Ratings based on 3,539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Excellent hotel, midtown location

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location Room quality
We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. It's in a great location, is luxurious and quiet, with very comfortable rooms. Easy walking distance to theatres, Grand Central and plenty of shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Perfect stay at a perfect location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Comfort, quiet, and the location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near famous Sardi's restaurant and Virgil's BBQ. Steps away from attractions like Rockefellar, Times Square and near Empire State Building.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. The staff are very eager to please and the rooms lived up to our expectations. The rooms are very quiet and the beds are super comfortable. The location is ideal, near times square and broadway shows. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: see above
When I checked in I asked about the roof top bar or lounge shown on their website as I am a photographer and wanted to shoot the NYC views only to be told that the view was taken from one of their suite. The gentlemen standing next to me at check in said "what? That's why I booked this hotel as I am a photographer as well. Also, it really inconvenient not to have a coffee machine in room so that you have to get dressed and go to lobby to get coffee - that's just not right. Guess I won't be booking their hotel this summer in Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northamptonshire UK

First Time In New York

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything, staff, location and the whole experience.
Cons: Wifi needs to be available without passwords/access codes and should be available throughout your stay without having to reload and log in each day.
Location: The most convenient location, couldn't be better for everything a tourist would want to do.
Fabulous hotel, very professional and the most perfect location. Staff all very friendly and couldn't help you more. Wifi was a bit tricky at first but the staff soon sorted it out for us. Would definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great Hotel and location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Location and Exceptional staff
Cons: They should have some type of security for the late hour entry. Anyone can walk in to the hotel and go up in the elevator.
Location: About 3 blocks to time square and theatres.
Stayed here before and once again had a great stay. We booked a luxury king room When we got to the room they had given us a queen room instead. When we called the front desk they said that they showed a luxury queen room booked. I had my expedia itinerary confirming a king was paid for. It took them awhile to find a King room - they were fully booked. The room we finally got was not a luxury king but we couldn't wait around all evening while they continued their search. We had tickets to see a show. The room also had a roll away in it. On our way out that evening we asked them to take it away. They didn't. We had to ask again the next morning. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary - and they were very nice to bring champagne and cake to our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fz new york

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Personnel pas efficace !!! Le rom service n'est pas agréable pour un hôtel de cette catégorie je ne le recommande pas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Blue Point, NY

Great central location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Great central location
Wonderful stay, nice size room with beautiful bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Lovely hotel, perfect location. staff very polite and happy. Hotel very well maintained, beautifully clean and service very efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the middle of town

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Close to a lot of attractions . Stayed there for 6 days .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Great location, exceptional service

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Nice size - not too large; great location; fantastic service - above and beyond!
Location: Great theatre and dining all within a couple of blocks; short walk to Central Park, museums, great shopping; Bryant Park - special at Christmas!
Stayed for 3 nights to catch theatre, celebrate friend's milestone birthday. Had a great 3 days in NYC - no better city to get inspired by Christmas season. Wasn't aware of this hotel, but it looked nice as part of flight + hotel package - we were quite pleasantly surprised!