Ratings based on 5,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Well located, nice hotel in NYC

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, good customer service.
Cons: Freshen up the hallways, fix the vending machines (wouldn't accept my CC), keep the larger bar open later.
Location: Near subway lines, Central Park, Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue, shopping and more.
The Hudson is well located near Central Park on the west side, with easy access to the subway. It's in walking distance of 5th Avenue, Times Square, Central Park and much more. The room - while small (think college single dorm room) - was well-appointed, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was small and took some maneuvering (an elderly person or someone who has trouble with flexibility might have trouble) to use, but again it was clean. That's always a plus in my book! The 8th floor corridor looks like it could use a facelift - fresh coat of paint, new carpeting might be in order - but it's not run down or shabby looking at all. The walls and doors are not sound-proofed as I very clearly heard a guy getting "worked over" in his room as I walked to the elevator, but that doesn't bother me. I could see how a family might not be happy about it though. The Library bar was nice, if smaller than expected. No real bar to sit at. (They have another actual bar which unfortunately closed at 11 pm.) It has a youngish, hipster crowd (in fact the entire hotel seems to cater to that kind of crowd), so at 55 I felt a little out of place and only stayed for one drink. Staff was prompt, friendly and helpful without being overly exuberant. I got a good nights' sleep in a comfortable bed, and was able to get anywhere I wanted easily. I got what I think was a good rate on Expedia and feel I got good value. I only stayed one night but overall I was pleased and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The hotel is conveniently located behind Time Warner Center by Columbus Circle, with fast access to subway, Central Park, Lincoln Center. The lobby area is very social but at the same time you can isolate yourself and do some work if required. Nice staff, reasonably priced. Single rooms are comfortable but small, make sure you and your companion are at a high point in your relationship.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Best location in NYC, Very clean and modern But rooms are very small
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Very noisy rooms with extremely unpleasant staff

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything could be improved.
Small and noisy rooms with old bed linen and questionably clean bathroom. There is nightclub in the hotel that makes it impossible to sleep. It is open and crowded every night. God forbid you need something at the front desk, you will wait at least 20mins as they have 2 people serving constant flood of guests (probably all of them complaining about the noise). Not cheap. Stay away if you can. There are hotels around Times Square with way better reviews and cheaper rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Like climbing into a shoebox

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The general location near Columbus Circle was convenient.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Anyone who knows Midtown Manhattan can figure this out.
From the moment of arrival, the inattentive front desk staff (and understaffed at prime arrival hours, as I observed consistently each of the 3 nights I spent in the hotel, resulting in what appeared to be upwards of 15 minute delays at check in) gave as clear a signal as to the experience awaiting me. As a very frequent NY visitor, who has stayed at numerous upscale hotels and thought it would be fun to sample a different hotel, I'd recommend this only to someone who enjoys being able to touch both sides of the bedroom walls simultaneously while standing, who enjoys seeing the hair remnants of prior guests on the shower floor and walls, who finds it amusing to sit sideways on a toilet to avoid knees rubbing the walls (and I'm only 5'7"), and who enjoys paper thin doors that facilitate eavesdropping on neighbors' conversations. This is a great location for 20-somethings whose idea of a fun spot is a lobby filled with pulsating music turned to maximum decibel, so that they can feel somehow connected to a greater universe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The location is great by Colombus Circle. Lobby and Bars, also interesting, but the rooms are incredibly small; the size of the restroom is crazy. The best thing of this place is the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom n

Good location (Columbus Circle / Centra Park)

Posted Apr 19, 2015
the hotel is somewhat noisy - on the seriuos party going on side at the bar / restaurant. Not for granpas
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Small but nice. Great location. Hipster heaven. Blah blah blah blah blah blah
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Africa

Central Location

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Great location - very accessible and central. Great shops, food outlets and amenities in the area. A very vibey, youthful atmosphere in the lobby and bar/ restaurant area. Recommended for young business people. However the rooms are very average and small. Cleanliness of the rooms are questionable and that I could hear my neighbors every move was disturbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
The staff was very nice and accommodating. Very unique decor. Love the lounges.