Ratings based on 1,894 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff and experience a pleasure

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff excellent, hotel clean -
Cons: Cooling system not working in the room - very hot
Location: ate at Smith and Wollensky's - Food was fantastic!!
love this place stayed here numerous times - views are fantastic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

you can't rely just on location

Posted Oct 26, 2014
I don't know what is their plan but they must work on their rooms immediately since they are stucked in the 70's. The bed is confortable and location is very good but my room, in the 29th floor, was extremely standard and had nothing special; it was a place with no warm, and without the basic ammenities of its competitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good midtown location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet--never heard any street noise or honking.
Cons: Only negatives are that there was no coffer-maker in the room, and the self-service computers downstairs were quite expensve.
Location: Tsushima, a sushi restaurant, is close by on E. 44th St. and quite good. My Japanese friend says that it is more authentic than most.
Nice, upscale hotel, and my room on floor 32 was super-quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oswestry

Incredible views

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The amazing views from our corner room.
Cons: The attitude of some of the maids.
Location: The hotel is right across from the UN building, on the East side of the island. It is about 20 minutes' walk to Times Square.
We booked a corner room in the East tower, which has had some bad reviews but I'm not sure why. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the view was absolutely incredible - we could see over the river and far across Long Island from one side, and deep into the New York skyline on the other side. The hotel is not five-star, but it's about as close as you can get for this price. The staff were generally friendly, the barman very much so, although one maid was quite rude to my partner when we forgot to have our Do Not Disturb sign out. The only real disappointment was having to pay so much for WiFi - $13 per day may have been reasonable in 2004, but it is ridiculous in 2014.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for a 4* hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable, with good linen and towels. Good 40 inch TV. Great views.
Cons: Deep and thorough cleaning. Better daily cleaning. Better maintenance of room facilities Some extras in line with other 4* hotels, fridge, water
Location: Good location
The hotel is really sparse, more like a basic Holiday Inn, than a 4* hotel. Every surface (table, basin, etc) is skew, which means you cannot put anything like a glass down, because it slides off. The carpets and upholstery were badly stained. We never had a single hot bath - the water was constantly lukewarm. All surfaces dusty, and not well cleaned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view but pool was out of action all week.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
The hotel is in quite a good location, the room was a good size and the view was great but the reception/concierge staff were not very helpful. Most disappointingly the swimming pool was out of use for the entire week!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor standard of 5 star room

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Room cleanliness......dust on tables and chairs
Paid $80 extra a night to upgrade to west tower ...........wasn't worth it at all......poor standard of 5 star room You basically pay for the view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olmito, Tx 78575

Great View of the city and the long Island Bridge,

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location downtown, quiet and great amenities
Cons: Leave alone
Location: Eateries, restaurants, shopping, broadway shows, lots of stuff to do, transportation is great and enjoyable
Perfect for 1st time visitors in NYC, will be there again next year same time especially with the Perfect weather
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: Fridges in hotel rooms, and free wifi!
Everything I wanted from a quality hotel at this location for this price! Clean, quiet and close to everything! Comfy pillows! Just wish you didn't have to pay for WiFi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Unfortunately, the only thing which impressed us was the lobby and the view!! For the price we paid we were expecting a little bit more. The room looked like a cage with dirty walls and run out amenities, probably not renovated for the last 20 years. We could not turn the television on because the remote control did not work properly. One of the receptionists has a cocky attitude toward people. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.