Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient for sightseeing

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Bathroom smelt of damp....and rooms cramped...rooms need to be modernised..wait for a lift long and tedious...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Location Location!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Our first family trip to NYC and we had a great time! Hotel was close to everything especially Central Park. Steps to Carnegie Deli and Broadway shows too. Room was modern and nice. Got a bit crowded with four people but not in room much.. Beds comfy and nice tv! May have upgraded our view in hindsight as we were looking at a brick wall and even on 9 th floor not much natural light. The lobby bar looked great but never got there because of kids but enjoyed the Patisserie in lobby good coffee and breakfast items very convenient!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The location was great, the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Get a better elevator service contract. The hotel was pretty full and the line to use one elevator car was ridiculous.
Location: Easy walk to great restaurants, Columbus Circle (amazing shopping) and Central Park.
I waited on line to check in. But that didn't matter, other people walked right up to the desk from every direction and were helped before me. RUDE. The wait time for the elevators was unacceptable. There seemed to be one elevator in a bank of 4 that was actually working. The same car would arrive at the floor full to capacity every time I called for it. After waiting for 3 trips- I was running late for a surprise party and had to squish my way in to an already full car. When arriving back from the party, I waited for 3 additional trips to go by in the same elevator car. The room was clean and organized (uncluttered). The AC was set to 72 when I arrived and it was very humid. I turned it to 68, that was comfortable, but at 5:19am it was back up to 72 and I woke up to turn it down (annoying).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location. Newly updated.
Cons: Hallways were warm and had a smell.
Location: About 10 blocks from Times Square and 3 blocks to Central Park. Great location right on 7th Ave.
Great location. Nicely remodeled modern rooms. Only complaint is that the elevators are very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, European style hotel near Times Square

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Amenities, bathroom appointments, location
Cons: Room size
Picked this hotel on general price and location but was very pleasantly surprised by the level of luxury. My room was a bit tight for room, as been my experience with every NYC hotel I've stayed in, but was exceptionally appointed. Carnegie Deli is also right across the street...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Room was not as clean ..............................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic, good location, nothing special

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Service, cleanliness, elevators were too slow
Location: Very central, right near Times Square
This hotel was very basic - in terms of service and amenities. Its in a great, central location which is probably the best thing about it. The room was comfortable although I did find hair in my bed around 11:00pm, called the desk and they said they could give me extra sheets but that I would have to change them myself.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location, close to all Midtown Manhattan attractions. Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you faced during your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that we did not change your sheets in an efficient and courteous manner. Please be assured that this issue will be addressed with the individual Team Member. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to Times Square

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service of desk staff, facilities & more transparency around the facilities & room fascilities - or lack of
Location: Close to Times Square, Central Park, Theatre District
No natural light in the room, small room, bathroom not clean, not even a pen & notepad in the room, over-priced for what is offere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you faced during your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that the mandatory Facilities Fee of $20 plus taxes per night was not thoroughly communicated prior to reserving through Expedia. I am also disheartened to hear of the level of service you received during your stay. All of your feedback has been shared with our Department Heads, so that we can work hard to correct our shortcomings. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Get rid of the stupid room occupancy charge
Location: Anything and everything
After staying at this hotel on and off for the past 13 year, I've had my first bad experience , I book the room through Expedia because trying to get a room direct through the hotel is very difficult and much more expensive , although in the past I paid for the room via expedia and that was it, since March last year I found out the hotel now charges everybody booking this way a direct charge after the stay of nearly $30 per night. I refused to pay it and they told me it's mentioned on the expedia page when booking. I've checked this since and it does but it's very discreet. After I spoke to the manager the cancelled the charge. If this charge was part of the price given by expedia I would have still book the park Central, but after treating me like I was trying to get out of a charge I should have been aware of the park Central has lost my custom for the foreseeable future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Great hotel at heart of NYC

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Great hotel from view, cleanliness, service. The renovation really brought the hotel to its 4 star hotel rating. Best location to Central Park, 5th Ave, Carnegie hall, museums, will definitely come again