Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great location if visiting Columbia University

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: The best thing (other than location) is the staff. We experienced two different shifts of people and they were all incredibly friendly and helpful.
Cons: The room was comfortable, but the window air conditioner did not work Luckily there was a ceiling fan.
Location: This was perfect for visiting Columbia, and was also close to many restaurants, and right on the red subway line. Very convenient!
My son and I were visiting Columbia, and this seemed to be the nicest hotel (within a reasonable price) for the area. The hotel is charming -- warm colors and super friendly staff -- but it lacks certain comforts like an elevator, which was okay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

Fantastic location and great hotel for the prrice.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This is our second stay at this hotel and would recommend. The rooms are small but comfy and functional and the location beside the 1 train is super convenient. The downside to this stay was that the bath tap leaked the entire stay which in turn meant the water boiler constantly heated: a very loud and irritating noise to listen to all night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good Upper West Side Option

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Very nice hotel. Exceptional staff. The only drawbacks were that there is no elevator and no parking. Overall it was perfect for my needs in NYC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Extremely small for BIG $$$

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Extremely small rooms, no sort of accommodations or amenities, did not acknowledge my prior request for early check-in/ late check-out, charged to store luggage while waiting for departure, no staff recommendations or tourist help. My first time to NYC, almost unpleasant based on hotel experience alone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great neighborhood

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Well located and the staff were second to none for great service.
Cons: Sadly no elevator made it tiresome to make it up 4 levels to our room. The shower in our room changed temp when operating.
Location: We covered lots of ground from d'town to Harlem. Great eateries, entertainment, memories
Great access to the subway and a nice quiet area, close to conveniences and central park. We covered lots of ground from d'town to Harlem. Great eateries, entertainment, memories
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I don't do titles

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: location
Location: Columbia within walking distance.
Exterior somewhat offputting. No elevator. Cleaning implements in the hallways. Comfortable bed. Enough room to move in - often not true in NYC. Decor marginal. Convenient to Columbia. Would use again with similar needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Good price to quality ratio

Posted Aug 13, 2014
It's Manhattan, your budget pretty much determines what your hotel will look like. This is and quaint, cozy little place that could use some renovations but really gets the job done if you are the early-bird type who doesn't want to spend too much time in your room. Super staff and great area if you want to experience the quieter side of Manhattan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Older hotel, but adequate for the need.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Service Comfort of room
Location: Columbia U and a million restaurants. GREAT Italian fast food place across Amsterdam Ave. from Columbia. Not the one with the patio.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the bell captains are very good and great attitude. The hotel is an older hotel, but the room was very comfortable and clean. No elevator so we walked up - really, like everyone else, we pretty much ran and scampered up - four floors to our room. I'm 58 and overweight and raced my 17-year old daughter up the stairs so you can, too. I'd say worth the money. About a 20 minute walk to Columbia U, and there are a lot of interesting sights and sounds in between the two so we didn't mind the walk at all. Tom's Restaurant from Seinfeld is up the street on the way to Columbia and we had a decent breakfast there. If you're looking for a modern, well-appointed, full-service Marriott type-of-deal, then you will be disappointed. If you like great service staff and a comfortable room in a great location, well, there you are. The bell captain very quickly fetched our luggage and hailed a cab the morning we left, very prompt and crisp service. Jim Cameron Stayed 8-6-14
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great area, nice boutique hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location and remodeled rooms
Cons: Noise insulation, mainly form the bathrooms on the other rooms
Location: Close to Columbia University and the Cathedral. The Silver Moon bakery is the best bakery you can find in NYC.
It was a nice surprise to enter the Marrakesh hotel. Up the stairs on Broadway and you find modern lobby with very nice people. Our room was another 2 flight of stairs up. We have no problem on climbing stairs. The hotels are New York size, small but will all expected amenities and remodeled, which is the best thing you can find on a hotel. Noise insulation is not a hotel forte, as you can hear the water flowing on the adjacent rooms and bathrooms. The location is amazing. Morningside is one of NYC's best neighborhoods, and there is a substation on the corner of 103 St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
it was ok nice room a little too small I think but we didn't need much space so it was ok the staff was nice and the hotel was very quiet I liked that