Ratings based on 2,515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Hotel Close to Times Square

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
Cons: I truly have no complaints.
Location: Near Times Square, we went to 4 theaters, Rockefeller Center, shopping and walked to every one.
We Had an excellent 4 night stay at the Hotel Sofitel NY. Very helpful, accommodating, courteous staff. Clean, comfortable room. Close to Times Square. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
very clean and very friendly staff. So helpful when asking questions about cities and will make reservations. Will def stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

great hotel, great staff, great location.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
my wife and i stayed at the Sofitel NYC ! for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. it is just a 10 minute walk to almost any broadway show. we were upgraded to a higher floor with a nice view. some suggestions to make this an even better hotel: improve food at Gaby's. breakfast was very average. and not some much "perfume" smell in the lobby area. my wife and i have stayed at the sofitel's chain in paris, philadelphia and washington DC. they are all alike and the NYC location is at the top.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great central hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Have stayed in New York a few times before and the Sofitel is by far the best. Great location and very clean. Rooms are s good size and the free wifi in your room is more than capable of holding a Skype call home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Choice

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Clean, upscale, quiet location. Centrally located to everything. As a first time visitor to New York City - we couldn't have picked a better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario,Canada

Great Stay

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location was great between short walk to the subway and Fifth Avenue shopping. Great location for shopping, sightseeing and restaurants.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, sightseeing and subway.
We arrived at the hotel after an early morning flight, they were very accommodating and gave us an early check in. The staff was very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful. They even had a bottle of wine we had bought opened for us when we did not have a corkscrew and brought it back with two wine glasses. Over and above what I expected. The staff from the doorman, front desk staff, maid and everyone we had contact with was very professional. There is nothing negative that I can say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, Lanvin toiletries
Cons: More attention to in room daily housekeeping
Location: Times square, Broadway, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, 5th ave.
Found the lobby and rooms to be fairly highly perfumed. On the first night of 3, our room had only a cursory go-over. (ice bucket which we had filled was moved into closet and contained melted ice from night before, washcloths not replaced) Second and third nights were much better. Helpful staff and perfect location, good in house restaurant and easy to get a table (Gabys). Very quiet considering mid town location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great hotel, just what you would expect from the Hotel Sofitel. Nice room, clean and modern, beds are very comfortable. Staff was excellent, helpful and polite. Location is great 3 blocks from Grand Central station and a couple of blocks from Times Square. Close to restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay there again when in NY.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Overrated

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location, bathroom
Cons: Bathroom mirror had a lot of dust on the top portion. Valet parking for your car is $50 a day.
Location: Walking distance to Times Square and Central Park South
This hotel is listed as a luxury hotel on Expedia and I don't think it qualifies for that. It is walking distance to Times Square and Cental Park but that's really it. Entrance is pretty impressive but sort of weird, since the front desk is actually in the rear after you walk through the valet desk hall, sitting room, foyer and elevators. We arrived late (1AM) so there were no other guests but the hostess was not particularly friendly. After a quick check in we headed up to our room (60.... something, cannot remember anymore) first room from the elevator on the right. View is of the neighboring rooftops - which is fine with us, since we did not spend any time in the room. Room was pretty big in New York hotel standards but with lots of waisted space. I have chosen the queen bed option to save money but the room could easy home a king bed with space to spare. Bed was not comfortable for us but that's just personal preference. Room had good size bathroom with shower and tub as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, AL

Great location!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The hotel is very nice! It's location is perfect- right in the heart of Midtown within walking distance to Times Square, Broadway shows, Grand Central Station, Bryant Park and the NY Library.