Ratings based on 2,796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Cons: the shower was dripping all the time, and there is no vent in bathroom.
the location is close to EWR, 5-7 min drive. I guess people stay there mostly for convenience, such as catching a very early flight. This was my second stay, to catch an early morning international flight. The shuttle was on time and the driver was helpful with luggage. The room was clean enough, given the price. Staff was professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a layover !!!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend a little more money elsewhere...

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Room service was OK but the towels has dirt spots from 5 years ago.
Cons: Everything: staff, room cleaning, bathroom support for disable people, bugs extermination, parking price
Location: Anything to get out of here...
This is an independent owned and operated hotel and I think Howard Johnson should be more selective of sponsoring this kind of place. -First problem, the staff: they were rude, incompetent and tries to solve nothing. Had problems with the air conditioning and they send the bus driver to look at it because the real technician won't come in in to days. -The shuttle bus to the airport was always parked in the lobby and no car can go through to drop off any passengers. If you ask the driver to move out of the way, the look in his eyes was priceless as "are you telling me that I need to stand up from this chair and do something". The other two shuttle buses that were not in use were parked in handicap spaces. -No real handicap rooms are available. They just install some support pipes near the toilet and the bathtub. No roll-in shower are available for disable people with walking problems. -Dirty towels and bugs all over the room. -No real smoking free environment. Everyone smokes at the lobby entrance and the smoke gets all the way to the rooms and the restaurant. -$15 a day for parking. No security at all. The arm for the automatic ticket dispenser is always up. -They are renovating the lobby and the entrance but I stayed a week and saw no one working on that. Just a construction mess all around. I'll need 3000 more characters to finish this. In resume, don't stay here. Look for any other real American operated hotel. This guys don't know how to treat paying guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from everything. Lady at front desk was rude.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Didn't enjoy It except the bed was comfortable. Front desk lady was so rude. Far from everything you can't walk anywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Cowichan, BC

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The room rate was good, the staff was polite and helpful, and always had an answer for my questions or needs.
Cons: The number of available TV Chanel's was disappointing.
Location: There is NOTHING nearby this hotel. The location is in the middle of airport long term parking and other industrial sites. Not near transit either.
A decent economy hotel. The free shuttle to and from the airport is convenient and runs 24/7. The shuttle to and from Manhattan is a little restrictive with only 3 outbound an 2 inbound trips daily and it is a bit pricy at $25 daily for a round trip if you are going to town on multiple days. Perhaps they should consider a multi day discount. Housekeeping was efficient and the Desk staff were very helpful, but a little distant. I think I only saw one smile in 6 days. The restaurant is small, but provides good food at a fair price, and the service staff is very cheerful and helpful even when very busy. I would not hesitate to stay there again, if I was not concentrating my visit on Manhattan. The shuttle return times are too inconvenient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare

Posted Oct 14, 2014
If you value your safety do not stay here. There are no locks on the windows on the ground floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Do Not Take the Cab

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The water was hot.
Cons: More comfortable bed, better travel information.
The cab driver decided to deliver people to another hotel other than the Howard Johnson hotel which he belonged to. After dropping me off last, behind the people who weren't at our hotel, he asked for a tip. Also, Howard Johnson did not tell me where he would pick me up from at the airport so after about four phone calls to the hotel, I finally found the place where the hotel shuttle went to pick up guests. Instead of taking a cab from the airport, just take the PATH train to where ever you need to go. Take it to Jersey City, then transfer to where ever else you'll need to go. Much more affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Close to Newark airport. Free shuttle service provided every 30 mins and $25 shuttle to NYC round trip. I have no complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Ok if you are staying only for few nights

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Staff is nice, clean rooms , but it's far of NY if is what you are looking for, better book one near everything or in NY so you can move by subway .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston,Jamaica

It's an okay hotel, close to the airport ...

Posted Oct 9, 2014
It was alright, it's more of an hotel for persons with a drive. It's secluded if your a person who loves to be alone.