Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom riyadh

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Great location, overlook the central part. The room is small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte

Wonderful hotel on Central Park south

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: This midtown New York location is close to the park, museums, restaurants, shopping and theaters.
Everyone was very kind and helpful. The room was clean and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was excellent.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The hotel was as goid as the NYAC, which is where we used to stay. Only problem is that there is some kind of recycling company in back of building on 57th. Very load trucks there pretty much all the time. Worth the stay, though. Excellent rooms, very helpful personel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It is wonderful to hear that you found our service and accommodations to be excellent. We have made note of your thoughts regarding the truck noise and will review the measures we can take to ensure this does not disturb out guests. Please know that we can try and relocate you to an alternate room in the meantime. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider another stay with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ro

Ottimo albergo punto strategico da consigliare

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Ottimo albergo posizione eccellente vicino a Times Square ma non nella confusione,affacciato su Central Park....meraviglioso!!!Il personale molto professionale e disponibile la colazione più che soddisfacente mentre la pulizia delle camere lascia molto molto a desiderare...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Incredible hotel on Central Park South

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Spent four nights during Spring Break at the Essex House. We love coming here. Perfectly located at the mid point of the park. Staff the entire trip was amazing from check in, bell, front door, housekeeping and really everyone we came across. The hotel itself was immaculate and love the art deco throughout. The rooms have been upgraded since the last time we were there and the one we had was a fantastic place to call home. Walk across to the park, short walk to Times Square and Theater District. It is near most everything you need, including subway stations. Our favorite hotel and worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Essex House for your spring break travels! It is wonderful to know it was the service of our staff who made your experience so memorable. We will be sure to forward your compliments along to the entire team. To know that you appreciated our Art Deco touches and refreshed rooms is also great to hear. It was pleasure to read your review, and we look forward to our next chance to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

Great location in midtown

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Wifi is not good, take your own hotspot or some other device
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are disappointed our WiFi service was not at its usual high speed while you stayed with us. In the future, please do not hesitate to share this with our associates. We have a procedural rundown we implement to ensure our Internet is running efficiently. In any case, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention now. We will solve this issue now, so your next stay will be completely exceptional.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

You're Paying for LOCATION

Posted Mar 17, 2015
JW Marriott Essex is on Central Park South, directly across from the park, and sandwiched on either side by 5th Avenue and Avenue of the Americas (6th Avenue). The hotel is old. VERY OLD. You should know that going in. While the staff is nice, the room was disappointing. It may be a hotel for the older crowd. There is a spa and jewelry store in the lobby but no Starbucks (most Marriotts have Starbucks that Ive stayed at). But you cannot beat the location. On Columbus Circle, across from the Park. It's divine. Walk outside and on one side you're on 5th Avenue and on the other you're on Avenue of the Americas. Super close to Penn Station and easy to get anywhere in the city with metro stops at 57th, Columbus Circle and 5th Ave. Overall, I'd say if this is the experience you want, hit up the Plaza down the block.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the opportunity to hear your thoughts on your recent stay. Our location is indeed in a prime location off Central Park and near many main avenues that will take you right to popular attractions. However, we are disappointed if our hotel décor was not to your liking. Designed to invoke the grandeur of our hotel at its inception in the 1930s, the Art Deco elements blend easily with the modern amenities we have installed in every room. And while there is no Starbucks in the lobby, free coffee is served daily. If you return to the area in the future, we hope that the fine service you encountered and central location might bring you back for another stay – we would love another chance to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Great location south Central Park

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Hotel and room as expected for this type of hotel, personnel was very kind, I had reserved a King bed plus extra bed for my 15 year old daughter, but without asking for I was offerrd a double queen room for the same price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Andres, We appreciate the chance to hear a bit more about your stay at JW Marriott Essex House. From your room type, to our location on Central Park and our fine staff service, we are pleased to have offered you a satisfying experience. If you and your daughter return to New York City, we hope you will keep our hotel in mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Great location. Bathroom window had a cold draft that made showers way too cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some discomfort. The recent cold spell we experienced brought with it some strong drafts. Please rest assured our engineering team has been made aware of any windows that need reinforcement and are working hard to ensure they are properly addressed. We hope you rested well and enjoyed your overall stay. We would happily welcome you back for another stay- New York City in summertime is an entirely different experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2015
ソファベッドを使ったのですが、ベッドメーキングを始め スタッフの方々がとても暖かく親切でした。設備は、少し古いですが 何も問題なかったです。