Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moira from Yellowknife, Canada

A real treasure of a B&B

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: I loved the decorations, the art, the antique furniture, and the convenient location.
Cons: I couldn't get the fancy TV to work, but I didn't have time for TV - too many things to do.
Location: Location was perfect - homey street in Harlem, minutes away from two subway lines.
My first impression of the NY Renaissance Home when I arrived was "wow!" I felt like I was staying in an art gallery. The host was quite amiable and the other staff were friendly and efficient. It felt like a home, not a hotel. And the art and d├ęcor - wow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by em from montreal

christmas fairyland

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Location: harlem....first time ive stayed there...no idea of whether area was good or bad and ive heard both said but i personally had no problems at all
my daughter and i spent a few short days in this hotel last christmas....what a surprise as it is unlike any other place i have ever stayed at and what a complete delight...a beautiful grand house made into a home for travellers by the gracious owner, i assumed, of the place...it's just a big old house full of heart, filled with personal touches at every turn, a grand piano, persian rugs, luscious beds and pillows and linens, lace and leather, mahogany and silk and a number of very fine paintings, rich in taste. attention to detail and love of it make this house an extraordinary experience. staff were kind and caring, a beautiful breakfast served at a gorgeous table. the only glitch was that upon arrival there was noone to answer the door immediately nor was it easy to find staff, and the lobby may have been undergoing transformation but thankfully i was not deterred by those aspects and spent a time i will never forget ....what an honour to have stayed there. thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from England

A unique hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: The staff are helpful and friendly, and the hotel is spotlessly clean.
Cons: Install ventilation in the kitchen which disperses the smell of frying oil. Add good lighting.
Location: There is no lightlife in the area, but I enjoyed the calm and quiet after sightseeing all day.
The hotel is situated in the North of Manhattan, and I was initially concerned that I would have to spend too much time travelling downtown. However, there are 3 subway lines serving the area, and the walk to the station is short. The hotel itself is a historic building (by New York standards), packed with antique furniture and decorative items in the colonial style, and is unlike anything I have elsewhere seen in New York. Unsurprisingly, the emphasis on history has led to some modern conveniences being neglected. There are no en suite bathrooms, although the shared bathroom is big and well equipped, and I missed a level of lighting which would have allowed me to read in comfort. The breakfast room, on the other hand, was sumptuous and splendid, the bed huge and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joan from madison, wi

Great experience

Posted Oct 12, 2013
We were originally concerned about staying in Harlem, but quickly dispelled any hesitations. We would come back again and have no trouble recommending the Renaissance. Great breakfast, easy to get around, very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but too far away from city

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Breakfasts had plenty of choice although most days not everything was available. Beds were comfortable and the maids/cooks were very polite.
Cons: Someone on site all day that could provide information on where to go and how to get there. A sign near the door would be useful as there is nothing.
Location: Don;t know what was near by as never discussed this with anyone.
Location not the best although there is a connection to the subway 10mins walk away. Area felt a bit scary to walk around at night if on own or female. Rooms were comfortable but there is no lift and with a heavy suitcase not much fun dragging it up multiple staircases. Also would have preferred own wash facilities even just a sink in the room but toilet and bathroom was shared.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albie

Review of Renaisance Home Stay

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: It was a restored home and beautifully decorated with many of the original artifacts.
Cons: The twin beds were very comfortable, but they squeaked. Also, the television only got a few channels that didn't have anything that I wanted to watch
Location: This home was close to the home of Alexander Hamilton on 141st Street in Harlem. There are food places close, sightseeing in Harlem.
I truly enjoyed my stay. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful. The house was beautiful and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from UK

Lovely hotel in Upper Manhattan with a B&B feel

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Perhaps a sign outside, we were a little confused if we hsf the right place!
Location: We didnt explore the local area much but there was a park at the bottom of the hill on the way to which you pass Alexander Hamilton's home.
A beautiful townhouse that is lavishly decorated with different pieces of art and some gorgeous furniture. We stayed in the twin bedroom which was very comfortable and had everything you needed down to snacks, water and fresh coffee (appreciated after a long trip)! The staff were so friendly and eager to help in anyway possible. The hotel is in Upper Manhatten so is further from.main attractions but is served well by nearby subway stations. I thoroughly recommend staying here, fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mandy from sussex UK

Great B&B

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: different from the usual tourist blandness
Cons: shared bathroom
Location: Harlem - busy, vibrant, interesting
Excellent and different B&B. Clean and comfortable, excellent staff service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paisley, Scotland

Characterful guesthouse in a non-tourist area

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: A different NY experience from the usual bland corporate hotels
Cons: Late breakfast, sound of fire engines during the night
Location: A mixed neighbourhood, although no one threatened us in any way. Local people were very helpful in giving directions.
The Renaissance Home could more accurately be described as a Victorian home as it is furnished in the impressive but rather gloomy style of the Victorian era. It is an interesting place to stay and we had no problems travelling to and from it on the subway. A good feature was having breakfast with the other guests in the elegant dining room, but on the other hand 09.00 was quite a late time for breakfast and we felt it cut our day short. If I had been on my own, rather than with my husband, I might have felt a little nervous coming in to the apparently deserted building at night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Perth WA, Australia

Fantastic! Will stay here again!

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Kiki the manager was super friendly and helpful. It was close to the subway and the room was super cute.
Cons: Harlem was a bit out of the way from some of the main tourist attractions but not too bad.
Location: Safe and close to the subway which was great. But Harlem isn't exactly in the thick of the tourist attractions.
Our room was very cute. Very clean and warm and large enough for two people to exist comfortably. Kiki the manager was super friendly and was eager to help us in any way she could. Her breakfasts were also amazing! Shame we slept in so often! She was fantastic and made our stay really memorable. Will definitely stay here again.