Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Wonderful old timer.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Its location right adjacent to Central Park! Nice big, clean room.
Location: Right next to Central Park, within walking distance of Time Square, the Empire State building and everything in between like Broadway.
Very nice old timer in excellent condition. My room was nice, clean and big.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent facilities and staff, perfect location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Excellent facilities, superb staff, perfect location.
Cons: The safe in my room was not working but since the one in my daughter's room was, we used it. I reported the problem when we checked out.
Location: Walking distance to Central Park, Museums, Zoo, Lincoln Center, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway, great restaurants, great shopping.
The trip and Broadway show were a present for my daughter's 21st birthday, her first trip to NYC. The hotel is less than 2 blocks from Columbus Circle and the subway. We checked in late Friday evening. Saturday morning we day did a walking tour of the south 1/3 of Central Park, then changed clothes and took the subway to Broadway for an afternoon matinee performance of Beautiful, the Carol King tribute musical (wow!). After the show we walked through Times Square to dinner on 57th and back to the hotel after dinner. Sunday morning we took the subway at Columbus circle to and from 34th for an Empire State Building tour, checked out of our rooms at 12:00, left our luggage at the Bell Desk, followed by a four hour bicycle rental at Columbus Circle for an afternoon ride throughout all of Central Park (fantastic weather both days). Breakfast both days at the hotel restaurant was excellent. Even though we checked out Sunday noon, the hotel provided us keys after our bike ride to the fitness center that has his and hers locker rooms with bathrooms so we could "freshen up" (change clothes) after our ride prior to our dinner engagement with relatives. Our 6:00AM flight home Monday from LGA had us relocate Sunday evening to a hotel at LGA (also near our relatives with whom we had dinner Sunday evening).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Good Hotel - Ideal location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The view of Central Park was amazing!
Cons: Shower leaked water under the door onto the floor. They knew it as they kept putting a new rug there. The remote on the TV did not work well either.
Location: Your in the center of everything. Central park or jump on the subway.
Great hotel-Fantastic location Thing wrong are only minor. Near Perfection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

quick overnight in NYC

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great location - near 5th Avenue and Lincoln Center. Friendly staff, comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Beautiful historic hotel, updated

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We splurged and booked a park view room and weren't disappointed. Our room was spacious, the view was classic and the furnishings a nice mix of classic and modern. The only thing we didn't like: the light switches are way too complicated and not at all intuitive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Unbelievably disappointing.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Towels were nice quality and large.
Cons: Basically everything. Floors in rooms and halls are exceptionally dirty.
Location: Nice that Central Park is across the street. Excellent Shopping nearby.
We made a reservation weeks in advance and were excited to stay at the JW Marriott.We had reserved a suite. We got to the hotel at 6:00pm and our room was not ready. Check in was suppose to be 3:00pm. Front desk was very confused and stalled for about 20 minutes They then said they could give us 2 rooms but not even on the same floor because our room was "dirty". We were then told that they would call us when our room was ready. Never heard from them. At 10:00pm we went back to the hotel (where they were holding our luggage in the lobby where anyone could have walked up and taken it) and the front desk could not find us in the computer! This was one of the same people we had dealt with earlier! After another 15-20 mins, and a few other phone calls. We were found and given a room. Horrible room, noisy street construction all night and trucks pulling in and out all night. Room was in below average condition. No robes, no blankets. Did not feel clean, bathroom floor sticky. Took a wash cloth and wiped the floor and it was horribly dirty. Hall had candy laying on the floor for 3 days, did not look like it had been vacuumed in a month. On our last day a maid was using the phone by the elevators on our floor saying"-4th floor is good, nothing to do here" she repeated it twice. If you can get past the condition be prepared to spend time checking every charge. We were charged for Mini bar items that we never used. Meals are expensive small breakfast for 2- $100.00.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expecting more with a 4.3 star rating.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Employees Lobby
Location: Its NYC lots to do!!!
We visit NYC 1-2 times a year. We always stay around the park area. My husband has always wanted to try the Essex house so this is where I booked. With the 4 star rating I was sure it would be a nice hotel. I'm sure JW Marriott would not be happy with the looks of the rooms. Wallpaper coming off, carpets dirty, just not what I was hoping for in a room. On a good note, the employees were nothing but NICE!!!!! I don't like to give negative reviews but the hotel needs a little face lift.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Limited Disability Facilities

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: Increase the number of disabled rooms. Disallow forfeiture of fees if the hotel does not have disabled room available.
Location: Great location adjacent to Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Stayed in a Standard room - but it was certainly not 'standard'. Quality furnishings throughout. I would definitely try for the "Central Park View" next time. Unless you plan on being in the room too long, though, it shouldn't be a deal-breaker. Great service, wonderful concierge, up-scale experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raine from New York

Opposite Central Park great for walking.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Professional friendly staff, beautiful lobby and nice bar (pricey!). The bed was so comfy, spacious room,quiet and nice bathroom.
Cons: Do not use hotel phone to call international!!
Location: Great. Fabulous. We walked every night to nearby restaurants and up and down to Manhattan and beyond. Central park in the day was gorgeous.
Loved New York. It was overwhelming at first and seemed so vast but after day one we were in the swing. We walked everywhere or used taxis. We bought NY passes and the pass offers super value for all the attractions. One day we took the water taxis on the Hudson which you can get on and off, it was fantastic, great for views and visiting different locations from the stops it made. So many good places to eat, great service. I want to go straight back to NYC!