Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely Bed and Breakfast in Brooklyn

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Good location, reasonable rate, very clean.
My room was very clean and spacious, with air conditioner, Cable TV, ample closet and an iron/ironing board. The bathroom was immaculate and lovely with amenities for use. Michelle was very sweet and interested in my reason for visiting the NY area. The location is an easy walk from the Prospect Part Subway station. A longer walk to the famed Botanical Gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A long-awaited wedding in NYC

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: large light-filled room with beautifully finished oak accents throughout the building
Cons: room-darkening curtains
Location: Bay Leaf Thai restaurant was excellent and only a block away on Flatbush. The Botanical Garden is almost as nearby.
After a 35-year engagement, my friends finally were able to legalize their lifelong commitment with a FABulous wedding ceremony, followed by dinner and dancing at the Pratt House. I chose Lefferts Garden for its rates and was not disappointed - especially after I figured out how easy it was to take the subway anywhere I wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from UK

Brooklyn base convenient for subway to Manhattan

Posted Apr 1, 2014
I stayed in the small (very small) "Ebony" room, which was a steal at $80.00 per night; if you're on a tight budget and don't care too much for space, it is fine. There is a medium sized cupboard and a bedside table with two drawers. On the same floor is a large and well-fitted bathroom and a kitchen with sink, oven, gas hob, microwave and fridge. The kitchen unfortunately lacks a table, but is good for making breakfast and snacks. The house as a whole is pleasant, with lots of old wood. As some other reviews have mentioned, the stairs are a bit creaky, with the potential to awaken other guests late at night, but this is not a major issue. The hostess, Michelle, is very pleasant, though you should not expect to see very much of her, as this is only a small b&b and not staffed 24/7. She is contactable by phone, email or written note. I stayed here because I needed a cheapish room in New York, and commuted into Manhattan each day from the very close Prospect Park subway. Allow about 30 minutes to get to Midtown. All in all, a good experience for the very reasonable price, and recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carissa from Washington, DC

Centrally Located

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We picked this hotel because it was centrally located among all of the various neighborhoods in Brooklyn we planned to visit. There's not much in the immediate vicinity to see and do, but the location was key in getting easily and quickly around to Williamsburg, Park Slope, DUMBO, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Clean, inexpensive,

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Clean, close to subway, kitchen, close to grocery stores.
Cons: The wood stairs are noisy. It adds to the charm of this old (but very well kept) house.
Location: Within walking distance to Prospect Park in Brooklyn. Easy access to the subway (B, Q, S) with a +/- 15, 20 minute ride to Manhattan.
I booked this B&B for a 4 night stay in early November. Staff was very pleasant, facilities very clean, my room (Ebony) was small, but enough for a single person. It has a kitchen, and the only drawback is that you have to share a bathroom. Not really a problem, since it's clean and very well kept. I booked this place as I was running the NY marathon. It has easy access to the subway B, Q, S. With a 15 to 20 min. ride to Manhattan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, on a quiet side street

Posted Sep 7, 2013
We felt comfortable. Would have preferred another chair or a small table for eating breakfast. We had to stand or eat sitting on the floor. Nice to have breakfast foods available in the kitchenette.
2 out of 5
by d. from pottstown, pa

only for the completely independent traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: it was clean
Cons: staff availability, a thorough check-in
Location: i didn't get very aquainted with the neighborhood. i wish the staff would've helped recommend what's good locally. and offer a neighborhood map.
the house itself is pretty and very clean, but the staff is basically invisible. i was told in a very brief and uninformative "check in" that if i needed anything, i was to either go outside and ring the doorbell or send them an email. this was pretty uncool in my mind already. they said they would respond quickly.. they did not. when being shown to my room, i felt like i was keeping her from doing something else and that there was no time for questions. perhaps there is a different set of rules for new york city b&b's of which i am just not aware. but i was extremely disappointed and frustrated by the lack of help there. i think if you are going to run a b&b and take people's money for it, that you need to also commit to putting in the time to be there for your guests. i will not return, i would rather have part of my money returned. ...also, no a.c. or t.v. i'm glad it wasn't very hot when i was there. and don't forget to ask ahead for breakfast in the a.m. they didn't tell me that. it was mentioned on their website, which is not where i made the reservation. i thought i should've been mentioned to me at some point. two big thumbs down.. unless you have no desire to socialize and are very familiar with the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose this B&B because it was close to Prospect Park and we had planned a 5K there. We arrived fairly late 10PM and weren't sure we were at the right place as there is no signage on the building. There is an imposing CCTV camera and stickers regarding guard dogs. After a few minutes Michelle came to the door and told us we were in the right place. It was very hot in New York the week we were there and the air conditioning in our room was not on when we arrived. The small window unit was able to cool down the room after about 2-3 hours. We were asked to turn the air off when we left (?). It is quite a distance from the subway lines. Do not think we will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Roomy. Close to businesses & public transportation

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: The location and well maintained interior. The kitchen on the third floor was very helpful with it's full size refrig, sink and utensils.
Cons: The owner could be more welcoming. She never asked about our comfort, offered towels or linen or offered to have someone vacuum. We were on our own
Location: This bed and breakfast is within walking distance of Prospect Park. Many restaurants provide a wide variety of dining choices.
This bed and breakfast is attractive and in the midst of an eclectic and diverse community. Lots of restaurants, shops and very close to the metro. It's easy to get to and from Manhattan.It is definitely a homey feel with the rich wood, high ceilings and vintage look. The first night, the electricity shut off. We were warned not to use the ceiling chandelier. Michelle, the owner, asked us to use the table lamps instead. But, when we turned on the television, the lights went off. It was late and we had to awaken Michelle so that she could reset the circuit breaker. The remainder of our three day stay, we sat in the dark when we turned on the t.v. We never were offered clean towels or to have the room cleaned. We're not messy, so cleaning wasn't an issue, but we could have used towels. The last day, I requested new towels and they were provided. Even though the bathroom was shared with another resident on the second floor, this didn't cause much of a delay or inconvenience. We loved the large, stone tiled bathroom with the glass enclosed shower. It would have been good to have hooks in the bathroom because there wasn't anywhere to put clothes or to hang the towel while showering. Also, since the bathroom was shared, we would have appreciated cleaning spray for the toilet and shower. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to travelers who don't expect frills or lots of attention. Continental breakfast would have been good, also. There was tea,coffee and water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Xiaoxing (Chelsea) from Baltimore, MD

Very Sweet Place to Stay!

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Michelle who owns the place was very friendly! The place has a very home-like feeling, sweet with stained glass, hardwood floor and classical-looking furniture pieces. Room was clean, mattress was comfortable. The towels provided very fluffy. When I visited, big bottles of Fructis shampoo, conditioner and Dove shower gel were provided. Location was 7min walk from subway station (Prospect Park), and neighborhood was very safe and quiet with birds tweeting in early morning. Manhattan was a 40-min subway ride away. Though there was no TV in my room, I didn't mind and I think It was a very worthwhile stay!