Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Perfect location for sightseeing , room really good with lots of windows. Room only missing fridge and tea and coffee facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very good location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: In 2014, you need to have free Wi-Fi ... it's like have water in the toilet bowl ... we don't ask for it but we're expecting it ... $20 per day ..ouf!
Location: Great location, very close to a subway station.
In New-York city, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but I was with my wife and daughter and all of of have liked our trip ... the hotel included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Location in Midtown

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Great location and staff, great maid service.
Location: Across the street from Carnegie Hall, Carnegie Deli on the next block, close to good restaurants, within walking distance to Time Square, Lincoln Cent
This hotel is in a fantastic location close to Lincoln Centre, within walking distance of Time Square and is surrounded by many restaurants, shops, etc. We liked the fact that the lobby/entrance to the hotel was never overcrowded and the elevator access to our room was off to one side of the lobby, easily accessible. The room size was adequate (1 King size bed), although it was smaller than what the picture depicts on the website. The only complaint was that the water pressure on the shower was not great, but still manageable. The wide screen TV in the room was fantastic! Also, we prefer to have wrapped disposal cups in the room as opposed to real glass cups (you're never sure how these cups are rinsed/cleaned). There were no complimentary shampoos, conditioners but rather larger dispenser bottles that were attached to a rack on the wall in the shower/tub. These dispensers were adequate but you had to pump 14 times to get enough shampoo/soap to use while showering.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Only thing worth staying here for is the LOCATION

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!
Location: The location of the hotel was just about the only thing positive about our stay, as it is a few blocks away from times square and also, central park.
Booking the hotel was the easiest part of our stay. We flew in from Los Angeles to visit NYC with some friends. Upon arrival, we realized our hotel room was not as the one pictured on their website. We had requested a double-bed room, however, we came to find a room with two beds (which was fine), and a closet which separated the beds (almost like two separate rooms with an awkward wall in between).Hotel staff was nice in the lobby, however, when trying to reach housekeeping, or concierge, 9 out of 10 times, nobody picked up and the phone kept ringing. The shower curtains smelled horribly, especially after/during showers (should probably clean more efficiently). Housekeeping constantly knocked on our door, even when requested not to, at 8:00am every day. This hotel has NO ROOM SERVICE.. That’s a first. The elevators are extremely inefficient; we waited about 5 minutes each time we wanted to go up or downstairs. The ice machines on the floors DO NOT work. We had to scramble on different floors of the hotel in order to retrieve ice each day. Store’s shop, which included water, snacks, etc., closes way earlier than stated. Carpets did not seem clean, lots of dust everywhere. The room temperature remained at 68 degrees our ENTIRE 6 days there, HEATER DID NOT WORK!! This is NEW YORK!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha

Bulls eye

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Great location. Staff ok, but could be better. Pricing policy left a bitter taste as items such as wifi described as free were bundled into a mandatory "facilities charge". Door staff not particular helpful to those with accessibility issues - ambulant, wheelchair bound or those with strollers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

To Be Avoided

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Obviously, very little.
Cons: Staff attidude
Don't be fooled by the advertised rate. There are add on costs. They charge $40 a night "facilities fee." This is for thinks like the internet even if you don't use it. The lobby is like a stock yard. Registration lines are long and slow. Staff is detached and disinterested. It's and old hotel that they have tried to up date. Looks like lipstick on a pig. Bell hops stand around and make not attempt to help with luggage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel shame about the attitude

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, but the customer service has ensured we wouldn't stay again. We travel regularly overseas and love New York. We decided to try a new hotel nearer to Central Park this time. We arrived at 2pm and our baggage had been lost by the airline, so we were quite frazzled. The cold lady at the counter informed us we could not check in until 4pm. When we said we had lost our luggage the response was fill in these forms. When our bags did get delivered from the airline we had to follow up with front office twice as the lady responded they arent here despite a message on our phone from the airline saying otherwise. The housekeeping staff constantly made us feel like we were an imposition as we were late starters in the morning 930/10. On one occasion opening our door without knocking whilst we were still in there. The front office vibe is cold and condescendingly judgmental, and very unhelpful. If you don't mind the front office haughty attitude the rooms are big and the bed is very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Don Fraser, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service and to see we failed to meet both of our expectations is extremely troubling. Please accept my sincerest apology for the level of service you received during your stay. I am so sorry that you did not receive warm and friendly service from our Front Office Team, and were put in an uncomfortable situation by our Housekeeping Team. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca.

Beautiful renovation and Great Location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Cons: Shower floor.
Location: Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Time Warner Building (Jazz at Lincoln Center), Museum of Art and Design are all with in Walking distance.
We have stayed at the Park Central many times over the years. (4-5times). It was always very comfortable and you can not beat the location for many cultural events. Now it is really beautiful and very clean. Our only complaint is the new shower floor that is uneven. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is nice.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: needs to speed up its internet.
Location: close to central park and everywhere
I made the reservation 2 months before my holiday for 2 rooms. 1 king bed each. instead of 1 king bed they gave 2 queen beds for 2 rooms. They told the king bed rooms are not available. I had sleep in different beds with my wife. It was ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Don Fraser, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I would like to extend my sincerest apology for the challenges you encountered with our internet and the room type accommodate. Please be assured that both of the issues will be addressed with our Management Team. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon. Best Regards, Don Fraser General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trujillo Alto, PR

Excellent Choice

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Rooms and staff.
Location: Great location for restaurants, shopping, bus tours, and Broadway theatres.
We visit Manhattan twice or once a year. Used to stay at Double Tree in Time Square and at Lexington Ave. Nor any more. Now we will stay at the Park Central. 3 or 4 blocks from Central Park, and few blocks more to Time Square for Broadway shows and shopping. Lots of restaurants, Japanese, Steak House, Greek, Italian and all within walking distance. Angela at the check-in desk is the best. Spacious clean rooms. Fair price. Will definitely stay from now on at this hotel.