Ratings based on 1,232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Wolf in Sheep's Clothing!!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The hotel looks and feels lovely, and the cleaning staff do a wonderful job. The best bit though was the location.
Cons: The staff and being clear about their exorbitant costs.
Location: Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Tiffanys, 42nd Street/Time Square are all within very easy reach of a 5/10 minute walk.
The Park Central Hotel is directly opposite Carnegie Hall on 7th Avenue, and is situated right next door to the R, N & Q subway and others not too far away either so location wise this is great. Having entered the impressive lobby we upgraded to a king size room option ($36 per night) which was nice although a security camera pointed directly into our room in one window and there was a huge air conditioning fan on the building opposite constantly whirring so it wasn't a quiet room. On inspection of the room there was no mini bar and what hadn't been made clear either was that the hotel hadn't any breakfast facilities!! Being New York, you are never a block away from several eateries so we were ok. There is a shop that sells everything inc. wine and coffee in the lobby but be warned it is over priced (2 bottles of red and some crisps for $160 as we stayed during the snow storm Juno so everything was closed down in the City over 36 hours). As well I asked one of the staff if we could have a bottle opener for the wine and was very rudely greeted by an initial "What were we doing with wine in our room?" and then that we would have to take the wine bottles to the bar to be opened and pay corkage even though we bought them from their lobby shop. Fortunately the barman (who was lovely) waved that charge for us. On checking out we became aware of the hidden fees of this hotel. They have a $25 per day facilities fee and all we had used was wifi. We would not recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Carnegie Hall

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: It was modern, clean and artsy.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near Carnegie Hall and Times Square.
Great hotel and very convienient to trains,subways,buses and major venues.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Copenhagen

Nice location

Posted Jan 31, 2015
The hotel is ok and location is great. The problem is the extras. The hotel charge you 27 usd as facility fee per nigh although the wi fi should be included. The facilities are few and the hotel is a place where you sleep and that's about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom park central NYC

Great location and very accommodating.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Great hotel in a great location. The staff were very helpful in sorting us when a extra two nights in the same room due to the snow blizzard that swept NYC. The beds are something else when it comes to comfort, it was hard to leave it in the mornings! Very pleased with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Africa

Nice hotel, close to Manhattan "must see's"

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Price, Facility-quality.
Location: Top of the rock, Times square, Broadway Theatres and Central park is all within walking distance.
More expensive than advertised with the extra compulsory "facility fee", but still good value for money. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The location of the hotel was great. We had a corner room and the view was superb! The staff was very friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
My stay at the Park Central Hotel was what one would expect from any hotel: great service, spacious and spotless room, and convenient to everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bra nyrenoverat hotell med centralt läge

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Bra läge mellan Central Park och Times Square. Rent och snygt med utmärkta sängar och vänlig personal. Rummet som var stort saknade dock fåtölj eller en mindre sittgrupp. Hotellet tillämpar tyvärr ofoget med "resortavgift" varför det verkliga priset ökar med ca 25-30$ per natt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, Under-delivered

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Stayed for 3 nights, went to college in the area so chose Park Central for the location. Charged for things that were unnecessary without warning - checking in 45 min early cost extra. Having a high floor that faces the shaft costs extra. Ripped sheets that weren't fixed on first request, finally at 9PM someone just dropped off new sheats (didn't bother to even help putting them on). Housemaids very impolite and unprofessional. Would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Don Fraser, Hotel Management
I’m so sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service and to see we failed to meet both of our expectations is extremely troubling. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Efficient, but very flat

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: the price
Cons: everything, mostly the service. And please don't surprise us with the hidden internet & gym fees.
Location: Shopping mostly. No decent restaurants in walking distance. The only thing that's near is Starbucks and Denny's like diners.
I stayed here 2 nights for work. I was really looking forward to staying here because it has a gym and I like to work out in the morning before going to work, so that was the first thing that attracted me. In the end, I was so busy that I didn't get to use the gym facility at all. First of all, I booked my reservation on Expedia, and there was nowhere stating that I would have to pay additional fees ($25 per day) to stay there. This is an imposed charge that you have no way out of it, it just sprung upon me when I checked in. This fee is for internet service and the use of the gym that I did not use. Ok, moving on. When I arrived, there was no doorman to help me with the heavy doors or to help me with my bags. I had to push my way in to the lobby and there were plenty of people there but they all stood and stared at me. I walked up to the Concierge desk to check in, there were 2 women behind the counter and one other woman to the side. They were not warm nor welcoming, and the overall feel was sloppy at best. It was very off putting. The room was sufficient but again, it was also sloppy, the lampshade was crooked and off to the side, the towels were so so, and the shower curtain were worn and snagged. Overall, I most likely will not stay here again unless there's nothing else available. The Hotel has potential, but the overall "sloppy" leaving me flat. It was just a place to crash.