Ratings based on 1,532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great hotel from top to bottom. I loved our stay and would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best Intercontinental Hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Hotel Staff were pleasant
Cons: The restaurant and room service. Overpriced and not great food.
Location: Theater and restaurants nearby. But the street noise was irritating.
I booked a king which wasn't available. I was give 2 double beds and was meeting up with my significant other. I also do yoga and there was no room so I joined the Ambassador club instead of paying for a daily upgrade. I don't like to feel nickle and dimed when I'm at a hotel. I was on the 7th floor which was very noisy with the train underground and street noise....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near London

Great position to enjoy New York

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff. Its great position
Location: Could not be much better to enjoy New York
Staff were incredibly helpful and the hotel is just so well positioned to enjoy the splendour of this great city to visit. Rooms were clean with good facilities as you would expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea, South Wales.

Second time around

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Me and my dad came back to Manhattan again after 2 years, we didn't even have to discuss what hotel we were going to stay at, of coarse it had to be the intercontinental time square. From the warm welcome of the door men, the professionalism of the front desk staff and the engaging enthusiasm of the bar staff once again we had a perfect stay. The staff at the bar were impressed me by describing how they use the honey collected on the hotel room in their "perfect gentleman" cocktail which turned out to be absolutely fantastic. I know I will be coming back again and I know I will be staying at the intercontinental again. Definitely a hotel to recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Sad

Posted Sep 10, 2014
A huge disappointment and a waste of $409 per night. I have never spent do much on a hotel room in my life but my sister is visiting from Zimbabwe and I decided to treat her. I chose the Intercon because I have an Ambassador Gold Card and looked forward to all the perks. What a huge disappointment. The room "upgrade" was not to and Executive room as the welcome letter said but to room exactly the same size only on a higher floor. The water and fruit that was promised arrived only after 6 hours and three phone requests. Any request or question to staff was considered too much and we were made to feel like we were imposing . The turn down service came only at 9pm! I have just stayed at the Intercon in Johannesburg and the service and staff were impeccable. I loved my 10 days there. The Intercon in New York was such a let down. I know better than to go back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Excellent, close to all amenities.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and will take the extra mile to help or accommodate the guest when in need of assistance. The room is so comfortable and housekeeping is excellent. Overall, this hotel is the best in Times Square New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

Good standard central hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet rooms.
Cons: Price for WiFi was ridiculous.
Location: One block from Time Square and in the middle of the Theater District. Fantastic choice of restaurants on your doorstep.
Ideal location, one block from Time Square, subway station next door. Nice hotel, good rooms, fab bathroom. Noise insulation was particularly impressive. We were on the 14th floor above 8th Avenue, but you couldn't hear the street at all. We went to NYC for our wedding anniversary and the hotel went out of their way to make it special. Would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Good hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Recently refurbished and clean.
Cons: Wi-fi & location.
Location: Right next to metro. Central. Too close to Times Square for us.
It is a good hotel and was reasonably priced. Staff were helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. We were only room, so can't comment on food or any of the other facilities. On reflection we would have stayed either in Chelsea (cooler) or Upper West Side (quieter). It was a bit too close to Times Square for us, a bit noisy, tacky and commercial. Some good restaurants near to hotel and lots of bad ones.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

What a disappointment..!! Avoid if you can...

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Location was good and the room was small but clean - however the small size is expected in most NYC hotels.
Cons: Fix the front door staff - the bell staff and porters - this is the first impression of the hotel and they were like thugs.
Location: In Times Square area - 2 blocks over....lots of eatries and theatres around.
I booked this hotel due to its location and the good rating on tripadvisor....HOWEVER..this was all that was good. Experience started off terribly with the bell men at street entrance being abrupt and rude and in no uncertain terms indicating that they need to be tipped. I had 4 bags and a stroller so I looked after the guy but he was still very rude about it. During our stay, the bell staff would just be in their group talking away..never offerd any help with taxi or opening doors. Front desk staff were friendly at check-in....the room allocated had a terrible view - the window looked straight into apartments across the road and they could look straight back...terrible room allocation however my gripe is not with this as just my bad luck. Concierge desk was always full and never much help at all. Hotel was in a good location however there are other similar priced options that are better. Next time I would look at Doubletree by Hilton or Marriott ....its a pity that a handful of staff ruined a great NYC visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Times Square

Posted Sep 3, 2014
This is one of the better hotels to stay in Times Square; very close to Times Square but just away from the crowds.