Ratings based on 2,437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sue from uk

Very comfortable hotel in excellent location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Room with beautifl bathroom; sylish public areas, helpful staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Close to Times Square, the subway and therefore everything in New York!
Stayed 6 nights - enjoyed all aspects of the hotel but we didn;t have any meals there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan

Couldn't fault the hotel or the location.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Great location in Midtown area close to many of the major attractions and transport links to the rest of Manhatten. Short walk to Times Square and theatre district was handy too. Hotel had an authentic Art Deco feel to it. Staff were great - friendly and helpful and plenty on hand so you were never waiting long to be served. The concierge team were also superb with great restaurant recommendations. The Greek and 'Strip' steak restaurants on the same road were superb. There was also a brilliant no frills diner called the Red Flame which was always busy and was ideal for breakfast. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was excellent and very clean and the bed very comfortable. Thoroughly recommended for a city break in NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Georgia

Perfect Location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Service, decor, how pleasant every employee was, food, and location.
Cons: Not one thing!
Location: Theaters in the Times Square, Fifth Avenue shopping, Central Park and LOTS of restaurants are right in the neighborhood.
From the time the Sofitel doorman opened our cab door, the attention and service we received was excellent. The concierge met us in the lobby as we entered the hotel to offer his support with show tickets and dinner reservations. The person who checked us in was warm and helpful. Our room (European in size) had lovely, comfortable linens and Lanvin supplies in the bath. Housekeeping was done in a timely matter. Room service for breakfast was prompt, delicious and plentiful. Yummy chocolate croissants! The hotel bar Gaby's is quite the meeting place in NYC. Trendy atmosphere, nice bar menu and very good service. We enjoyed our "girls" weekend in NY at the perfect location in midtown for shows, restaurants and shopping. It is just a short taxi or subway ride from the Sofitel to any other area in Manhattan. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from lanarkshire scotland

Peaceful oasis in the middle of the big apple.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location, peaceful ambience.
Cons: Storage space in the suites.
Location: Skip to 5th avenue, Bryant park, grand central and well located for subway stations on a number of lines., walk to macys, Empire State, Central Park.
This was a special hotel for a special occasion. We went to NYC to get married so the choice of hotel was crucial for an unforgettable week and Sofitel delivered on all levels. The suite was lovely, spacious, well appointed with an amazing bathroom and so quiet, it's hard to believe your 1.5 blocks from Times Square. We celebrated a wedding and 2 birthdays and the bottle of champagne the hotel sent with their compliments was a lovely gesture. The staff were amazing, from doorman to receptionist to the staff in Gaby. My only criticism was storage space in a suite for potentially four people a single wardrobe was all that was available, however in a classic double there was double the wardrobe capacity.
1 out of 5
by Mark from London

Chanel bag stolen from room.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See description above
The hotel is very central and in pristine condition. Staff were pretty nice to deal with but on the last night we had our bags packed before going out for dinner, the next morning when we were leaving a chanel handbag that had been with our luggage in the room was not there. We didn't have time to wait around for a search of the hotel in the morning and upon our return home it took approx 5 calls to Sofitel before anyone got back to advise, simply, that the bag had not been found in the room. On a number of calls we were forwarded to 'lost and found' which went straight to voicemail and there was not sense that out request was even being handled. For the price paid to stay there, this was extermely dissapointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lou and Bex from cumbria

Friendly hotel in central location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Fabulous hotel - excellent location -friendly helpful staff- clean, comfortable room. Diners and cafés close by for breakfast and snacks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel/Comfortable Bed

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Location: Conveniently located. We walked to 5th Ave, to our Broadway plays, and to central park without any difficulty.
Went for our anniversary and had a very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly. The queen bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on. The bathroom was nice and updated. Loved the Art Deco décor. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in a great location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Such a nice staff and a beautiful hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Texas

Nice hotel near midtown

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Health department rating on the restaurant - B.
Location: Prime location near Time Square.
The staff and total environment were wonderful. The only thing we did not understand was why the restaurant was given a B by the health department. However, most of the surrounding restaurants are rated with an A. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Friendliness/clean/location
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Room rugs need a deep cleaning