Ratings based on 2,569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Excellent hotel and staff! Great value in mid town Manhattan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location. Rooms comfortable and very clean with the best beds we have ever had in a hotel. Bathroom supplies constantly replenished.
Cons: Could bottled water be supplied. The internet in the business centre went down and took a day to fix.
Location: Close to Times Square and Theatre District. Five minutes from Grand Central Station.
Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. The lobby was welcoming and beautifully furnished with stunning floral displays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Gracious

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Lovely..staff wonderful... Concierge helpful...bed.. Perfect. Only one negative. We did not receive Expedia upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in convenient midtown location.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The hotel has outstanding service and an attentive staff. I like the international vibe. Love the lobby decor. And the large bathroom in our room.
Location: This is a terrific central location, especially if you want to see some theatre during your stay.
My wife and I enjoyed three nights here in August and would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great accessible central location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Fantastic hotel- a haven of calm in a busy city. Service wonderful and beds very comfortable - a key requirement after a busy day sightseeing! Very accessible to all main attractions with friendly helpful staff when needed. Definitely stay in this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

NYC-Manhattan

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Fitness Center
Cons: When I arrived, the ice machine was not working on my floor or the next 2 floors above. Since I have stayed here before , I just went to 10th floor
Location: That is the reason I have chosen this hotel, but have to re-think about that after this trip.
I stayed at this Hotel just 6 weeks ago and gave it rave reviews. I am not sure if there were management changes that caused this Hotel to reduce my ratings, but that would be my guess. I do like their fitness center, as it has a better state of the art equipment than most.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointing but still nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It's a beautiful hotel; it's French which is good for a Francophile like myself, and it is in a great location.
Cons: The service.
Location: Theatre, shopping museums are all in walking distance.
I love the Sofitel Hotel and up until this stay, I have had nothing but excellent reviews. However, it seems as though there may have been a change in staff for a number of things went wrong. After checking in, it took over 2 hours and 3 phone calls for the house staff to bring a second luggage rack. On both mornings, room service failed to bring what was ordered. The remote control to the TV didn't work but we manually figured out how to turn it on and off. The bathroom sink had a problem. Then, one evening we went to the Bar, ordered drinks and a cheese plate; we finished our drinks and 40 minutes later no cheese plate arrived. We wanted to at least pay for the drinks but couldn't wait any longer, so we went to the desk outside the bar and they told us to wait and went looking for our waiter. In any event, they did not charge us, but the service was very disappointing as compared to what we had enjoyed before.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed was bad

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Allot
Not great for USD 300 a night. Bed was really bad, like at grandma's
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qatar

Great hotel. Convenient and comfy.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location. Comfort Convenience Room is good.
Cons: They should put coffee facility in room.
Location: Nearby broadway and 5th avenue for shopping.
Very good location. Nice rooms and all good. Highly recommended. All staff polite efficient and rooms very clean. Room has good eminities,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Great Hotel, great location and wonderful service!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Everything! It is a French Hotel, and food can make you fill like you in Paris. Staff speak English and French, cool experience. Place for couples.
Location: Almost everything is in walking distance.
From the entrance to the last moment we experience nothing but great service, concierge Vladimir was above the top. Room very clean and just like in the photo, check in was very fast and pleasant, front desk staff is WOW! Breakfast, diner, room service was great every time. We will come back, and if you never visit NY city just go!