Saks y Lord and Taylor, y atracciones como la catedral de San Patricio y Rockefeller cCenter. Asimismo, rumbo a la 6a avenida ados cuadras esta Times Square, los teaotros y mas restaurantes. Junto al hotel en la calle 44 hay un muy buen rstaurant frances americano y una cafeteria informal donde se puede desayunar o cenar sencillo estilo dinner a precios muy abajao del promedio de NYC. La clientela del Sofitel son adultos jovenes de vaaciones, parejas mayores y algo de gente de negocios, casi nada de familias con ninos. Definitivamente yo y mi familia regresariamos al Sofitel la proxima vez que visitemos NYC.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Ordinary hotel room for a "luxury room"

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Its convenience.
Cons: If someone reserves a "luxury room" rather than a standard room, try to give the person a higher floor and not with a view of another office building.
We had booked a "luxury room," and I asked for a higher floor when checking in. We were given floor 10, and the view was another high-rise office building--you can see people in that building clearly, and so you know they can see you--so we had to keep the curtain closed to give ourselves some privacy, and it felt very claustrophobic either with the curtains open or closed. The room is small--not extraordinarily small, but basically is just like any other ordinary hotel room. The point is that, if I had paid for it at a standard room rate, I would not mind; but for a higher rate, I would like to see some difference. If this is a "luxury room," I shudder to think what a "standard room" is like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus IN

Lovely hotel with a lovely location

Posted May 21, 2015
The hotel was beautiful, the staff very welcoming and the location perfect.