Ratings based on 1,846 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

ONE UN

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, and room.
Cons: Dining options.
Location: Midtown. Grand Central Terminal about six blocks away. UN is across the street.
Very nice room. Within walking distance of Grand Central Terminal. Dining options are very limited and the breakfast option is very expensive for what you get. Staff is very nice and very helpful. The midtown location is good for getting around to various tourist attractions and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

FANTASTIC!!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cons: The one small disappointment was the pool hours. Guests are generally out during the day so it should be open later to be able to refresh.
Location: To be in walking distance to Times Square is a big plus!! It was nice to not have to take a cab or subway for entertainment and shopping.
Upon arrival we were impressed with the beautiful, modern lobby. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a pleasant surprise to learn that we had been upgraded to suite 3431 without even asking. :) The room had an amazing view! We travel to NYC about once a year and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends/family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

East Tower Experience

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The two full walls of windows gave an amazing panoramic view of the city, east river and the UN building complex. The night view was equally awesome.
Cons: They need to improve service skills.
Location: It is close to downtown Manhattan and has cabs readily available. The subway is also within walking distance.
The east tower needs renovation due to normal aging, The staff wasn't always attentive. After faxing both a letter of commendation for the reservation agent and a pre order of champagne, no response ever occurred. It took three calls two obtain three extra glasses and two calls for an air condition maintenance person. I wouldn't choose this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

NYC Paradise

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The view!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: The UN is just across 1st Avenue. There are a lot of restaurants on 2nd that are really great and it's only a few blocks from Grand Central Station.
I didn't know what to expect when I got to One UN Plaza. From street level, it is very nice, but somewhat unassuming. However when I opened the door to my room on the 36th floor, I was stunned. The room was spacious (very spacious for a New York hotel room) and very impressive. It wasn't over-the-top with expensive furniture or an overdone bathroom, but everything was extremely clean and professional. However, the view was out of this world - among the best I've ever seen in NYC. The windows extend the entire length of the room. I took a panoramic shot of the city from my room. The UN is RIGHT THERE! That was on the left. I could see a lot of the East River. I could see a lot of midtown and all the way to One WTC. The view extended all the way down 1st Avenue. On the right, I could see the Empire State Building and the Chrysler building. I don't mean I could see slivers of these things. I mean I could plainly see all of it and more. I found myself staring out the window a lot because the view was just so incredible. It was worth the room alone. The staff was friendly and helpful too. It was a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Overall experience

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful except for the concierge. The beds were comfortable. The outlet in the bathroom was broken and right outside bathroom as well. Drying hair/curling or straightening hair was difficult without a mirror.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice hotel for the price.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I had a great view of the Empire State building and downtown view on Manhattan from the 31st floor. The hotel is 4 blocks east of Grand Central Station. My sister and walked there and back everyday to catch the subway. I had a king size bed which was very comfortable. the bathroom was very clean and spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

Rooms not well thought out.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and incredible views of the city and river.
Cons: Customer service, more mirrors, ice buckets.
Location: Some nice restaurants and a convenience store on the block. A quick walk to shopping areas.
I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. I will say the hotel was nice and had nice amenities. For the price of the hotel stay I wasn't expecting some of the inconveniences that I experienced. I'll list them below. Not everyone will care about these issues but for some it will be important to know. 1. There are no mirrors in the room. The bathroom has all the mirrors. So if you are traveling with someone else and they need bathroom privacy you literally have to wait until they are finished before you can even see yourself. 2. There are only certain elevators to take you to the fitness center and pool. You have four elevators in a row with one button. If there are specific elevators that take you somewhere then they should have their own button to press. We had to wait almost ten minutes before the right elevator opened. 3. I booked through expedia and there were no refunds or cancellations. Due to unforeseen circumstances we weren't able to stay one of the nights. The hotel was rude and would not make any exceptions to the rule. Expedia didn't have a problem with it and tried to make it right but it was the hotel that was unreasonable. So clearly they aren't concerned with customer service. 4. They talked about the ice machines available on one floor but when I went there was no ice buckets. 5. You have to pay to use the internet. Geez penny pinchers!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

The age and state of room not per star rating.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Only the view.
Cons: All of the above complaints need to be addressed or the rate changed to allow for them!
Location: Great views but restaurants far apart,subway difficult and food shops many blocks away. if you want to be in heart of city,this is too far away.
The bathroom was so old and a hand held shower not acceptable for this star rating.Side table glass and sloping and useless near bed,easy lounge chair had tears in it.light switches near bed almost impossible to use.phone near bed not working at all.Objects from previous person still under bed.Fridge delivered only after request and was very old .crack in glass vanity top near taps in bathroom.For an 8 night stays it was costly and not what we usually experience in NYC and as it was so far from centre if town,expected a lot better. Previous stays recently in NYC for same money had much more in offer.We suspect that booking through Expedia meant we were given the worst cheapest room and that is not acceptable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm springs

A Mixed Bag

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Stylish room with a great view. Easy walk to Grand Central Station and subway lines.
Cons: The operation of the common areas and facilities, and the level of services provided by the hotel. Part of one day without electricity and no notice.
Location: Good, busy location across the street from the UN.
Nicely redone rooms in the West Tower, but not a 5-star experience. The more expensive West Tower is part of the larger hotel operation sharing common facilities with the less expensive 4 star rated East Tower. Overall, this is a good reasonably priced New York hotel, but the common areas, dining, business center, etc., like the services, are ordinary. Our room did have a beautiful view, and the hotel staff was generally helpful. The concierge and housekeeping staff were excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Disinterested staff and Grubby Interiors

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The location and the 180 degree views from the corner King bed room were amazing.
I chose the hotel because it's one of the few in Manhattan with a pool. The location was great and the prices was reasonable. I wasn't able to check in when I arrived at 2:30PM and was told to come back at 3:30PM and wait in line with every one else. Check in was supposed to start at 3PM. When I pointed this out, there were no The pool area is not well maintained and is closed periodically throughout the day - like Monday it's open to guests 6AM-12PM then not open until 4-7PM. It was different each day and it wasn't until my last day that I learned they rent it out to day care kids. The cleaning staff were great, very friendly, but the tower where I was staying was well past it's best-before date. It was grubby and needs a refurbish.