Ratings based on 2,561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointing but still nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It's a beautiful hotel; it's French which is good for a Francophile like myself, and it is in a great location.
Cons: The service.
Location: Theatre, shopping museums are all in walking distance.
I love the Sofitel Hotel and up until this stay, I have had nothing but excellent reviews. However, it seems as though there may have been a change in staff for a number of things went wrong. After checking in, it took over 2 hours and 3 phone calls for the house staff to bring a second luggage rack. On both mornings, room service failed to bring what was ordered. The remote control to the TV didn't work but we manually figured out how to turn it on and off. The bathroom sink had a problem. Then, one evening we went to the Bar, ordered drinks and a cheese plate; we finished our drinks and 40 minutes later no cheese plate arrived. We wanted to at least pay for the drinks but couldn't wait any longer, so we went to the desk outside the bar and they told us to wait and went looking for our waiter. In any event, they did not charge us, but the service was very disappointing as compared to what we had enjoyed before.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed was bad

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Allot
Not great for USD 300 a night. Bed was really bad, like at grandma's
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qatar

Great hotel. Convenient and comfy.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location. Comfort Convenience Room is good.
Cons: They should put coffee facility in room.
Location: Nearby broadway and 5th avenue for shopping.
Very good location. Nice rooms and all good. Highly recommended. All staff polite efficient and rooms very clean. Room has good eminities,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Great Hotel, great location and wonderful service!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Everything! It is a French Hotel, and food can make you fill like you in Paris. Staff speak English and French, cool experience. Place for couples.
Location: Almost everything is in walking distance.
From the entrance to the last moment we experience nothing but great service, concierge Vladimir was above the top. Room very clean and just like in the photo, check in was very fast and pleasant, front desk staff is WOW! Breakfast, diner, room service was great every time. We will come back, and if you never visit NY city just go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Very comfortable with perfect location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very happy with this hotel. If you're looking for a clean, quiet, super comfortable bed, this is the place for you! We were impressed with the speed of the elevators, hardly had to wait for one and zipped up or down in no time. The room size was very adequate and the bathroom was my favourite...loved the shower! They always had fresh apples in the lobby which was very handy to take on your way out for the day. The location couldn't be better. We easily walked to Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building, great central location. The staff was very courteous and always greeted you in a friendly manner. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality hotel in the heart of NYC

Posted Aug 6, 2014
A 2-day stopover into NYC demanded that I stay in a location that is close to the very best of what the city has to offer. True to that philisophy the Hotel Sofitel NYs location is A-grade. In addition the staff are courteous and friendly and the rooms are luxurious and kept clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: location, cleanliness, quality of the room and the hotel in general
great, loved it. we will definitely stay again on our next trip to the big apple. we have been before and this was the best hotel yet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Perfect Stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Perfect location...Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall all within walking distance.
From the moment we arrived, the staff were incredible. We arrived early in the morning after an all-night flight and were given our room immediately. We expected to have to drop our bags and wait until 3:00pm normal check-in time, but they let us in very early. The beds are amazing, the room is very quiet and the bathroom was huge and very elegant with a nice deep tub and a very large glass shower. After we checked-out, we left our bags with the concierge and did some last minute shopping. We returned to the hotel for lunch and mentioned that we had come to NYC to celebrate my husband's birthday. The waiter brought him three beautiful pastries with a candle and "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate on the plate. Such wonderful, personal service here. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Room service. When they take the food order, and read it back and still mess it up, that should be addressed. Television reception should be fixed
Location: Location was great for shopping on 5&6 Avenues. And I felt totally convenient spot of the city to get everywhere.
I was in NYC for a wedding, and stayed at the Hotel Sofitel on 44th Street for 3 nights. It was a beautiful, roomy, pretty and comfortable room. I had ordered room service each day, since I was unfortunately, dealing with some lower back issues and did not venture out to grab a bite. The food was really great, arrived in a reasonable amount of time, but they had not once gotten my order right. Either things were forgotten, or completely wrong. To me its not a big deal, but the staff was profusely apologetic and speedy in correcting the errors. The front desk was very nice, and the doormen got cabs for me immediately. The television reception left a lot to be desired. I loved the set up of the hotel and the quietness of it, as I was resting in the room more than, out and enjoying the city. Generally speaking, when you book a hotel, you are usually only there to sleep and shower when visiting someplace. I spent a lot of time in the room, and wold definitely stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Wonderful

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Lovely hotel in a perfect location for business or tourism. The peaceful atmosphere of the lobby and lovely cafe/bar also was pervasive in the rooms. No street noise is a major accomplishment in Manhattan. Would happily return.