Ratings based on 1,860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warminster, PA

Quiet Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: room could use an upgrade.
Location: Location for mid-town is good. Subway 4 blocks at Grand Central.
I booked this hotel for my daughter's birthday weekend. The location was good, close to Grand Central Terminal (4 min walk). Some nice little bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel is on a really quiet street across from the UN. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Taxi stand outside hotel so no waiting fro taxis. We stayed in East Tower. Overall a very nice weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, centrally located.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Stayed on the 37th floor overlooking Manhattan skyline - stunning! Good, central location, midtown Manhattan & close to transit. Exceptional staff, courteous, professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
there was mold in the room, there was light sockets that didn't have covers, there was a hole in the ceiling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lc

Hotel was very dirty:(

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Front desk lady name Dorca was very wonderful...the bell man Ozzy and Frank was also great...Great staff but hotel is old and outdated:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Lobby is 4 star...room is 3 star

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Clean room. Amazing view!
Cons: - Have a small fridge in the room. - Include wifi in the room rate, or for a small surcharge
Arriving at the hotel, the lobby and staff impressed. Definitely gave the 4 star impression. However, the room was really basic. It was clean but a little on the small side. The view was incredible but that shouldn't factor into how many stars the room gets. Disappointingly, there was no fridge in the room. This is the first hotel I've stayed at that did not provide a fridge in the room. What was more annoying was the high wifi internet charge...per device! This is the first time we have stayed in NYC so I don't know if this is common there but I've been to other 4 star hotels in USA/Canada and you normally get wifi included or for a small surcharge. Overall, a somewhat disappointing hotel if you expecting 4 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really not like you'd expect

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Congratulations on your marketing and pictures, it worked. The room was sub par to what the "UN" hotel should look like. I've stayed in jersey city and that was at least twice as good. won't see me there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belo Horizonte

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The hotel is well located with very good service and very NICE l internal structure. Good cost benefit ratio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is very good - close to Grand Central

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded. It is comparable to 3 stars
Location: Great location
The hotel is located close to Grand Central which is a big positive. It is also walking distance to Times Square. The hotel rooms need to be upgraded if they are charging 4 star prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

ONE UN

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, and room.
Cons: Dining options.
Location: Midtown. Grand Central Terminal about six blocks away. UN is across the street.
Very nice room. Within walking distance of Grand Central Terminal. Dining options are very limited and the breakfast option is very expensive for what you get. Staff is very nice and very helpful. The midtown location is good for getting around to various tourist attractions and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great Views and Swimming Pool is a bonus

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: The views were fabulous. Much better than any other hotel we have stayed at in the city. Got a view of both East River and the skyline.
Cons: The reception is a little dated (80's retro) so could do with an update however it was still quite impressive. It's such a tiny gripe.
Location: This hotel is just across the road from the UN. Tour buses stop close by as does the regular bus but not convenient for Subway. Close to Grand Central
I had booked this hotel purely on the basis of the great views and had expected either a river or city view but to our surprise we got both, it was stunning. The rooms were large, spacious and a lot better than I expected thanks to some poor reviews. I hadn't upgraded to the West Tower and can only imagine how nice they were as our room was so good. The concierge in particular were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel for facilities and views however would perhaps book somewhere closer to Times Square as my partner wasn't keen on the walk, not that it was far just would allow us more time doing what we wanted.