Ratings based on 3,654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Oct 15, 2014
beds are very comfortable, rooms are comfortable and clean, the shower needed some attention in that there was mold present. the staff needs a lot of re-training. no one ever asked me about my staff. when i ordered a drink from the bar, the waiter failed to deliver it after it was made for about 15 mins despite not having anything else to do. love the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: It is clean and chique with friendly staff
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: UWS with plenty of bars and restaurants on Amsterdam and Columbus Avenues Museums and Central Park are in walking distance
Situated on the Upper West Side of Manhattan it is a modern [refurbished] boutique style hotel. In a quieter [ not quiet though] area of NYC but with easy access to the subway etc. Locally there are plenty of diners, bars and restaurants. I stayed for 11 [eleven nights] and enjoyed visiting the house bar with live music available most nights, a good place to finish after exploring NYC All the staff and I mean all the staff were professional, friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Favorite Hotel!!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The rooms are so comfortable and spacious. I had enough room to spread out and workout in the room.
Cons: The only thing that I don't love is that there is no room service and the restaurant that delivers to the room, Serafina, is not the best.
Location: Lots of great food and shopping. It is in an area that has everything midtown has without the tourists.
I love the NYLO. I am in NYC often and after staying here, I dont want to stay anywhere else. The rooms are so comfortable and spacious. The staff is so friendly and after only staying their twice, they all remembered me and were always happy to do anything. It is in a great area with lots of cute restaurants and shopping and it is very easy to get to other parts of town. The only thing that I don't love is that there is no room service and the restaurant that delivers to the room, Serafina, is not the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upper Westside

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Good hotel in upper westside. If your roon is on the Broadway side of hotel and is one of the lower floors (like mine 5th floor) bring ear plugs as there is traffic noise during the night and early morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great upper westside hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Great hotel close to all the delights and attractions of upper westside with good connections to downtown and within easy reach of central park and the museums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Modern true boutique hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Good value in a friendly setting. Trendy decor properly interpreted. Neighborhood up and coming, a little short on good restaurants although the two in the hotel itself seem quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Great hotel in a brilliant location.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location, roof garden, rooms are bright and modern.
Cons: Bathroom maybe could do with an update, but was fine.
We have been to New York before but this time was much better mainly because where the hotel was located was brilliant for us. Loads of places to eat and drink but not crazy like being in Times Square. Lots of local coffee shops for breakfast. Supermarket right opposite which sells everything, doesn't look much from the outside but inside is like santa's grotto. Right near the tube station as well and easy walking distance to Central park. We bought a weekly tube pass for $31 unlimited use of the tube and local bus which for us was great. Went for 5 nights and it was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Decent hotel, disappointing room

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Altho NY is very expensive I expected more from a superior room at £200 a night than 2 small windows with the view of a brick wall, a small bathroom and a smaller bed than I've experienced in less expensive hotels. Staff decent and helpful, and location good but too expensive for what it was. Bar nice but also very pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Eugenia, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with not receiving a comparable room. We have shared your review with our entire team so they may be properly addressed. I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon! Warm Regards, Mark Miller General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unimpressed.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Customer service.
Room was small, which was unsurprising given that it's NYC, but what was surprising was the size of the bathroom relative to the room. They could have chopped a few feet off the bathroom and made it far more livable in the actual room space. Room size wasn't great, but I could live with that. What was more bothersome was the fact that I went to take a shower and found the former room guest's soap STILL IN THE SHOWER. If the housekeeping staff missed this, what else didn't they clean in the room???? Lastly, the hotel staff (with the exception of the door guys - who were very nice), were completely useless. Unhelpful both to me and to everyone else I heard them chatting with over the course of my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Eugenia, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with the substandard housekeeping and front office service. We have shared your review with our entire team and they are being addressed properly. I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon! Warm Regards, Mark Miller General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta Canada

Great location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location is great. Can even walk to Times Square in about 20 minutes.
Cons: Room was a little cramped for two suite cases - not much room to spread out. A queen size bed instead of a King size bed would be better,
Location: Lots to do within walking distance. We walked to Times Square, Empire State Building, China Town, Central Park and the Hudson River cafe's.
This hotel is about halfway between Central Park and some nice cafe's on the Hudson River ( about 3 blocks to either). Some nice restaurants in the area and easy to get to train/subway stations. The room was quite small but was newer and very clean. Hotel staff were helpful with directions. Check in and check out was very easy. Would recommend renting a bicycle and riding along the Hudson River. Can go all the way to Battery Park (Statton Island Ferry) from the Hotel to the Park without any cars in the way.