Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great hotel for the price and close to metro.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
We stayed here for a week and had a great experience. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We arrived early and they allowed us to leave our bag behind the counter while we went out to explore Manhatten. The room was clean, including the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the mini fridge was a helpful bonus. The area the hotel is located in is close to a freeway and hospital yet I found it quiet enough to sleep without being woken. As some other reviewers have mentioned you can indeed hear doors closing out in the hallway sometimes. The elevator was out of service the day we arrived but was operational the next day. This hotel is very close to the Jamacia Van Wyck metro station. You can take the E train right into Manhatten within 30 minutes. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Oct 16, 2014
While the room was clean (not a bug to be found), they were very disorganized. I was first given a room only to find it occupied when I walked in. Also it was a three day stay and every day at 2 pm my keys stopped working and I had to go back to the desk to get them working again. They also state that they serve breakfast until 9:30, but by 9 there wasn't any food left so we ended up having to buy breakfast everyday. They also advertise free parking, but there are only about 10 spaces so you have to be lucky to get one. The staff was very friendly and the whirlpool was wonderful. Everything about the place was clean and comfortable, if a little on the cramped side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

Nice hotel overall at New York.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Great stay. Courteous staff. Accommodation is good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
compare to price it is very very bad area is not safe
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Comfortable small hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Cons: We were misled by the name of the hotel — We hoped we could walk to it. It was not even near the airtrain. No shuttle was provided. The cab was $25.
We arrived late and left early, because of flight schedules at JFK. The desk clerk got us a cab and everything went smoothly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small place, no airport pick up

Posted Oct 6, 2014
I wanted a hotel close to the airport since I was in transit. I was very disappointed when I realized there was no airport shuttle. The hotel was tagged to a bus service which did not come as I was the only passenger to the airport at 6 AM. The hotel had free breakfast which would not open till 6.30AM. The only positive was the staff were very friendly and cooperative.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
I dont like the attitude of their staff. Hotel is ok in distance wise so close to subway, reasonable for the price but my only complain is just the staff that are not so pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I'd stayed here when it was previously a clarion, and it's still a great place to stay. Friendly staff, and a nice clean room. Super close to the subway as well which is really helpful. Bit of a ways from Manhattan but if you don't mind riding the subway it's really not a big deal. Can't beat a complimentary breakfast at a nice clean hotel! Super reasonable rates to boot!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Helpful staff...breakfast poor..not enough parking...bigger/better pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to St. John's

Posted Sep 2, 2014
If you are visiting St. John's it is nearby, clean and comfortable. The neighborhood is OK, but the price is very good.