Ratings based on 2,938 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

There are so many better choices than One UN plaza

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Nice lobby Free internet access in Lobby
Cons: Renovate the rooms
I was told at check-in that the room I booked was unrenovated and they tried to charge me to upgrade to a renovated room. I said that I was simply staying the evening so I stayed with my original reservation. Well, the room was indeed in terrible condition but not dirty so I thought I could get through it until I layed on the bed and it had so many lumps and broken springs that it was shocking.. The front desk offered to switch my room but said that most of the unrenovated rooms had similar old mattresses and said that they would add a wooden plank under the matress to firm it up. What a joke. I work in Manhattan and stay in a hotel a few nights per month and have never written a review before but this was such a terrible experience that I am taking the time to warn people to consider other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Great location. Great coffee shop. Great concierge.
Cons: Rooms are getting a little worn, but are still nice. Bed was extremely comfortable and the view was awesome.
Location: Great location, within walking distance of Grand Central Terminal
Great stay! This hotel is quickly becoming my go-to hotel for NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Quiet Location with Beautiful Views

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Excellent service, great size rooms.
Cons: The Gym had great equipment, but nothing worked and it was not clean and well kept.
Location: It is a quiet location, with restaurants close to the hotel. Easy access to the airports.
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and the service was extremely welcoming. The rooms were a nice size for NYC. They were not modern, but they were clean and comfortable. The location was quiet and the views were amazing.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stamford, CT

Standard Room is not appealing

Posted Mar 25, 2015
I am not sure whether it was because I booked the hotel via a third party, but couldn't believe my eyes when I walked in the room. They were no comfort, no charm in the room ( standard room). I have walked in motel room that is more invited and more charming than what this hotel provided for the price I paid. They didn't even provided a complimentary coffee, or a fridge in the room. It was cold in compare to what I am used to. I couldn't not wait to check out. I am not sure that I'll be back even if I have the opportunity to a deluxe upgrade. My first encounter kinda ruin my anticipation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard, hard bed

Posted Mar 23, 2015
View was great, staff were very friendly. But the matress was so super uncomfortable it was impossible to sleep. The hotel wqs dated and worn out. It was a shame, given its location and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
I had booked this hotel specifically for its indoor swimming pool. It was a great disappointment to discover that the pool was in major renovations. The front desk offer no apologizes for this fact, just a look that I should have known.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Great place to stay, very upscale and great staff!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The make up table in the main washroom should be lit with lights. Hard to apply make-up without direct lighting at this table.
Location: Close to everything and if not, cabs are always sitting our front.
Right from our check in, all was great!!!! Justin on the front desk was SUPERB!!!!!! Even the doorman was very kind and speedy in getting us our cabs when we ventured out. Great selected staff that work at this hotel. The room/suite was fantastic. Amazing view, amazing attention to details within the room. Kept immaculate from the house keeping staff. Nice touch of being invited to the "skyline" lounge. We were very comfortable and it was near enough to 2nd and 3rd Avenue where we ventured for shopping and dining. This hotel did not disappoint!!! Highly recommend it. we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Egypt

Two categories, one hotel.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Perfect room, perfect location, Skyline Club (available for West Tower not Easr Tower that is budget category.
Cons: The East Tower, less costly but needs upgrade, even if it remains budget category.
Location: Opposite UN, midtown and great central location
Rate is about room offered through Expedia in East Tower. But West Tower, perfect. Having been before in the hotel, I already knew about it. There are two categories: the West Tower which is more than perfect, and the East Tower which requires renovations and lack usual facilities such as a refrigerator in the room a kettle for coffee and tea and free wi-fi. It also needs refurbishing. Rooms available through Expedia are in the lower category. Because of loyalty programme I was upgraded to the West Tower hence my stay was perfect. But there is a difference in cost. At the same time, both towers have breathtaking view on East River, they face UN, so location is perfect, and staff very courteous. This goes for the two towers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
This hotel is quite far out from the city center. The room has been updated somewhat but the bathroom is dated and badly needs some upgrade.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomfiel hills

Posted Mar 16, 2015
bad experience , far away fron what expedia sold to me ( no pool, no comfort .......)