Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great base to explore Brooklyn

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Had a very pleasant stay. Hotel was quiet during my October stay (pool closed) and made a relaxing home base to explore Williamsburg and Greenpoint. Short walk to Bedford subway stop to Manhattan. Beds were veryyyyy comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all restaurants and the L train.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Very quite and cozy rooms. Nice restaurant next to the hotel the Elm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O'Fallon, MO

Nice hotel in Williamsburg

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: It's location, the restaurant, and the hotel staff.
Cons: Lower Cost
Location: Hotel was within walking distance of most good restaurants in Williamsburg area, the East River Ferry and L metro line to Manhattan.
We were visiting our son in Williamsburg and spent 10 days in the hotel, ate at his favorite restaurants in Brooklyn and Manhattan, saw 4 Broadway shows, and rode the East River Ferry to DUMBO twice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Courteous staff.
Cons: Room was a bit small.
Location: Brooklyn. Easy parking. Cute wine bar about 8 blocks away.
Very courteous and helpful staff. Room and bed very comfortable. Very clean. Very nice sheets. I will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Expensive, but why?

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness.
Cons: Price and guest services
Location: Located in a gentrified part of Brooklyn.
My "superior" room was tiny. There was a queen bed with just enough room to walk around it. A plastic molded chair was the only chair in the room. No bath in the bathroom, only a shower stall. Tiny closet for hanging clothes. Tiny desk lamps on tiny nightstands. Tons of drinks and snacks for sale on the credenza, taking up much of the limited space. I could be satisfied with the functional aspects of the room and hotel if the price was reasonable. However, at $380 per night for just the room, miles from my destination in Manhattan, I was disappointed. Nothing "cute" or "cool" about overpaying for minimalist accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, friendly staff, cool pool area

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, pool area, location
Cons: Minor issue with the bathroom having a bit of a dank smell from the drain.
Location: Clothes, jewellery and furniture shopping at Brooklyn Flea Market, Smorgasburg (food market), East River Ferry
Great location in Williamsburg, lots of cool bars/cafes/restaurants nearby (easy walking distance), close to the metro and East River Ferry so easy to get to Manhattan. Staff were great, very helpful and friendly. It's a very laid back place, but be prepared for the hordes of people queuing for the rooftop bar on the weekend. Pool area is great, but you need to get in early to get a lounger as they fill up quickly with paying external guests. Rooftop bar generates a lot of noise, so ask for a room on the lower floors if you don't want to be disturbed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good hotel but bad experience

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The hotel is very hip, has very nice facilities and is in a good location. My husband booked us one night there as a romantic treat before an invasive surgery that would put me out of commission for a couple of months. He noted this when he booked the room and again when we arrived, to ensure we got the special treatment he paid for. Instead, we were placed in a room that had loud pipe noises and, when we complained about it, it turned out it was a problem they already knew about. So, with knowledge, they put us in a room where we were listening to what sounded like a cat trapped in the piped. Of course, once we complained, they had to move us to another room on the 4th floor (much smaller), where you could hear the very loud music coming from the room (8th floor). Our romantic evening was ruined and my husband was very angry and frustrated. Compounding an already disappointing stay, when we called to order room service it took them about 7 rings to pick up and then kept redirecting us to the voicemail of The Elm, the hotel's restaurant. It took us 30 mins to locate someone to place an order. Absurd. I was excited to find a quality hotel in my neighborhood that I could recommend to visiting friends and family. Unfortunately, McCarren Hotel & Pool is not it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great Location, Friendly staff.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: good location, parking available (first come, first served), friendly staff, clean rooms, decent room size for NYC
Cons: heat the pool? complimentary coffee for guests
Great Location, Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms (and pretty decent size for nyc). We were really stoked about having a pool to dip in, but it was FREEZING! We could barely get in past our toes (and it was 85 degrees outside!). So that sort of was a big bummer. Also, would be nice if they offered complimentary coffee to the guests and didn't try to charge them $3.5 (there is no coffee machine in the room). Just add it into the rate, and don't tell me, but please, complimentary coffee is pretty standard these days. Oh ny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CC from USA

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great location to visit Brooklyn with easy walking to L line into Manhattan. I enjoyed swimming laps in the pool from 9-10 am but after that it starts to get crowded since they open it to neighbors and the bar scene. Lots of 20-40 year olds having drinks and food by the pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com