Ratings based on 1,917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London U.K.

In easy walking distance of Grand Central Station

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Impressive lobby, large comfortable bedroom and bed, views over the city.
Cons: Bathroom and tea and coffee facilities in the room.
Location: Grand Central Station - very easy walk. Reasonable restaurants nearby.
First time staying in New York and the location of this hotel made our sight seeing easy as everything was accessible. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the concierge who gave us travel tips on the subway and buses with a map as well as recommending an unlimited metro ticket which saved us a lot of time and money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom co

No pool or tennis even though it was offered.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Great location and room. Poor facilities. Rude staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

No swimming pool

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: There was a nice view from our room
Cons: The hotel was showing its age and needed some updating and a coat of paint
Location: The hotel was a 30 minute walk from Times Square.
I chose this hotel for the swimming pool. I was let down badly when I was unable to swim as the pool was undergoing repairs. Of course there was no recompense.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel with superb views.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The view
Cons: Wifi
We had a lovely stay at the One UN Hotel. We paid extra for a corner view room which had spectacular views of the East River. We stayed in the East tower which would benefit from being refurbished soon but the room was very clean and comfortable. The location was great. My only criticism is that the hotel needs to provide guest wifi.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bath UK

Best thing is the location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Proximity to city attractions.
Cons: Mainly the fitness facilities - they let the entire hotel down and would put us off booking again or recommending it to anyone else.
Location: Close to numerous attractions, restaurants and shops.
Impressive looking reception area with welcoming staff. Concierge was excellent. Basic no frills room on 28th floor with view partially blocked by second tower of same hotel complex. Cupboard door had a botched repair and kept falling off when opened, kept awake by noise from wind/dripping water/lift shaft. Most disappointing aspect was the swimming pool being closed as this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. It was clear this was a long-term closure and would remain so for at least another couple of months but there had been no mention of this on their website and no signs posted in the hotel - in fact the reception staff seemed to have little knowledge/interest in anything to do with this facility. Also, several machines in the fitness suite were out of order and the place had a general air of neglect! Following complaints about the room, the duty manager was very helpful and moved us to a suite which had a great view of the Empire State building and was significanly larger/better furnished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome view and bell staff!!!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Breakfast should be included and better. I though the Bell Staff was stupendous, friendly, helpful and just a joy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good view and excellent location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: location and views were great
Cons: rooms need updating and free wifi should be available at least in public areas
Location: Grand Central Station, Times Square, 5th avenue, Central Park
service was ok, however the pool was closed and opening times of the sauna could be more convenient. Some areas of the floors and the room are quite dated. However this is made up by the stunning views over Manhattan. Given the price we did expect free wifi which wasn't available not even in public areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Overall good experience. Gym is good and coffee shop on ground floor is good. Centrally located and very handy for anyone needing to visit the UN
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convient for doing business with the UN

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Close to the UN.
Checked into hotel early and there was no rooms available at the time. They pre registered me and when I returned after 4pm, they had a very nice room reserved for me. The room was clean and on a high floor overlooking the UN and East River.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Great staff and less check in super early we appreciated that!