Ratings based on 5,643 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location...that's it.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Staff was rude. You had to pay a resort fee, however there is no actual resort, you are paying for the wifi. Rooms are cramped and smell bad. I would never go back to this hotel. I would pay extra money and stay somewhere a little nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lobby and pleasant staff.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Lobby, staff
Just stay out of the room as long as possible. Terribly small even for a NY hotel. Bathroom was even more annoyingly small. I can't imagine bigger problem staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great central location I could of not picked bette

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: the ambiance, and accessibility
Cons: cleanliness in the hallways to the rooms and bath tub
Location: central park, time square, everything you would want to see in NY
we had a great time, the hotel was situated at the hear of everything and it made it very easy to sight see and connect to everything. the ambiance was wonderful, and the service stuff very friendly. I would recommend it to all I know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great location but study the room descriptions

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff; good location
Cons: Consider reviving the usability of some of the smaller rooms by putting smaller beds in some of them? If the wiring allows, coffee makers in-room?
Location: Lincoln Center is quite near. Several nice restaurants in easy walking distance. Not a particularly noisy neighborhood. 24-hour CVS across the street.
The history of the building (check Wikipedia) explains why the least expensive rooms are small. They probably didn't seem cramped with smaller beds in them. The location was great for me as I needed to be near Lincoln Center. Staff are friendly & helpful. The open air terrace is a wonderful amenity, with great views, during warm weather months. All online reviewers mention that there can be a wait for the elevators & that's accurate - there are plenty of elevators but the building is tall. If I return to the Hudson I think I'll book a larger room. The standard room felt pretty cramped. Housekeeping does a great job; I tipped better than I usually do, when I left, out of gratitude for their help. The A/C in the room was great & the wi-fi (extra) reliable. Again, the age of the building probably explains why the hallways are not air conditioned effectively & the lobby is poorly lit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel Great Energy

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Didn't know what to expect but was surprised at how awesome the place is. Has a huge terrace with bar outside, bar inside with pool table in a great fun setting. The rooftop bar did it for me. There's awesome view of the city and you can lay in a hammock and just chill while sipping on delicious cocktails. Big fan of this place. Got the room that's one step up from the basic room and it was the perfect size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
My daughter & I traveled to NY because she was attending a summer dance intensive. I selected Hudson because it was close to the venue. I picked a room with a double bed because it was the least expensive & just the two of us. The room's wood floor had a lot of water damage & would flake off on our bare feet. Also was shocked to find that out shower had a full glass window in it facing the bedroom. There was a curtain blocking it from view but only a sheer. Quite a bit awkward for a mother & daughter staying there
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Worst experience

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Request not ready, breaker trib, no refrigerator, no hangers, no room Serivce, extremely small bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pretty hotel in a perfect spot in New York.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location to all of New York City. Very close to central park.
We loved the elavator music. It was so good. The out door bar had the best drinks. The rooms were a bit small, but we loved it. On the corner was a New York deli that we loved. Fab pizza and cheesecake. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice lobby extremely small rooms

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Just terrible experience overall , I felt claustrophobic the rooms are really small , one of the trims had no AC and they didn't bother to change us to another room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Will be back

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Chill vibes, lots of greenery, close to the park and train.
Cons: Billing mishaps booking on 3rd party sites.
Location: Stones throw away from Columbus Cir and Central Park. Hells Kitchen is a 5 minute walk with tons of great food.
Stayed at a terrible hotel on night 1 and got out like a bat outta hell. was apprehensive to book again on a travel site but went ahead with my gut and decided on the Hudson. I was not disappointing. Very chill vibes, smelled great, close to Central Park and within excellent distance to the train. Room was a bit small but I was flying solo so I did not mind. I will definitely be back. Had a wonderful stay here and the staff was accommodating and friendly. Might want to work on how they do the billing with expedia/and their own system though...wayy to many "authorization holds on my credit card" deducted over $600 from my available balance.