Ratings based on 1,826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in Downtown Manhatten,

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Friendliness, comfort and a good swimming pool and gym.
Location: Close to all subway links, Battery park and Ground Zero
Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is close to all subway lines and makes travel around Manhatten very easy. Provided a lovely comfortable base for a great holiday Frien
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel, excellent views, roomy room

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The view, the comfortable beds and the large rooms
Cons: TV reception, fan in bathrooms, more coffee condiments needed
Location: Excellent location for the Battery, South Street, World Trade Center, City Hall. Excellent access to all subways headed north.
The staff gave us a room in the upper floors upon request. The view was superb! The electronic keys didn't work consistently at first, but the concierge staff was prompt in sending up replacements. Other than that, we didn't use the restaurant, athletic or dining facilities so we really can't comment on the staff. However, the room was very roomy and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The TV reception, however, was terrible. Definitely not HD, the screen wasn't correctly proportional to people's heads, and the remote didn't allow for picture reproportioning. Not worth renting a movie. The bathroom was large, but lacked a fan. Furniture was adequate if you overlooked the worn appearance of the dressers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great hotel, great location. Reasonable price. Would definetly come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, decent amenities, nice staff
Cons: Beds are small, really not suitable for two people even though they're advertised as double beds
Location: 911 memorial and museum is directly across the street. Battery Park and Statue of Liberty Ferry are within walking distance as is the Brooklyn Bridge
we've stayed at this hotel before and chose to stay here again because we like the facilities and it is close to our son's college. Hotel is close to places of interest and the subway system. From this location we were able to walk to our son's school, visit the 911 memorial and museum, and take the subway, which is near the hotel, to all other areas of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Pretty Average

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Nothing bad to say about the hotel. The bed is comfortable and warm, they provided me with a tooth brush and toothpaste. As well as letting me borrow an umbrella for the day. It was nothing to write home about either. Pretty standard hotel in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Freedom Tower

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Great location if you need to be in the financial district. Inconvenient location if you are in NY girl vacation and want to sightsee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Fantastic Hotel in great area

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I stay at the MH when I travel to NYC for business. Love being in the Financial District - close to many interesting neighborhoods. Tribeca is my favorite. Fantastic staff and you simply can't beat the location to the WTC sites. Will be back several times in the next 2 months.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

A week in New York

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The view was impressive (onto One World Trade Center). The location is close to a range of subway stations and lines.
Cons: Consistency of room cleaning. WiFi in rooms should be free of charge. These days charging for WiFi is like charging for electricity.
Location: 9/11 site. Financial district.
This is the sort of hotel that nickel and dimes you. Everything is extra - move a bottle in the minibar to make room for something of your own you want to cool: get charged, want access to a fridge: $25, want to use the Internet in your room: pay extra, free Internet in the lobby but most of the seating is in the bar area, where you are supposed to buy a drink to sit after noon, and so on. Breakfast pricey for what it is. Room cleaning is a bit hit and miss. One day: glasses taken but not replaced. Another day: no bathmats. Day after: two bath mats. One day: plastic bag for ice bucket. Next day: no bag. One day: fresh shampoo. Next day: not, despite absence of shampoo. And so on. The air conditioning vents and carpets could use a good vacuuming. With the exception of a couple of slightly surly people at reception, everyone else at reception, the concierge's desk, cleaning staff, and other hotel services were very friendly and very helpful. They definitely put some effort into it, which was appreciated since various missing items and incorrect charges needed to be resolved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel in this part of town

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Checked in 22/23 August good hotel staff very attentive had a room for 3 beds ok sofa bed appalling had eldest daughter in bed with us room was nice &clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If only.....

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I thought the hotel was a great hotel as far as cleanliness and comfort...It was very classy with the decor but I felt that the staff could of been a little more friendly and when I say staff I am mostly talking about front desk. The doormen were very accommodating and friendly but the front desk, there was no eargerness to help or get to the guest that were checking in. There were staff members who never smiled and just seem angry that they had a job. I also didn't like the fact that I was asleep and this random man came to my room in the middle of the day to check and see if I had eaten anything from there snack bar..that was a first for me. I would stay at this hotel again because of the rate and only if I didn't have to deal with the staff .