Ratings based on 2,994 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom g

Glass tower by UN

Posted Apr 23, 2015
A bit 'cold' staff but to be expected in big city. Very much dislike refusal of even half hr check out extension, restaurant closed when supposed to be open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Location of this hotel is wonderful

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The view from the window was wonderful, location is great but hotel does not have refrigerators to give everybody. If you have kids that is a bummer. When we check in they acted like fridge is no problem but although we were on the top of the wait list that fridge never came. Staff never hold the door for my stroller, the room service didn't pick up the dishes for 10 hours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom JAPAN

国連に近い、静かなホテル

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: 部屋の広さと、夜景の素晴らしさ
Cons: コーヒーメーカー・ケトル・冷蔵庫等の備品がないので、夏場の宿泊はお勧め出来ません
Location: 部屋から国連の入口(万国旗)が見えるほど、国連の前のホテルです。 最寄りのグランドセントラル駅も、メトロ利用には助かりました。
グランドセントラル駅より徒歩10分位かかりますが、静かで部屋も広くくつろげました。 部屋からの夜景が素晴らしく、満足しています。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom london

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location & views of City
Cons: Decoration & room amenities
Location: Convenient for Grand Central station. Great diner : Comfort Diner in next street - go there for breakfast.
Great central location, good service. Rooms & bathrooms a little tired. No free wifi, mini bar or tea making in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
お部屋からエンパイアやクライスラービルも見えて、夜の景色も最高でした。駅から少し歩きますが特に問題はありませんでした。 バスタブがかなり浅めで、つかる人には少し不便かなって思います。 ですが総合的には大満足です☆
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Older than what Web site pictures depicked. Great view though and very spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

What a pleasant surprise!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: See above... We loved pretty much everything. Oh, the bed was very comfortable and the bedding was perfect for us!
Cons: Just loved it!
Location: Found a great Turkish restaurant around the corner. Walked along the a East River on 1st Avnue. Nice.
After reading all the negative reviews about this hotel, we really were ready for the worst. What a joyous surprise we had! The lobby is Arte Deco. Very clean. The staff are friendly and warm. The room is incredible. It was spacious, clean and the view was extraordinary! We could see the Chrysler Building! The location is easy walking distance to the whole mid-town area. We were originally going to stay just one night, but extended our stay to two...partly because it is such a deal. I have no idea what others experienced. Did they renovate recently? We absolutely loved our stay. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wallingford, Connecticut

Nice room with a good view overlooking the river.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Our room had a very nice view. Also, the late check-out was nice - 12:00pm. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to visit the gym and pool.
Cons: See experience section.
Location: We walked from Grand Central to the Lego Store to Time Square and back to our hotel. The walk was not that bad and we had our 11 year old son with us
We checked in late. The desk clerk was very friendly and accommodating. The lobby was pleasant and clean. Our room was on the 32nd floor. The elevator was swift and ran smoothly. When we entered our room the initial impact was fresh and clean. Let me tell you now that I'm a handyman, so I see a lot of things. Pros - Overall, I was very pleased with the room. Things were clean and I felt welcomed. The counter top/ desk tops were wiped and clean. The beds were made and sheets were fresh and not wrinkled. Nice hot water in the shower. Cons - There were a couple stains on the carpet by the window. That was the only bad thing in the main room. The bathroom needed a bit of work. The lighting wasn't the greatest. It was a bit dark making it hard to see your reflection that well. There was a piece of the base trim that was in need of repair. The sink countertop had a large chip by the faucet handle. It was repaired, but cosmetically speaking, at $200+ a night, I feel it should have been replaced. The tub needed a lot of caulking - around the wall where it met the tub and along the tub and floor. I can only imagine the amount of water that is seeping into the walls. Additional damage that you don't see, but is slowly happening. The shower head was difficult to keep in one place. I got it to stay by twisting the shower head hose a couple times. I think things just needed some tightening. As I said, overall the room was very nice. It just needed a little TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great hotel to explore NYC!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The helpful and friendly concierge staff and comfy beds.
Cons: The decor is tired and I think in a hotel of that standard the WiFi should be included.
Location: Obviously the UN, but it's so conveniently located with so many cabs, you can be anywhere in the city within minutes (traffic notwithstanding!).
We arrived at One UN NY really late as our flight had been delayed, with a very tired 4 year old and a lot of luggage at the end of a long trip, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Special mention should go tot the lovely night concierge, who sorted out everything so my husband could concentrate on carrying our daughter and I could check in. The room we stayed in (West tower I think) was a little tired, decor wise, but very comfortable, and so it didn't matter at all. The breakfasts are very expensive, but still delicious and with such huge portions you barely need to eat for the rest of the day! If I was to have one gripe it would be that I think in a hotel of that standard the WiFi should be included in the room rate. We had a rate which included the WiFi through Expedia, but without that it would have been very expensive. Also I had to pay for it via the room and then go down to the front desk to prove that my deal had it included, which was a hassle. That said, because the desk staff were so good, it wasn't too bad... All in all a great trip, and a good value hotel (for NYC)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Nice hotel,short distance to all important places

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Got a beautiful big new renovated room 40. Floor with view to Empire State and Chrysler Tower all Manhattan. For NYC room was big 2 Queen size beds. A lot of good restaurants for good prices are around 3 person between 60 and 150 $ dinner. Very nice breakfast by Le pain Quotidien (French) close to the Hotel. Most of the ways could be done by foot.