Ratings based on 3,541 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom brighton

Good location but

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location and comfy bed
Cons: Friendlier staff
Location: Great location
I felt the hotel was more interested in being a nightclub
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w72st

Nice, but...

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location
The room overall was clean and comfortable, although small. The bathroom, however, was not designed for full-size adult people! It was literally smaller than a closet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, convenient location...

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The hotel is off of Columbus Circle and Central Park. The best restaurants in the city are located in the area as are Whole Foods, Creative Juice.
The reception at check-in was very helpful. I really appreciated Avalon's kindness and patience in listening and responding to my concerns and questions. I was satisfied with the room (high floor without street or hotel noise) as I was only staying overnight and do not spend time in my room while in NYC except to sleep. My bed was comfortable, the bathroom adequate as everything worked as expected. One note is that the bathroom did not have hand or body soap. They did have shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion. It wasn't a big deal because I carry a small bar of soap in my travel bag. I did not ask customer service to address the issue so I do not have any further comment. All in all, a bar of soap is not a deal breaker. I am quite satisfied with my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great location, small rooms but ill take the deal

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Great location but the rooms are small and hotel amenities is the bear minnimum, hence the 19.95 resort fee is questionable in my opinion. Which is probably why the hotel gives you a 10 dollar food and drink credit per day (FYI the hotel does not disclose the credit freely) The standard room is not big enough for one person! But like everything in manhattan, location, location, location trumps everything! And if you love to party this hotel is the for you. If you had rest and relaxation in mind make certain your room is above the twentieth floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
It is quite convenient and close to subway station. The room is small but clean. Staff is not quite helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moscow

Nice design, small rooms

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Design, location.
Cons: Room size?
Location: Near Columbus Circle.
The design is very nice and modern, the location is good. The rooms are really small. Only for someone, who's not going to spend a lot of time inside their room (which you shouldn't do in NY anyway). Really cozy & somewhat romantic thought. Good choice for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Heater was loud and kept waking me up though the night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just like Home

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: This is my second visit to the Hudson...location, entrance, 3 trendy bars, nice workout room, friendliness and knowledge of staff, cleanliness of room
Cons: the walls are a little paper thin, the doors slam hard and the bathrooms are tiny but workable
Location: Columbus Circle, Central Park, Subway to everywhere, Museums,
I have stayed at this hotel before and was excited to come back. The ambiance is great. I especially enjoy to different types of people that stay there. It's world diverse which is always FUN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

A Nice hotel but a bit pricey.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The lobby and bar area is very nice.
Cons: The size of the room.
Location: It is very close to Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle and about ten blocks from the Broadway Theater district.
The hotel is very nice and in a wonderful and convenient location. There are several bars and a night club inside that is very fun. The bed was comfortable but the room that I checked into did not quite match the description on the website. I would consider staying again but I would probably not be inclined to book the more expensive room next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms were to small.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location was great!
Cons: HOTEL PRESENTATION:HOTEL NEEDS A PAINT JOB OVER ALL.
Location: CENTRAL PARK
Over all it was good; but I do have a complain though, this hotel needs a make over for example a paint job through all the rooms and hallway. I felt like I was back in a college dorm.