Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Sound was reflecting thru the wall of my room coming from the runing water in tubes of the bathroom of the room next door making my guest couldn't spend the night and I could sleep very well . Any other stuff was very good .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice hotel for a weekend in NYC

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Nice hotel for a weekend in the city. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans LA

Great Location

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Its central location between Lincoln Center and the Theater District as well as being across the street from Central Park.
Cons: Perhaps a complimentary coffee service in the room, USA Today at the door, and the television remote checked - ours needed new batteries.
Location: See "What did you like about this hotel?" above.
Great staff. Also, never had to wait more than 30 sec for an elevator!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but could be so much more

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Essex is a landmark property right across feom central park. Doesn't get much better than that. However the hotel feels dated and in need of an update. Everything was clean and service was fine. Rooms are nicely appointed but look like they're 5-10 yrs past their prime. Room doors walking doen the hallway lolk as if they were in beginnig of restoration and forgot to finish the job. An awful look that really brings down the place's stature. Not sure what's going on here, but this place is in need of some serious attention before it becomes a once was!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Location: Across the street from Central Park, just 2 blocks from Columbus Circle
We were extremely pleased with this hotel, its personnel and the convenient location. Definitely a do over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Just down the road from 5th avenue and not far to walk to Times Square. All the staff are very friendly and will help you arrange any excursions you want. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel & Great location in NY

Posted Feb 7, 2015
The Essex house is a tried and true NY hotel . The rooms are a nice size, the staff is great. I always come back which is the best recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ont. Canada

over the top

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Spectacular service, location and atmosphere.... never experienced better.
Cons: There is nothing to improve.....
Location: Right across from Central Park, around the corner and a few blocks from Times Square, and shopping on 5th Avenue... location can't be beat...
From the moment we were met at the curb, cab full of luggage and stroller, the staff took care of us. Smiles and assistance at every turn. The room was fabulous. We were upgraded when we arrived and we were granted an extended checkout on departure day. The restaurants that were recommended and reserved for us were just super, great food and busy New York atmosphere, just what we were looking for. Travelling with an 18 year old and a toddler can be tricky but this holiday went with no melt downs or crisis. I can only think that it was the staff's forward thinking and their positive, supportive and happy assistance that helped us all. Thank you so much for everything. Thank you for making a weekend full of university auditions a relaxing memorable time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Large rooms and good location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Large room and location -- very pleasant staff
Cons: no
Close to Central Park, Lincoln Center and Time Square
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear jomar, Thank you for your review. It sounds like location was a key factor for you during your stay in New York City. We are pleased to have been the ideal choice for you. We hope you will keep us in mind if you return to the area someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Nice hotel, beautiful view

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Staff was excellent and the hotel was clean. A little pricy but worth it for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Lillian, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean accommodations and superior service. It is wonderful to know you found your stay to be valuable. Please keep us in mind if you plan on returning to Manhattan in the future.