Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Below average.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Some of the staff are helpful. They gave us right information when we needed to go to town via the public transportation system. However the facility is not up to average standard for the amount of money they charge for a night. The shower can not be regulated. The hot water get hotter when somebody in the next room turn on the tap or their shower. It was very difficult bathing my 5 year old and not get his skin burnt by the unpredicted hot water condition. Very inconvenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Adequate

Posted Oct 23, 2014
This is a basic hotel. There are no lifts - so someone had to carry my cases upstairs. The windows are double glazed but road noise still intrudes. Breakfast was very doughy and I left my coffee without finishing. It's close to the airport and the staff are helpful - but I won't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff and our convenience to the hotel; we are glad to have been of service to you. Unfortunately, I am unsure what is meant that our breakfast is, "doughy"? While we do offer a wide variety of bagels, pastries, and toast, we also offer eggs, fruits, and cereal. It is unfortunate about the noise level you encountered, but again it is the proximity to the airport and major roadway which brings this about. However, it is an issue we will continue to work on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We stayed for a 3 day weekend, the staff was great, the room was clean, well worth the price :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you greatly for the kind words and compliments! We are happy to have been able to accommodate you and your company. We hope to see you again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas, NV

never never again!!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Room in a bacement was so Tereble,only for homeless people.Staff dont know what they doing!!Did not sleep all night .Air condition was noisy.shower head has only few drips of water!! No toilet paper holder! WI-FI,sooooo slow to check e-mail!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed completely.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Location: We left before dawn. No idea.
It was absolutely the wrong place for my traveling companion and me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We would like to apologize for any inconveniences, but are not sure what inconveniences are being indicated in this review? Our establishment offers FREE WIFI, FREE breakfast, FREE airport shuttle services, FREE parking for anyone driving, FREE travel maps for the city of NY, our prices are competitive, and our staff is more than helpful. But we also understand that each guest has a different experience. We hope the rest of you vacation was better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Close to airport. Had a free shuttle from airport to hotel. Friendly , helpful driver. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: very difficult to adjust hot water in shower
Close to airport. Staff was very helpful in telling us how to use the subway to get to our cruise ship. Very good breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for staying with us; we are happy the staff could be of assistance to you and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you had fun on your cruise!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close, not for pleasure.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Close to airport. Inexpensive for locaiton.
Cons: Needs updating. Beds not comfy.
Location: Only stayed for 8 hours total...just arrived, went to sleep and left at 5 am.
Chose this as an option as it was very close to JFK and we were catching a very early flight with young kids. The staff was friendly, but it's not a place I would frequent. It's OK for a quick stop over. It's rather run down and the beds are springy. Again, it served the purpose as a place to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Not the best

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The building was in a very industrial area even though the were larger chain hotels around it. Very old and difficult to get to. Toilet paper did not have a dispenser it was on the back of the toilet. Woken every time the shower upstairs was used. The room was actually in the basement. Visible pipes in the room. Poorly lit. Could not even tell if it was night or day. Saw a bug in the bathroom, killed it did not tell the wife. The room was not ready at 5 pm when I went to check in. Parking spaces not even lined out. 20oz side in vending machine $2. I was not happy but had no choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Charles, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize about your experience at our hotel and will make sure to address it with our staff. We hope you give us a 2nd chance in the future... However, there are some items to be recognized as well. Our hotel is actually simple to travel to, as it is right off the main road. Also, we do not have a "basement", but we do have a 1st floor, which does exit directly onto the street. All in all, we will still highlight the concerns you have raised in your review with our staff. We do hope you're vacation improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a wonderful stay at JFK Inn

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: This hotel was very clean, i don't mind staying there again.
We had a wonderful time at the Rockaway beach, not far from the hotel. We also did a lots of shopping in Jamaica Ave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2014 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to share your positive experiences. Our front desk staff is happy to assist our guests with travel tips during their stay, recreational ideas for during their stay and any other requests they may have. We are always happy to receive positive feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel close to airport.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Not a lot, but the staff were friendly.
Cons: Decor,and all the things started could be finished and made tidy.
Location: Decent hotel to eat in next door!
Shower with missing tiles on the wall,worked like a hose pipe not a shower,exposed cables on wall. Hanging loose in bathroom and bedroom. Headboard fitted upside down. Ceiling fanlight stuffed with rags to prevent cooled air escaping.NOT the best room I have ever seen.