Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
I stayed in two different rooms and although the room was nicely cleaned daily--the deeper cleanliness was lacking. When I moved a chair and foot-stool, there were huge dust bunnies and pens and debris underneath...I think the rooms need more frequent Spring cleaning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Change for the worst

Posted May 19, 2015
Previously top of the line. Now, not so much in every way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but needs a few pick me ups.

Posted May 12, 2015
I loved the Essex House when it was run by another brand but now that JW has taken it over things have taken a slide. There's no more afternoon tea! That is a huge deal for me since it is something that is expected at fancy nyc hotels. The rooms need to be better kept. Cracks And crannies need to be fixed and touched up. The AC is our room was making noise and we had to call for simeone to fix it three times. The concierge took forever to get back to us and Rafael sent us to have lunch at the most awful restarant where the garbages were actual exposed in the restarant. My husband and I sat there for a bit and then decided we just couldn't eat there and left. I mean, your paying about$500.00 USD per night to stay opposite Central Park and a traditional and Classic brand and that's where they will suggest you have lunch? Give me a break. Now onto the positives: The Location is Unbeatable! Your just opposite the park, steps away from the Time Warner building, Licon Center, shopping on 5th Av, Broadway, The Plaza and more. Enough said. The gym is well kept and the hotel lobby is extra lovely. It just fills you with that old nyc charm. The door men a very helpful and the beds in the quiet hotel rooms are just amazing. A big plus after you've been out shopping all day. Are there cheaper places to stay in NYC? Yes. Would I stay here again? Yes. I love their location & beds. Would I take any more suggestions on where to dine? Probably not and neither should you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate this opportunity to learn more about your recent stay. Though you enjoyed your experience on most accounts, including our location and Art Deco atmosphere, we are disappointed that the concierge led you toward an unfavorable lunch spot. We are glad you have brought this to our attention, as we will be sure to forward your comments to our concierge team. As we are sure you are aware, there are many wonderful places to eat in our city. We are confident we can point you in the right direction on your next stay. We take our guest feedback quite seriously and would love a future chance to prove to you that your review has been taken to heart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great hotel adjacent to Central Park

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Very welcoming, comfortable, great facilities and conveniently located for many attractions
Cons: Our room needed plug sockets under the large mirrors. However I think we were unlucky speaking to other guests they had more sockets.
Location: Hotel ideally located for Central Park, horse & carriage rides, bus tours, 5th Ave shopping and a variety of restaurants, bistros & bars.
As a family we travelled to NY for the wedding of my daughter. Everything surpassed our hopes and the hotel's facilities, ambiance and location was first class. The staff were always very helpful with their advice and booking tickets etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Hilary, Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Essex House for such a special event. We are so pleased to know that your stay was smooth and enjoyable considering your stay revolved around your daughter’s wedding. We hope the ceremony was lovely. If you plan on visiting the area again someday, we would love to once again be your hotel of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
Our stay there was pleasing. I would recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Maria F, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review. It is always motivating to hear from a satisfied guest. Thank you for joining us and for your recommendation. We hope you will keep our hotel in mind for your next visit to New York City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom riyadh

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Great location, overlook the central part. The room is small
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Hugail, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Our location overlooking Central Park lends itself to breathtaking room views. We are pleased that our room sizes exceed many of those found in Manhattan, with some extending to over 1000 square feet. Before your next stay, we would be happy to discuss the best room option for your needs. We are happy to create the perfect experience for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte

Wonderful hotel on Central Park south

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: This midtown New York location is close to the park, museums, restaurants, shopping and theaters.
Everyone was very kind and helpful. The room was clean and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Andi, Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to provide you with clean, quiet accommodations near Central Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please keep JW Marriott Essex House in mind if your travels bring you back to New York City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was excellent.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The hotel was as goid as the NYAC, which is where we used to stay. Only problem is that there is some kind of recycling company in back of building on 57th. Very load trucks there pretty much all the time. Worth the stay, though. Excellent rooms, very helpful personel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It is wonderful to hear that you found our service and accommodations to be excellent. We have made note of your thoughts regarding the truck noise and will review the measures we can take to ensure this does not disturb out guests. Please know that we can try and relocate you to an alternate room in the meantime. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider another stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ro

Ottimo albergo punto strategico da consigliare

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Ottimo albergo posizione eccellente vicino a Times Square ma non nella confusione,affacciato su Central Park....meraviglioso!!!Il personale molto professionale e disponibile la colazione più che soddisfacente mentre la pulizia delle camere lascia molto molto a desiderare...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Incredible hotel on Central Park South

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Spent four nights during Spring Break at the Essex House. We love coming here. Perfectly located at the mid point of the park. Staff the entire trip was amazing from check in, bell, front door, housekeeping and really everyone we came across. The hotel itself was immaculate and love the art deco throughout. The rooms have been upgraded since the last time we were there and the one we had was a fantastic place to call home. Walk across to the park, short walk to Times Square and Theater District. It is near most everything you need, including subway stations. Our favorite hotel and worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Essex House for your spring break travels! It is wonderful to know it was the service of our staff who made your experience so memorable. We will be sure to forward your compliments along to the entire team. To know that you appreciated our Art Deco touches and refreshed rooms is also great to hear. It was pleasure to read your review, and we look forward to our next chance to serve you.