Ratings based on 5,633 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great location but study the room descriptions

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff; good location
Cons: Consider reviving the usability of some of the smaller rooms by putting smaller beds in some of them? If the wiring allows, coffee makers in-room?
Location: Lincoln Center is quite near. Several nice restaurants in easy walking distance. Not a particularly noisy neighborhood. 24-hour CVS across the street.
The history of the building (check Wikipedia) explains why the least expensive rooms are small. They probably didn't seem cramped with smaller beds in them. The location was great for me as I needed to be near Lincoln Center. Staff are friendly & helpful. The open air terrace is a wonderful amenity, with great views, during warm weather months. All online reviewers mention that there can be a wait for the elevators & that's accurate - there are plenty of elevators but the building is tall. If I return to the Hudson I think I'll book a larger room. The standard room felt pretty cramped. Housekeeping does a great job; I tipped better than I usually do, when I left, out of gratitude for their help. The A/C in the room was great & the wi-fi (extra) reliable. Again, the age of the building probably explains why the hallways are not air conditioned effectively & the lobby is poorly lit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel Great Energy

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Didn't know what to expect but was surprised at how awesome the place is. Has a huge terrace with bar outside, bar inside with pool table in a great fun setting. The rooftop bar did it for me. There's awesome view of the city and you can lay in a hammock and just chill while sipping on delicious cocktails. Big fan of this place. Got the room that's one step up from the basic room and it was the perfect size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
My daughter & I traveled to NY because she was attending a summer dance intensive. I selected Hudson because it was close to the venue. I picked a room with a double bed because it was the least expensive & just the two of us. The room's wood floor had a lot of water damage & would flake off on our bare feet. Also was shocked to find that out shower had a full glass window in it facing the bedroom. There was a curtain blocking it from view but only a sheer. Quite a bit awkward for a mother & daughter staying there
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Worst experience

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Request not ready, breaker trib, no refrigerator, no hangers, no room Serivce, extremely small bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pretty hotel in a perfect spot in New York.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location to all of New York City. Very close to central park.
We loved the elavator music. It was so good. The out door bar had the best drinks. The rooms were a bit small, but we loved it. On the corner was a New York deli that we loved. Fab pizza and cheesecake. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice lobby extremely small rooms

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Just terrible experience overall , I felt claustrophobic the rooms are really small , one of the trims had no AC and they didn't bother to change us to another room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Will be back

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Chill vibes, lots of greenery, close to the park and train.
Cons: Billing mishaps booking on 3rd party sites.
Location: Stones throw away from Columbus Cir and Central Park. Hells Kitchen is a 5 minute walk with tons of great food.
Stayed at a terrible hotel on night 1 and got out like a bat outta hell. was apprehensive to book again on a travel site but went ahead with my gut and decided on the Hudson. I was not disappointing. Very chill vibes, smelled great, close to Central Park and within excellent distance to the train. Room was a bit small but I was flying solo so I did not mind. I will definitely be back. Had a wonderful stay here and the staff was accommodating and friendly. Might want to work on how they do the billing with expedia/and their own system though...wayy to many "authorization holds on my credit card" deducted over $600 from my available balance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oshawa, On, Canada

Young, urban, hip

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The public spaces were very nice, loved the greenery and lots of seating.
Cons: The bathroom was too small and offered little privacy.
Location: Great location for sightseeing, shopping restaurants, and the park.
The lobby, main terrace and sky terrace are all beautiful oases, lots of greenery and seating. The room was small, but clean. Dark wood panelling and hardwood floor. The bathroom was a sore spot, so small you literally had to step around the toilet to get into the shower. And there is no wall between the bed area and the shower, just a big glass wall and a sheer white curtain. In other words no privacy if you are sharing a room. The hallways were not to our taste, grey concrete walls with neon green doors. There is no restaurant as such in the hotel, but merely a snack bar where you can order burgers and fries, etc. All in all it is a nice hotel, but really geared toward the young urban hip type of person. Critiques aside it is in a great location and close to many shops and restaurants. Walking distance to Central Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

Hudson Hotel NYC

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Very nice location, with walking distance to Central Park. We loved the terrace bar and drinks.
Cons: The staff was friendly, but they wouldn't go out of their way to please the customers. Nobody would send a bottle opener to our room.
Location: Great location next to Columbus Circle and Central Park. Right in front of Columbus Circle shopping center with a Whole Foods inside.
Very pleasant stay and definitely considering going back and staying at the Hudson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

NYC Trip in July

Posted Jul 15, 2015
The roof top bar was excellent the food, the commons and location is very convient! Time Warner Center is across the street where you will find a Wholefoods in the basement and your trip to NYC can be cost effective if you shop there for small meals. This is my 4th time in a year and half staying at the Hudson! Family friendly and subway on the corner! Stay at the Hudson! i will be back in the fall.