Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Chrissy from Brooklyn Ny

Helltel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
It's a shelter its noisy and I will never go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never been in such disgusting hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Awful uncomfortable dirty , staff impolite to take us nearby to the airport to pick up a car charged us 10 dollars and another time 10 more for a few blocks Room too small very very very uncomfortable I ll never ever come back again shame that Expedia sponsors this hotel There was a sort of breakfast but terrible So I cancelled my next stay and went to Hilton Gardens .......................................................................................................,...................................................................................... Hopefully when you receive one of this commentes do something about and send us a feedback
3 out of 5
by Jerry from Florida

Handy to airport, but that's it

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: It was close to JFK
Cons: Shuttle should be available as long as flights are still arriving. Continental breakfast needs a major upgrade.
Location: There was nothing nearby except the airport. The immediate surroundings were grungy and industrial.
This hotel meets the minimum requirements for a decent place to stay, but there is nothing about the place that you could actually describe as nice. I called ahead to be sure there was a shuttle from the airport, but when my plane was delayed and I arrived late, I called and they said the last shuttle was already in its way back to the hotel and suggested I call a cab. When I did that it turned out that the hotel was only 5 minutes from the airport. I don't think it would have killed them to make another trip. There was a family in the room across the hall from me with many children all of whom took turns screaming all day and night, which added to the general ambiance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cocoa from NC

Descent hotel, close to JFK Airport.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Good enough for night stay. Priced right. No complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from P Charlottesville, Va

Flight from JFK got cancelled needed a cheap hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Googled hotels near JFK for the cheapest room we could find near the airport to get some sleep after bring rebooked to a 6;15 flight out the next morning. Expedia had Howard Johnson listed for $90 we called got directions to the shuttle and waited about 1o minutes before they came for us. It was freezing cold and raining like mad. Once arriving we found the room nice and warm, the bed amazingly comfortable, shabby but clean room, the girl at the front desk with a huge beautiful smile. Do it yourself kitchen area for a make shift breakfast in the morning. Exhausted travelers such as we were went from being on a cruise ship in Barcelona to find ourselves 18 hours later at HoJo's in NYC. Not as fancy but still very comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel in forever!!!!

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: maybe close to the JFK
Cons: All things
Location: nothing at all. just stayed inside beside the business
I reserved this hotel because of the hotel chain name "Howard Johnson" and the good value recommended by Expedia. However, it came back to me as the most terrible nighemare. I reserved it for my colleagues. they checked in and urgently called me to let me know of how it is. Terribly old and not remodeled well Bullet-proof glass window counter unlike the photo on Expedia Noisy dogs and kids that live in the hotel locally, residents Not friendly(Unsafe) neiborhood around the hotel. So on...... I made all the reservations for all other places. this is the first time they could hardly trust me doing so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Afew minor poroblem with rooms, but worth the price rate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Property is dirty looking ...would not recommend. Rooms were run down even though there seem to be some attempt at remodeling the bathrooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low expectations met

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: should be less expensive for what is available.
Location: Would not recommend for visiting downtown as it is a distance.
This is a hotel for an overnight less expensive stay with convienent shuttle to airport. No frills, though a fitness room is listed. One machine does not a fitness room make. Continental breakfast is pretty decent and rooms are fairly clean and except for the car alarm in the night outside our window, fairly quiet.
2 out of 5
by Padma from Poughkeepsie, NY

BULLET PROOF!!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The front desk people were nice. Wood floors in room. Fitness center. Easy and perfect shuttle to the airport. Reasonable price for the convenience.
Cons: Non working coffee maker. Phone to the front desk and housekeeping was busy the entire time I was there so had to go to the front desk with questions
Location: There are take out menus in the room. Standard breakfast that is free from the hotel. The neighborhood did not inspire a walk. Looked unsafe.
I have never stayed in a airport hotel in NY for all the years I lived in NY. The best thing was how quickly someone from the hotel came to pick me up from Federal Circle. He was on the phone the whole time though. I got to the hotel and walked in. 4 steps in front of me. Went down the stairs to see what looked like a small business center/dining room. Where is the reception?? Someone said it was right up those stairs I came from. Went back up lugging the suitcases. The reception is a tiny glass enclosure right inside the door, like a gas station in a bad neighbourhood with bullet proof glass and small slit for you to slide your Drivers License. Not confidence inspiring at all. Receptionist forgot to give my DL back (I forgot too). Someone knocks on my door at 10.30 pm to give it back. They could have called me from the desk to come pick it up or that someone was coming up. It was spooky combined with the eerie feeling of the reception desk. It was a relief to see regular families with children at breakfast. Never stayed in HJ before. Never will. Or may be it is JFK airport hotels??