Ratings based on 2,766 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the hotel.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
We had planned to visit New York, but hotels there were way too expensive. Howard Johnson at Newark was an economical option. We used the hotel-airport shuttle to reach EWR and then took the air train to Newark train station, which was free. From the Newark train station we took NJ transit to NY Penn station, which cost us $31 for 2 adults and 2 children. It was convenient and economical to visit NY while avoiding the costly hotels in NY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014
The experience was good the breakfast are expensive but the other are OK
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Staff friendly, especially shuttle driver. Shuttle good. Room amenities ok but carpet n furniture old and tiles in bathroom mouldy. Nice shower in terms of hot water and power. Just dingy overall impression. Shame!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Under the end of a runway, staff are miserable

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Lot's of parking
Cons: Staff are sad and parking is too expensive. Condition of hotel is deteriorating.
Location: Under and airport, confusing location, hard to find
Checked in and was charged $15 for a spot in the largely empty lot. Staff are sad and inattentive. Hotel is not entirely clean, somewhat run down, and rooms are adequate at best. For $100/night, stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Feedback on our 3 night stay.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The convenience to the Airport.
Cons: The Restaurant facilities. Not very clean and service not the usual American efficiency. Other people served 1st even though they came in after us.
Location: Did not explore. Spent 2 days in New York
Surrounding area not very nice. However, Airport Shuttle and Shuttle into New York was very convenient. Staff were pleasant, particularly the lady Receptionist from Jamaica. We had some nice chats with her. Also staff in the shop were very obliging.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Kyoto Japan

Fast response after calling from Newark airport.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
I was checked in quickly and efficiently after arriving at 1 am. The room was quiet and clean and very reasonable. I checked out at 7 am so my stay was very brief but perfect for my circumstances.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

Run down hotel sitting by itself w/ no amenities

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The hotel needs a face lift and smells horrible. The staff could care less about it's guests and has no desire to make their stay a good one.
Location: There was nothing to do at this location but stay in your room and watch tv. The "free" shuttle only goes to the airport, no restaurants near by
Stayed at this hotel for one night until we left for our honeymoon the next morning, the price was the only redeeming quality. Staff was rude, unaccommodating and the hotel is not by any restaurants or even shopping of any kind so you are forced to eat/purchase everything there. They tell you the shuttle is 24/7 but is on their time table, we had to call when arriving in Newark for it to pick us up at the airport and then when we went to leave had to spend $30 on a cab because the shuttle left a few minutes before 7am when we reached the lobby and the front desk refused to call them back and said we had to wait 30 minutes for the shuttle to return. We could not wait that long and called a cab, who came in 5 minutes and got us to the airport before 7:30am. The staff barely spoke English and could have cared less that we needed to catch a flight. I have never had such a bad experience at a Howard Johnson, but I will NEVER stay at this hotel ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the Money

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Wouldn't stay here again. Just overall dirty and run down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The hotel had a different smell every ten steps or so. It would smell like air freshener then urine. The hotel staff was really friendly and nice but the hotel was not so much. Pay a little extra and stay in a nicer place!!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nasty hotel I ever stay at

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The lamp was wet and had a nasty looking make on it , the shower was disgusting and had black marks all over it , the front desk employee was rude and on her cell phone whole help customers