Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The modern sleek design.
Cons: I wish the rooms were a bit bigger but I know this is Manhattan and most hotel rooms are like this, it's just unfortunate.
Location: Empire State Building is about two blocks away, and NY Public library is less than a mile away, you can't beat that.
I've always been a fan of Hyatt hotels and this location did not disappoint. I love the ambiance, service and design of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Staff

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Costumer focus
They were smiling but they didn't help us.We have reservation almost 20 day ago and we saw their view of city at the advertisement.When we arrived the hotel I ask to them for change our room for view of city.They didn't accept.And than further days I tried the our chance but they were negative. As a result they were look like interested but unfortunately not!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Very Inconvenient, Unpleasant experience

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Amenities and bar were unacceptable. Hotel check in was a complete horror story.
I checked to the Hyatt Herald Square, Sunday February 15, 2015. Upon arrival there was only 1 employee working the front desk on a Sunday during the peak time with lots of events going on in NYC. There were two guests in front of me which took about 30 minutes to check in. Afterwards when it was my turn the employee had asked me to bare with him for a moment. He then walked to the front entrance and started helping other hotel guests with there luggage. He left the front desk for about 15 minutes. After almost an hour I received my hotel key and checked in successfully. Then I approached the elevator to go up to my room to discover that only one hotel elevator was functioning, again on a busy Sunday night with several major events going on in NYC. It took about 7 minutes for the elevator to come down. All the other guests around me seemed to very upset as well. Throughout the course of the night and next 2 days it took about 8-10 minutes every time I went up and came down the elevator. What else would one expect with one working elevator with the hotel being filled? Nonetheless, I later on in the evening came downstairs to the bar and ordered one margarita. The margarita cost me $18 before gratuity and it was bottom shelf alcohol. I was very surprised and could not believe it. At one point in the night I attempted getting ice, only to discover the only machine was all the way in the basement. The bar refused to provide me with ice and it took another 10 minutes to get ice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

great location, great staff, great stay.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
no complaints, this hotel delivered exactly what it advertised. nice room, nice lobby, friendly accomodating staff and a great location. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: It was getting renovated.
Located very close to herald square and PENN station. Nice restaurants around the block to dine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington dc

Convenient location for train, bus

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: When the noisy party was reported security told them once about noise but it started back at 3am no security involved the second time
Location: 5th ave shopping
Room and staff was great but rooms are not sound proof enough heard everything from the next room, disturbing night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Very nice hotel in the center of nyc

Posted Jan 31, 2015
The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful! It is in a very good location and I would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson AZ

Fantastic location and value!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, convenience
Cons: There was construction on the floor above but never started before 9 am and ended well before we got back in the evening.
Location: Empire Pizza is around the corner and open until 4:00 am. Dunkin Donuts down the block for your morning coffee. Liberty Pub is across the street.
We were in NYC to move our daughter home after an internship and wanted to enjoy the holiday festivities in the city. This location was perfect... close to Macy's at Harold Square, the subway, restaurants and Times Square. The lobby and bar area is very modern and chic. The staff was awesome... very attentive. The rates were phenomenal. The rooms are very functional... nothing fancy but all you need for a week's stay. There is a breakfast, a lot of events in the evening such as wine tasting if you are interested. There is a rooftop bar that would be a blast in the spring and summer with a fantastic view of the Empire State Building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Very Nice

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Decor and staff
Hotel was beautiful, staff was very helpful and accomodating. Would have loved it if the roof-top bar was open and modified for winter conditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent location

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: I liked how attentive the staff was. The rooms were small but had everything you needed in them.
Cons: the lobby and entrance could be more appealing.
Location: the hotel is tucked away but 6minutes from Penn/Madison Sq, Garden .3 minutes from Empire state Building and 5 minute from Macys all walking distance.
the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is tucked away from the busy area but 5 minutes from the action.