Ratings based on 3,370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Great value.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Great value. Great location. Two deli/markets next door.
Location: Five stars for location - with two deli/markets next door.
Good basic hotel in a great location. Two deli's next door and I walked one block to get the theater district. I gave is five stars for such a great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

Best placed for Times Square

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The Hotel has seen better days but our deal was excellent value and we enjoyed our stay.
Location: Less than one minute walk from Times Sq. Also walkable is Flat Iron, Empire State and Central Park.
One could not find a better location, especially for Times Sq.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel St James

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Water pressure in the shower.
Location: Convenient to Times Square, restaurants, theaters, subway transportation.
Excellent stay. Front desk guys were all very helpful and friendly. Subway access very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Location, Location, Location

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Apart from the great location, the best things about the hotel were the comfortable bed, and the prompt and thorough daily clean of the room.
Cons: There is a dangerous step up into the bathroom which nearly caused a major accident. The wash stand in the bathroom also needs a shelf.
Location: You are yards from the excitement of Times Square, and within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars and theatre.
Fairly basic hotel, which would benefit from some refurbishment. The staff were a mixed bunch. They were friendly enough and all tried to be helpful, some more successfully than others. The biggest plus for the hotel is its location. It is right in the heart of Manhattan, literally yards from Times Square. The subway is within easy walking distance and you will rarely wait long for a cab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham, england

Perfect location, comfy and clean

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: The proximity to all of New Yorks attractions. Probably the very best location to see everything on foot. And very close to the Hop on, Hop off bus
Cons: A coffee machine in the foyer would be a major plus, as no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms
Location: Easy walking distance to Empire State, grand central radio city music hall and the rocker feller centre. Right on Times Square.
Literally meters away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square, yet not noisy at all. Lovely reception and extremely comfy lounge area, with two superb deli's next door to take back coffee and cake or a cold drink. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Comfy beds and nice big room. Shower a bit tricky...had to run the water for ages, but got there in the end. An absolute gem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

great location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Location: time square 2 mins
The hotel is very old and run down, however, the staff are ok,( Joey on reception was great fun) the room is clean enough, and as we only used it to sleep and leave our things in it was fine. The location is great, 2 minutes to the heart of Time Square in the same road as Planet Hollywood. Check out is at noon but there are lockers to leave your luggage. We booked show tickets and Top of the Rock tickets and an airport transfer from the concierge very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bear Lake, MI

Great location. Friendly staff.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: Free breakfast would be great. To have a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room.
Location: One block from Time Square and easy access to the hop on and hop off busses to bring you around the city.
Great location, one block from Time Square. The only negative is that there was no refrigerator or coffee maker, two essentials that I like to have in my hotel room. There is a Starbucks right down the street, very close to hotel. No breakfast which would have been nice to have rather than go out every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Very well situated

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: WIFI
Very well situated hotel almost on Time Square and very close to all the Broadway theaters. Large clean room. Good breakfast facilities next door. Friendly and helpful staff. Only drawback was the noise at night due to nearby construction and traffic. Beware if you are a light sleeper. We got our money's worth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga Ca

Loved the location.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Location was 1 block from Times Square. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Deli next door had good food and good coffee! I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Local and central

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was central to most places in Midtown New York.
Cons: The beds could be a bit less squeaky.
The hotel was close and central to Times Square and other attractions such as the Rockefeller centre and the empire stare building. Subway stations were nearby as well. The staff were pleasant and wished you a good day as you departed each day. I would recommend to a friend.