Ratings based on 2,630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan,mi

Close to times square

Posted Oct 21, 2014
I like my stay at the hotel.its only 2 minutes walking away from times square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Room Flooded Last Night - Manager MIA

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Very nice decor.
Cons: Customer Service could be improved. When I ask to speak with the Manager I expect a phone call at least.
Location: It's Manhattan, there's always something amazing right down the street from wherever you are.
On our final night a "clog in the shower" caused the room to partially flood while my wife took a bath. Once I noticed water coming out into the room and reported the problem, it took 45 mins for the staff to react and, although we were eventually relocated, my requests to speak with the manager were ignored. We never spoke to anyone, or had an opportunity to express our disappointment. We were never offered any compensation, and we never received an apology at all...not one word of regret on behalf of the management. It was a hazardous and disruptive situation and we had to dry some of our clothes with a hair dryer. It was as if the staff were so embarrassed that they went into hiding instead of assuring us we were valued customers and coming to check on us...in fact we did not feel like valued customers at all. Things happen, the world is imperfect, but under those circumstances, and without any verbal apology for the inconvenience, I have to say it was not worth the price and not at all what I would call "luxury".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Rather misleading.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
A standard business hotel with comfortable rooms but rather antiseptic. We were typical tourists and booked hotel primarily due to the "rooftop bar" so prominently shown on the photos of the website. However when we enquires about this we were advised that this was a private bar not open to the public. Disappointing, and as it was clear this was not the first time they had been asked the same question to be honest very misleading. That said it is in great central position and staff were all very courteous and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Superb hotel, very close to Times Square

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything really. No complaints at all. Very Comfortable
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Empire State building is about 10 mins walk away as are many Broadway Theatres. Times Square and shops even closer.
This Hotel is in a very convenient convenient position for most of the major sights in New York, practically on Times Square and only a stones throw from Broadway. Checking in was friendly and painless. Our room was on the 11th floor and remarkably very quiet. The very clean room was also larger than expected, with all the usual amenities. No kettle or tea / coffee making facilities though. The huge Queen bed was extremely comfortable and welcoming after a day's sightseeing. Plenty of storage space. The bar was good and no more expensive than any other hotel. Checking out was also painless. All the staff were very friendly, approachable and helpful. Try the "Red Flame ' Diner, just up the street toward Times Square, for a brilliant breakfast at a good price, with friendly and very efficient service. Walk in the opposite direction to the harbour for Circle line Cruises, the evening cruise was stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class....at a reasonable cost

Posted Oct 16, 2014
All is good...location, staff, comfort! This will be my go to hotel in ny
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sylvan Lake, Alberta

First timers perfect locale

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, location, restaurant, although expensive was excellent.
Cons: a bistro or café and a small store in the hotel for late night snacks
Location: Fifth Ave, Times Square, great streets to visit
we really enjoyed our stay, hotel staff was great, I read the reviews before we booked and found everyone to be awesome, if you had a bad experience I suspect you are a bit of a problem child. the hotel was located in perfect vicinity to all the best places to see, Grand Central, Fifth Ave, Times Square, etc. Awesome breakfast 1/2 block away, best steak two doors down. Everyone was amazing, we loved to see it for the first time but we are country folk at heart, we own in Arizona and that's the place for us. City is awesome but you really need to be wealthy to live and stay in Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Hotel ... make sure no Parades are going on

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Parade notification prior to booking would be helpfull... at their rates guests should have access to hotel 24/7
Location: Great location when no parade going on, which i understand there is one parade monthly at least, we had two on one weekend.
Great experience with the exception that Hotel only advised guest of parade the night before the parade... we stayed during Columbus Day weekend and both Sunday and Monday streets around hotel were closed for cars and pedestrians, was a nightmare getting back to hotel or around the area... Hotel should have advised guests a few days in advance and not the night before. Otherwise great location great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sofitel is my French home away from home!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
This is my favorite hotel in the world! I can't wait to go back again! Everything is always perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The hotel is great. Most of my experience was perfect except for one thing. We had dinner on Saturday night. The service was slow, I waited over an hour for our entrees. When they finally brought them out it was not what I ordered. If I wasn't pressed for time due to having to get to the theater, I would have complained to the manager. I did notice that two other tables had already complained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Staff and massive TV.
Cons: Air con in lobby , bar and restaurant freezing
Location: Excellent location. Hard to find better.
Had a great stay but the weather was just turning cold and the restaurant and bar seemed to have the air conditioned on extremely cold. It seems only minor but we had to find other places to eat and drink. The hotel is missing out on some valuable income