Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I had a excellent experience. Friendly staff, excellent facilities, good lounge bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff show terrific courtesy to guests

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Fab staff!
Location: So much to see do around here, from Union Sq to Washington Park, to walking across to the Highline on the westside.
I've stayed in Manhattan for extended periods before, but never in the Union Square area. My week based here was fabulous, thanks to Victor (front desk), Drita (housekeeping director) and Quari (front desk) who were amazing, attentive hosts. Nothing was too much trouble - I felt very much at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great staff, great location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The location is really excellent. The staff is friendly and cheerful too.
Cons: No complaints. All was great.
Location: There's a great book store (The Strand) on the block, a zillion good restaurants of all varieties nearby and a movie theater across the street.
I've stayed in very, very many NYC hotels but if I have a choice I now choose the Hyatt Union Square. First, it's in a great spot with the N,Q and L lines less than a block away. Second, the hotel staff is very nice and the hotel is very modern. The rooms are a touch larger than most I've stayed in in Manhattan and much more up to date. The little touches were great. For instance, by the door and by both sides of the bed is a master switch that turns off all lights in the room save for one nightlight which you can set the luminosity on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room but well laid out

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better management follow up
Location: Union Square, near to grammacy soho
nice location near union Square, horrible bar experience and lack of follow up with management hurt this rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Great Union Square hotel. Good sized rooms, especially the studios. Clean, elegant with a great staff. Always wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Comfortable bed, I wanted to steal the pillows!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Very modern, boutique style hotel. Smaller rooms than what I'm used to, but well designed to take advantage of space. All lighting accessible from bed. Tons of outlets!! Quiet, comfortable and friendly :-) I usually expect pretentious staff in boutique hotels, pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed each of the restaurants and the bar, food was fresh, delicious and innovative. Proximity to the younger part of Manhattan was fun and interesting to explore. Easy access to subway to visit other parts. I usually stay at the Waldorf, the views weren't as nice, but the relaxed friendliness and crisp cleanliness has won me over. Hyatt, your staff is the best!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Small rooms. Clean. Great location. Nice people. Nothing extraordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was great

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Location: Short distance from Union Square, which was busy, vibrant, energetic. High Line walkway park is very near, restaurants, cafes, shopping, subway stops.
A family member lives nearby, walked the HighLine park and had a fabulous dinner at a cafe near Union Square, all walkable and lovely on a summer Saturday in New York. Especially unexpected was an eleven am checkin, which made the remainder of the day so much easier. All the staff were extremely helpful with bags, address checks, and early Sunday morning taxi hailing. Atmosphere energetic and friendly. We had stayed here last fall, and chose the same hotel because of a very pleasant experience at that time. We will definitely stay here again. Our room of course was small but had everything we needed, including a coffeemaker. Valet parking makes it easy if you're driving, which we did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maria from new tork city

Loved the neighborhood!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Really enjoyed the area of Union Square. Lots of things to do. Lovely parks. The only thing I wish was better was the mattress. A bit hard for my tasted. Wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Lounge and lobby were very chic, smart looking. Great location, 1 block from subway. tons to see in area
There are only 2 elevators and one was not working the entire stay and it was often a long wait.