Ratings based on 2,624 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class....at a reasonable cost

Posted Oct 16, 2014
All is good...location, staff, comfort! This will be my go to hotel in ny
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sylvan Lake, Alberta

First timers perfect locale

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, location, restaurant, although expensive was excellent.
Cons: a bistro or café and a small store in the hotel for late night snacks
Location: Fifth Ave, Times Square, great streets to visit
we really enjoyed our stay, hotel staff was great, I read the reviews before we booked and found everyone to be awesome, if you had a bad experience I suspect you are a bit of a problem child. the hotel was located in perfect vicinity to all the best places to see, Grand Central, Fifth Ave, Times Square, etc. Awesome breakfast 1/2 block away, best steak two doors down. Everyone was amazing, we loved to see it for the first time but we are country folk at heart, we own in Arizona and that's the place for us. City is awesome but you really need to be wealthy to live and stay in Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Hotel ... make sure no Parades are going on

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Parade notification prior to booking would be helpfull... at their rates guests should have access to hotel 24/7
Location: Great location when no parade going on, which i understand there is one parade monthly at least, we had two on one weekend.
Great experience with the exception that Hotel only advised guest of parade the night before the parade... we stayed during Columbus Day weekend and both Sunday and Monday streets around hotel were closed for cars and pedestrians, was a nightmare getting back to hotel or around the area... Hotel should have advised guests a few days in advance and not the night before. Otherwise great location great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sofitel is my French home away from home!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
This is my favorite hotel in the world! I can't wait to go back again! Everything is always perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The hotel is great. Most of my experience was perfect except for one thing. We had dinner on Saturday night. The service was slow, I waited over an hour for our entrees. When they finally brought them out it was not what I ordered. If I wasn't pressed for time due to having to get to the theater, I would have complained to the manager. I did notice that two other tables had already complained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Staff and massive TV.
Cons: Air con in lobby , bar and restaurant freezing
Location: Excellent location. Hard to find better.
Had a great stay but the weather was just turning cold and the restaurant and bar seemed to have the air conditioned on extremely cold. It seems only minor but we had to find other places to eat and drink. The hotel is missing out on some valuable income
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millbrook, New Youk

French ambiance

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Once entering the lobby , not only get the warm welcome from the staff who escort me to the check in counter, but also the fresh scent in the air that soothing my senses. I relaxed in the skyscraper suite with fantastic view to Chrysler building, enjoyed the beautifully presented Bithday cake , fresh berry and fruit that is complementary from the hotel for my Birthday. How wonderful and thoughtful ! The services from front desk, restaurant ,bar and concierge are all excellent and warm. At top floor, I'm very sensitive to any noise, upon my request that they changed my room without compromise the fantastic view. Staying Sofitel, I feel like home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara, Canada

Awesome centrally located luxury hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The quality of the in house movies, we found that there was a lot of pixillation.
Location: Excellent location, 2 blocks from Time Square, very close to the theatre district and dinning. Close to great shopping on 5th Ave.
This was my first time to NYC, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel and the room size and quality. The restaurant was up to my expectation, very good quality and price was reasonable! Staff was very courteous and went out of their way to make sure that our needs where met. In short, I highly recommend this Hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb Hotel, perfect location!!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very clean and smelt divine within the lobby area. Fabulous spacious beds and comfy pillows! The hotel staff were very helpful.
Location: Perfect location within walking distance of Times Square, Fifth Ave, Grand Central Station. Lots of restaurants and bars close by too:-)
Just returned from NYC (Oct 2014) and stayed at this wonderful Hotel. It has everything you need and what I loved most was that it was in the perfect location! The rooms were clean, spacious and the bathrooms simply divine. The Hotel staff were very friendly, accommodating and pleasant. The rooms were cleaned daily provided with towels, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer and complimentary shampoo/conditioner etc. A large TV, wi-fi, minibar (chargeable) , safe were all included too. The beds were very comfortable with probably the best pillows I have ever slept on so I have ordered myself 2!! The bar staff were friendly and quick to serve! A truly wonderful Hotel and would not hesitate to book again next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds UK

Perfect for Time Square

Posted Oct 7, 2014
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights on a short break. The hotel is in the heart of MANHATTAN right in between 5th avenue and time square.The hotel is immaculate and the staff were first rate. The food is a little pricey but there is a great diner called the red flame at the end of the block. We will certainly be using this hotel on our next trip to New York.