Ratings based on 3,412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet location, close to Central Park

Posted Jul 25, 2014
NYLO is beautiful, clean and located in a quiet location. It has beautiful views from the rooftop terrace of the NY skyline as well as the Hudson River. The staff were amazing! They were all extremely friendly and more than willing to help. There are lots of good restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. As well, Central Park is only a 10 minute walk away. We would absolutely stay at the NYLO again on our next trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Convenient, not too far from times square

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: overall hotel condition
Location: i only took the subway to times square or any attraction in New York
Convenient, not too far from times square, close to the subway though, too expensive to its condition and facility, but if all New York hotels are that expensive.. then fine! room without refrigerator , i asked for one, they provided it for free, but very small one without a freezer, which i did need it for some medication. very clean and very helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Eugenia, Hotel Management
Dear Nawal, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the recognition of our hotel staff along with the services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, Eugenia Simons General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is close to Time Square and subway.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
I will definitely consider this hotel for my next visit to New York City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Clean quiet comfy. Not fancy. But nice. Nothing more to say
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Fl

Nice concept fell short of expectation

Posted Jul 17, 2014
The hotel could be nice, however, up keep is clearly not a priority. Room had marks on the walls. TV remote control was cracked. Room was tiny. No room service. $55 for valet parking but they will only get your car for you when you check out. Parking was literally across the street from hotel. Hallway floors were dirty. There was a vacuum cleaner in the hallway for two days. Hotel seems to be understaffed. Not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Eugenia, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have shared your review with our respective departments and they are being addressed properly. I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to hearing from you again soon. Best Regards, Eugenia Simons General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A decent hotel is a good location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the location is good
Cons: They need to redo their showers to make it more like the rest of the NYLO hotels.
Location: Take a walk to Jacob's Pickles (great southern food). You gotto love the Insomnia Cookies nearby, Beard Papa's, Levain Cookies, and the Beacon Theater
NYLO in the Upper West Side is a decent hotel in a good location. The hotel isn't bad, and there's nothing wrong really with their service. However, there's also nothing outstanding. When I think of the NYLO brand I think of their incredible overhead showers that is incredibly relaxing; but for some reason in this NYLO their showers are very ordinary and small. The bed is overly soft, so it's challenging to get comfortable in such a soft mattress (I felt like I wouldn't stop sinking). The staff are very pleasant when you see them at check in and check out; but there's nothing impressive about their service, and they do not go out of their way to provide quality customer service. Overall, it's a good hotel in a good location but not impressive. In this area, I expect to be impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Eugenia, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay regarding the substandard shower and mattress . We have shared your review with our housekeeping team and they are being addressed properly. I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Warm Regards, Eugenia Simons General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North London

Informal, friendly hotel on Upper West Side

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Upper West Side location - easy walk to Central Park. Near lots of restaurants and delis. Friendly and informal.
Cons: Just a warning that building renovation is going on next door (only affecting some rooms) and a projected finishing date in 2014.
Location: Short walk to Central Park , several gourmet delis, 72nd Street connection to express train - only a few minutes to midtown and downtown.
Stayed July 2014 - mother and teenage daughter, had visited NYC before. Near Central Park, museums on Upper West Side, good restaurants and delis. NYLO provided two queen beds at short notice - soft, comfortable. Informal, small, buzzy, friendly and laid back lobby area w live music at the weekend. TV's, free-wifi in lobby plus a chess board, cosy sofas, seating and sockets for several lap top users, a bar and you can order delivery to the room from pizza delivery companies. A shame to stay in your room! We didn't use the attached restaurant. Opposite a small parking garage and next door to a building that is being renovated/rebuilt, starting early weekdays, so ask for a quiet room if daytime noise will bother you. Also a 24 hour pharmacy with medicines, cold drinks, slabs of bottled water, snacks, toiletries right opposite hotel - really useful - and a fire station in the same street. ( No call-outs while we were there) A lot of characte rRoof terrace, lobby open to street for drinks, coffees, help with luggage and taxis. Buy a phone card if you want to call home or even call within the US - calling from your room is incredibly expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right in the middle of town

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Wonderful hotel right on Broadway, close to Central park and central for all attractions. Very friendly staff, great food and drink in the bar - can't think of a bad thing to say!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Very we'll run

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Good beds, very good space for NYC and large walk-in shower with good hot water and pressure. The lobby and bar are VERY nice and comfortable for the price I paid. Of the dozens of NYC hotels I've stayed in, this was the most surprising value. If I'm searching for a negative, the hallway on my floor needed new carpet. Great value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not suitable for clients over 65.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The bed was excellent.
Cons: Please see "my experience" above.
Location: Subway is nearby as are supermarkets and restaurants.
Standard rooms overlooking the courtyard lack privacy. They look right into other rooms of the hotel. Air conditioning is noisy. Coffee makers are cheap and mine did not work. There are no towel racks - no frig. The elevators are very slow to respond. The main foyer of the hotel is poorly lit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Eugenia, Hotel Management
Dear Grandi, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues and inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have shared your review with our entire team so they may be properly addressed to the appropriate departments I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon! Warm Regards, Eugenia Simons General Manager