Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel, nice neighborhood

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, neighborhood, staff, roomy
Cons: The AC needs to be improved
Overall the hotel is good. The only thing I would caution against is staying in the summer. The AC didn't seem to work very well. It would not cool below 68 degrees and took hours to get down 3 degrees and that was with it being cold outside. I'm not sure if this has to do w/ the "Eco friendly" hotel motto or not. But the one thing I can't deal w/ is being hot at night and I was. Other than that the room was very nice and clean and the staff was friendly. There is a starbucks a few blocks away and lot of nice shops in the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pawtucket, RI

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Close to the Barclay's Center. Easy to find. Parking garage right next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to my Daughter's apt.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Clean - Friendly Staff - Close to the places I needed to go... all in walking distance.
Cons: The shower was great - but I really needed a bath tub. I'll have to remember to ask for that the next time.
Location: A few good restaurants - great pilates and yoga classes!
It was a bit untraditional - but in a real nice way. I stayed 3 nights and it really grew on me. I'll definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My go-to when in NYC

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location, decor, amenities, staff cannot be beat. Amazing place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Back to Collegefrom Brooklyn Heights

Fun in Brooklyn Heights

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The NU is a very nice quaint hotel. It's nice to stay in a place a bit more organic rather than the big chain hotels. The staff is friendly and helpful.I will stay there again, it's near "everything" Brooklyn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value and staff

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Location: Right at a major crossroadfs, 15 minute walk to the malls and places to eat.
By far the best overall value of a hotel I have stayed in. Great new gym, continental breakfast and the staff was excellent. I will stay there in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bobfrom Oakland

Boutique Brooklyn

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great idea, brilliantly executed. Fabulous staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Small but mighty

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very cute boutique hotel. It has a European hotel feel to it esp in the lobby - with a small bar, and breakfast area decorated with bold, bright colors. They tap into the local Brooklyn arts scene well. There were paintings and art from local artists throughout the hotel, and also information about art walks and studios in the room so you could do your own thing. The staff was lovely. And the wi-fi was good. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel was iffy - there is a corrections center and some bail bond places on the surrounding blocks. It was ok and I felt generally safe on my own, but I'd probably not suggest walking by yourself at night. If I find myself needing a hotel in Brooklyn again, I'd stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nickfrom Philadelphia PA

OK but...

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly and efficient staff. The rooms and lobby are pretty stylish, and our room and bathroom were spacious and clean. BUT: it's located across from a jail, with frequent police sirens going off, and impossible street parking (your only option is concierge parking at $25 overnight); the breakfast was ridiculous: dozens of people fighting for a toast to eat on their lap, seating on a few sofas without tables (we gave up entirely); the mini-fridge in the bedroom was very noisy; and they had the most ridiculous shower that poured water all over the place (they had laid out towels to contain water leaking out of the shower space, and it did not work). So overall, for the price I felt like "meh".