Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, friendly staff, cool pool area

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, pool area, location
Cons: Minor issue with the bathroom having a bit of a dank smell from the drain.
Location: Clothes, jewellery and furniture shopping at Brooklyn Flea Market, Smorgasburg (food market), East River Ferry
Great location in Williamsburg, lots of cool bars/cafes/restaurants nearby (easy walking distance), close to the metro and East River Ferry so easy to get to Manhattan. Staff were great, very helpful and friendly. It's a very laid back place, but be prepared for the hordes of people queuing for the rooftop bar on the weekend. Pool area is great, but you need to get in early to get a lounger as they fill up quickly with paying external guests. Rooftop bar generates a lot of noise, so ask for a room on the lower floors if you don't want to be disturbed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good hotel but bad experience

Posted Aug 8, 2014
The hotel is very hip, has very nice facilities and is in a good location. My husband booked us one night there as a romantic treat before an invasive surgery that would put me out of commission for a couple of months. He noted this when he booked the room and again when we arrived, to ensure we got the special treatment he paid for. Instead, we were placed in a room that had loud pipe noises and, when we complained about it, it turned out it was a problem they already knew about. So, with knowledge, they put us in a room where we were listening to what sounded like a cat trapped in the piped. Of course, once we complained, they had to move us to another room on the 4th floor (much smaller), where you could hear the very loud music coming from the room (8th floor). Our romantic evening was ruined and my husband was very angry and frustrated. Compounding an already disappointing stay, when we called to order room service it took them about 7 rings to pick up and then kept redirecting us to the voicemail of The Elm, the hotel's restaurant. It took us 30 mins to locate someone to place an order. Absurd. I was excited to find a quality hotel in my neighborhood that I could recommend to visiting friends and family. Unfortunately, McCarren Hotel & Pool is not it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great Location, Friendly staff.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: good location, parking available (first come, first served), friendly staff, clean rooms, decent room size for NYC
Cons: heat the pool? complimentary coffee for guests
Great Location, Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms (and pretty decent size for nyc). We were really stoked about having a pool to dip in, but it was FREEZING! We could barely get in past our toes (and it was 85 degrees outside!). So that sort of was a big bummer. Also, would be nice if they offered complimentary coffee to the guests and didn't try to charge them $3.5 (there is no coffee machine in the room). Just add it into the rate, and don't tell me, but please, complimentary coffee is pretty standard these days. Oh ny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judith U from Brentwood UK.

Conveniently situated in hip Williamsburg.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Our standard room was small, even by NY standards, with very little storage space. Friendly staff, always helpful. Lovely pool Restaurant overpriced, but plenty of alternatives nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel with a great location

Posted May 27, 2014
overall the hotel was nice. we only stayed there one night. the drinks at the bar were a bit expensive $15 for a shot of whiskey? i just walked down the street to grab a drink for half the price for the same whiskey. the windows were getting washed the day we were checking out i think they started at 9am. but i woke up to a weird sound outside and it was a guy hanging in front of my window cleaning it. a heads up front the front desk would have been nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for Williamsburg

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Overall very modern style
Location: Tons of local neighborhood bars. Everything is within walking distance.
Very modern appearing hotel. Clean bar and pool area. The only hiccup on my stay is that the fixture in the shower was loose. They sent a maintenance staff to repair it and it was fixed right away. Would stay again if in the Williamsburg area.
3 out of 5
by ea

Very poor facilities for a luxury hotel

Posted May 4, 2014
Very disappointing hotel facititues - no lounge - pool tarrace only open in summer. Restaurant only open for meals - nowhere for a drink or t
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from San Francisco

I have a balcony!!

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was awesome. All of the finishes and details were great, the location was awesome, and the staff in the lobby were great. The biggest selling point for me was the balcony off my room, which is so hard to find in NYC. The view of midtown Manhattan from my balcony was stunning, and I would absolutely stay here again. Especially when the rooftop opens!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is being remodeled and it is not ready yet. Service at the desk was poor. We could not get into our room until after 5:00 pm. All they said was sorry. I plan on writing a letter to their corporate office.